With Konstantin Shamray (piano) and Chris Williams (didgeridoo)

Can't decide on what to see? Create your own Package by selecting up to two or three performances.

Fireworks and Fury presents a scintillating program of brilliance and colour that opens with the dramatically anguished aria “Mea tormenta, properate” by Johann Adolf Hasse transcribed for oboe. Southern Cross Soloist (SXS) welcome back SXS viola soloist, James Wannan in Berlioz’s viola masterpiece Harold in Italy that was commissioned by the master virtuoso, Paganini. We also welcome the Principal Cellist of the Tasmanian Symphony Orchestra, Jonathan Békés in Popper’s virtuosic Hungarian Rhapsody for cello.

The concert also features the world premiere of a new work by Sean O'Boyle AM featuring Wakka Wakka didgeridoo soloist Chris Williams and Prokofiev’s Piano Concerto No. 3 performed by international piano sensation, Konstantin Shamray.


Hasse Aria: Mea tormenta, properate!
Popper Hungarian Rhapsody Op. 68
Sean O'Boyle AM ‘Beerwah’ The Mother of the Glasshouse Mountains *World Premiere as part of the SXS Didgeridoo Commissioning Project
Berlioz Harold in Italy Op. 16; 1st Movement: Harold in the Mountains
Paganini La Campanella from Concerto No. 2 in B Minor Op. 7
Prokofiev Piano Concerto No. 3 in C major, Op. 26

View the full Digital Program [PDF 3MB].

SXS Didgeridoo Commission Project
SXS are committed to nurturing First Nation's representation in their arts practices to promote cultural understanding. Their renewed focus for 2022-2032 is to respond to this commitment by creating the ‘SXS Didgeridoo Commission Project': a legacy of new Australian works for didgeridoo and small ensemble with our Artist in Residence, Wakka Wakka didgeridoo soloist Chris Williams.

For their 2022 Season, Southern Cross Soloists will commission three new 8-10 minute works for didgeridoo and small ensemble to be premiered in their 2022 QPAC Concert Series. These commissions form part of a legacy project that is committed to creating a substantial canon of works for didgeridoo and small ensemble over the next 10 years.

To find out more visit: southernxsoloists.com/dcp

  • The Safest Way to Buy!

    QTIX is the official ticketing service for QPAC and Southern Cross Soloists: Fireworks and Fury. Selected packages are sold through authorised resellers only. Any tickets purchased through unauthorised sales channels may be seized or cancelled without refund or exchange and the bearer of the ticket may be denied admission. Unauthorised sales channels include Viagogo, eBay and Gumtree. Read more about purchasing tickets online.

Presented by QPAC and Southern Cross Soloists

Pricing Guide

Admission Adult $80 Concession^ $60 STUDENT/YOUTH^^ $30
Groups i Admission $60
Make a group booking
Schools i Admission $20

^Concession: Seniors and Pension card holders

^^Full-time students or under the age of 30 years old

A transaction fee of $7.20 applies per transaction. Selected ticket delivery methods may incur an additional charge. The minimum price listed may be available for selected performances only. Please see the event calendar when booking for the available date(s) and time(s) of this performance.



    Southern Cross Soloists (SXS) are the stars of Australian chamber music. Since 1995, SXS have firmly established themselves as one of Australia’s pre-eminent classical music ensembles. In 2022, SXS will deliver a program of intoxicating virtuosity in its 13th QPAC Concert Series as a Company in Residence at QPAC. Composed of leading virtuosic soloists from across Australia, SXS creates and performs dynamic, unique, and world-class musical experiences for audiences of all ages.