For over 50 years, London’s Academy of St Martin in the Fields has been one of the world’s favourite orchestras. Established and led by the late Sir Neville Marriner, this superstar chamber orchestra brought the music of Mozart, Vivaldi, Beethoven and more to life in refined and sensitive performances that have captivated billions.

From the Four Seasons to the score for Amadeus, the Academy’s recordings are some of the true treasures of classical music. Now led by brilliant virtuoso violinist Joshua Bell, the Academy is delighting new generations of music-lovers with sensational music-making of the highest order.

Program 1: The Mighty Bruch (Wednesday, 26 April 2017, 7pm)

Joshua Bell’s performance of Bruch’s violin concerto is iconic. This thrilling unconducted performance of the much-loved masterwork will demonstrate his stunning vibrancy and power. By contrast, the slow movement of Schumann’s violin concerto is a lyrical showcase for Bell and the Academy’s strings. Two picture postcards from Mendelssohn surround these works: a wave-tossed voyage to a Scottish sea cave and a sunny picture from Italy – a glorious showcase for a virtuoso orchestra.

Felix Mendelssohn The Hebrides, Op.26
Max Bruch Violin Concerto No. 1 in G minor, Op.26
Robert Schumann Violin Concerto: Second Movement
Felix Mendelssohn Symphony No.4 in A, Op.90 Italian

Program 2: Great Classics: Mozart and Beethoven (Thursday, 27 April 2017, 7pm)

Mozart’s dramatic Symphony No.25 reveals the composer’s surefooted sense of theatre. Darkly stormy and operatic, it is one of his earliest symphonic masterpieces. The violinist is the star of his similarly dramatic Fourth Violin Concerto – a bravura display of swagger and elegance for soloist Joshua Bell. And for their final offering, the Academy takes on the Eroica. Beethoven’s third symphony is an explosion of heroic determination and unbridled joy without equal, and one of humanity’s greatest works of art. It is a revolution in sound.

Wolfgang Amadeus Mozart Symphony No.25 in G minor, K.183; Violin Concerto No.4 in D, K218
Ludwig van Beethoven 
Symphony No.3 in E-flat, Op.55 Eroica 

“The power of Bell’s communication is astonishing. The dazzling execution, powerful expression and beautiful tone are mesmerising and, as … director, Bell's musical imagination inspired a magnificent intensity.”  The Australian


  • Connecting safely at QPAC

    QPAC is operating at 100% capacity and masks are mandatory in our foyers and theatres.

    All patrons are required to register on arrival through the Check In Qld App and provide proof of vaccination status or medical exemption (aged 16 years or older). Find out more

  • The Safest Way to Buy!

    QTIX is the official ticketing service for QPAC and Academy of St Martin in the Fields. Selected packages are sold through authorised resellers only. Any tickets purchased through unauthorised sales channels may be seized or cancelled without refund or exchange and the bearer of the ticket may be denied admission. Unauthorised sales channels include Viagogo, eBay and Gumtree. Read more about purchasing tickets online.

Presented by QPAC in association with QCGU 

Pricing Guide

Admission Premium $189 A-Reserve $149 B-Reserve $119 C-Reserve $89

Please note, a transaction fee of $6.95 applies per transaction. Minimum price may be available for selected shows only. Please see Pricing Guide for further details.