Fanfare Competition

For budding composers and musicians

Imagine hearing your new composition ringing out at concert venues around Australia!

The Fanfare Competition invites young Australians, aged 12-21 years, to write a short 30 second composition, a ‘fanfare’, that is played to assist in the process of calling people to their seats at performing arts venues across Australia. Now in its sixth year the competition has received over 600 entries.

The 2019 Fanfare Competition Winners have now been announced! Eight young composers from across Australia have been selected to participate in a series of workshops to refine their compositions with Australian composers Nicholas Vines and Lyle Chan. Their fanfares will subsequently be recorded by the Australian Youth Orchestra with conductor Tianyi Lu at Trackdown Studios.

QPAC extends its heartfelt congratulations to everyone who entered the 2019 Fanfare Competition. The 2019 Fanfare Competition Winners are (in no particular order):

Sebastian Lingane [Age 17], Qld, The Beginnings of a Journey
Jasmine Lai [Age 12], Vic, Coronation Fanfare
Finn Clarke [Age 20], Tas, Epiphany
James Brew [Age 12], NSW, Jubilation
Audrey Ormella [Age 16], NSW, The Colour of Potential
Yüzhi Wang [Age 14], NSW, Momentum Fanfare
Daniel Duque [Age 19], ACT, Fanfare Horizon
Claire Houghton [Age 18], NSW, Excuse Me!

QPAC is currently broadcasting 2018 Fanfare Competition Winner fanfares in its Concert Hall foyer immediately prior to concerts presented by companies including Queensland Symphony Orchestra, Camerata – Queensland’s Chamber Orchestra, Australia Youth Orchestra, and the Queensland Youth Orchestra. Have a look at the videos below from our 2018 Queensland Winners Benjamin Lau and William Elvin.

Please visit the Fanfare website for further updates and information about this project.

An Artology and Australian Youth Orchestra project in partnership with QPAC, Arts Centre Melbourne, Adelaide Festival Centre, Perth Concert Hall and Arts Gallery Society NSW and Cool Australia.

Image Credit – Mayu Kanamori