With Konstantin Shamray (piano) and Chris Williams (didgeridoo)

Fireworks and Fury presents a scintillating program of brilliance and colour that opens with the dramatically anguished aria “Mea tormenta, properate” by Johann Adolf Hasse transcribed for oboe. Southern Cross Soloist (SXS) welcome back clarinet soloist, Ashley Smith in the stormy and dazzling clarinet concerto by Carl Maria Von Weber, and SXS viola soloist, James Wannan in Berlioz’s viola masterpiece Harold in Italy that was commissioned by the master virtuoso, Paganini. The concert features the world premiere of a new work by Brisbane/UK/USA composer, Sean O'Boyle AM – the first of our 2022 SXS Didgeridoo Commissioning Project, featuring Wakka Wakka digeridoo soloist Chris Williams.

The program concludes with SXS 2022 Artist in Residence Konstantin Shamray performing Prokofiev’s devilishly difficult Third Piano Concerto, featuring exuberant keyboard fireworks with echoes of Romeo and Juliet.

Johann Adolph Hasse Sanctus Petrus and Sancta Maria Magdalena: "Mea tormenta, properate!"
Weber Clarinet Concerto No.1 in F minor, Op.73
Berlioz Harold in Italy Op. 16; 1st Movement: Harold in the Mountains
Sean O'Boyle AM ‘Beerwah’ The Mother of the Glasshouse Mountains *World Premiere as part of the SXS Didgeridoo Commissioning Project
Prokofiev Piano Concerto No. 3 in C major, Op. 26

  • Connecting safely at QPAC

    QPAC is operating at 100% capacity and masks are mandatory in our foyers and theatres.

    All patrons are required to register on arrival through the Check In Qld App and provide proof of vaccination status or medical exemption (aged 16 years or older). Find out more

  • The Safest Way to Buy!

    QTIX is the official ticketing service for QPAC and Southern Cross Soloists: Fireworks and Fury. Selected packages are sold through authorised resellers only. Any tickets purchased through unauthorised sales channels may be seized or cancelled without refund or exchange and the bearer of the ticket may be denied admission. Unauthorised sales channels include Viagogo, eBay and Gumtree. Read more about purchasing tickets online.

Presented by QPAC and Southern Cross Soloists

Pricing Guide

Admission Adult $80 Concession^ $60 STUDENT/YOUTH^^ $30
Groups i Admission $60
Make a group booking
Schools i Admission $20

^Concession: Seniors and Pension card holders

^^Full-time students or under the age of 30 years old

A transaction fee of $7.20 applies per transaction. Selected ticket delivery methods may incur an additional charge. The minimum price listed may be available for selected performances only. Please see the event calendar when booking for the available date(s) and time(s) of this performance.



    Southern Cross Soloists (SXS) are the stars of Australian chamber music. Since 1995, SXS have firmly established themselves as one of Australia’s pre-eminent classical music ensembles. In 2022, SXS will deliver a program of intoxicating virtuosity in its 13th QPAC Concert Series as a Company in Residence at QPAC. Composed of leading virtuosic soloists from across Australia, SXS creates and performs dynamic, unique, and world-class musical experiences for audiences of all ages.