Queensland Performing Arts Centre

QPAC Event Reviews

Event Review Score Genre
Write a Review
Boston Marriage
Boston Marriage
ratingratingratingratingrating
Share On Facebook 2
8:11 PM - 27/01/2015
By Gabrielle Sheldon
A huge thank you to Jodi Panayotov, editor for “Must Do Brisbane” and Maggie Holmes from Queensland Theatre Company for our Double Pass to see David Mamet’s hilarious play “Boston Marriage”. We knew the Show would be great as soon as we saw Amanda Muggleton’s name in the advertisement. Her portrayal of “Anna” was intriguing and mischievous, and we were also impressed with the great performances by Rachel Gordon as the exuberant “Claire”, and Helen Cassidy as the hapless but likeable maid “Catherine”. There was good teamwork and excellent comedic timing by this very adept trio. A Magic direction by Andrea Moor, who lets the actors develop a deep richness in their characterisations of these shrewd, funny and compassionate “Boston women”. Congratulations to the QTC creative team. We’re sure the season will be very successful.
THRILLER LIVE
Embarrassing
ratingratingratingratingrating
Share On Facebook 0
9:33 AM - 27/01/2015
By Kelly
I was embarrassed to be at Thriller. In fact my girlfriend & I waiting for the second half in hope that it was going to get better but with the same stage set & minimal costume changes, we actually left. We could not stay & endure such an amateur production. I am amazed that anyone could write a fabulous review. I see a few production every year & this was worse than a casino show. Some good singers, some good dancers & no story line. The dancers barely costumed for what I would expect in representing Michael Jackson & his quality of showmanship. He would be embarrassed. I would like to know how I get my money back.
THRILLER LIVE
Thriller Live
ratingratingratingratingrating
Share On Facebook 0
8:45 AM - 26/01/2015
By Cameron Humphries
The thriller Live concert was a disappointment to us as we never got to see MJ in concert and was hoping this was the closest thing we would ever get to experiencing MJ perform. WOW were we wrong. The dancers looked as if they were sick of being there and didn't have the energy to continue the routine no enthusiasm or respect for the music I thought. Then the show had some awesome sparks bursts which shot across the stage this woke us up and we thought here we go finally. Then a great dance routine then back to a boring array of below average performances. Then intermission came and then we were treated to round 2 with dirty Diana some guy butchered the hell out of it out of key and just pathetic. I can't believe these guys are Pros. Thanks QPAC for an expensive night. What a rip off......
THRILLER LIVE
Thriller live
ratingratingratingratingrating
Share On Facebook 0
2:02 PM - 25/01/2015
By Sandra
Although I enjoyed the music and the dancing I think for the money it was not worth it, too many singers, not enough of a storyline, Would have liked to see just one Michael Jackson and one who did not lipsync.
THRILLER LIVE
Thriller Live - Surprising
ratingratingratingratingrating
Share On Facebook 0
8:07 PM - 24/01/2015
By Mark Pryor
This show was not what we expected but it was fantastic and had us up and dancing in our seats. At times you could almost believe that Michael was still alive and was there on stage.
THRILLER LIVE
Thriller Live
ratingratingratingratingrating
Share On Facebook 0
12:39 PM - 23/01/2015
By Karen R
A brilliant show with fantastic choreography, great vocals and an awesome live band. Everyone played a great role. It was mind blowing and left you on a real high.
THRILLER LIVE
ratingratingratingratingrating
Share On Facebook 3
6:52 AM - 23/01/2015
By rob
Michael Jackson would be turning in his grave. Impressive if it was a free show performed by kids, not an $80 a seat stage production. 3 of the six singers should have done the whole show. And lip syncing at the end was a highlight. But not worth the money, lip syncing . Probably good for people looking for a good high school show.and have plenty of money to throw away.
The Illusionists 1903
ratingratingratingratingrating
Share On Facebook 0
6:45 AM - 22/01/2015
By Penny
I would have to say that last years show was so much better. Regurgitating old magic tricks that have been done hundreds of times before will not amaze an audience. We want to see something new and exciting. Last years Illusionists show did just that. This years show was a real disappointment.
THRILLER LIVE
Thriller Live
ratingratingratingratingrating
Share On Facebook 0
6:38 AM - 22/01/2015
By PennyC
This was a fantastic show. The dancers and singers were absolutely amazing. I wasn't sure what to expect but the show definitely didn't disappoint. My 10 year old son absolutely loved it. He was clapping and dancing all the way through.
THRILLER LIVE
Fantastic Show!
ratingratingratingratingrating
Share On Facebook 0
8:55 AM - 21/01/2015
By Julie Pettett
The Thriller show was fantastic! Throughly enjoyed the trip down memory lane with MJ's music, and the skill and talent of the cast of vocalists and dancers. Brilliant show! The only "downer" for us was a QPAC staff member, the doorman, Johann, on Door 8. I've nicknamed him Little Hitler! Now there's a man who loves the "power" his job awards him and he wealds it waaaayyyy too seriously. A complete "Jobsworth!"! We were in seats H31-34, right on the end of the row that is closest to the door. It's a matter of 2 footsteps from the end of the row to the door and he would not let my 8 yo son and husband resume their position after a trip to the toilet, despite the audience being on their feet dancing and clapping to the music. He insisted they wait until the applause!! I protested that they were 2 steps from their original seats and we were already standing up dancing, but Little Hitler stuck to his guns! I know he has a job to do, and I could understand it if we were in the middle of a row and everyone was seated, but he took his "power" beyond common sense. Had a great night though despite this individual!
THRILLER LIVE
Thriller live
ratingratingratingratingrating
Share On Facebook 1
4:46 PM - 18/01/2015
By Mardi Goodwin
I thought for the money I paid for the ticket it was really poor... I was poor dance skills and just average "stars" people up there singing a few michael jackson songs.. the only good part was right at the end when "michael jackson" came on and danced to two songs and lip sinked. Very disappointing indeed.
Michael Jackson HIStory II
michael jackson history 2
ratingratingratingratingrating
Share On Facebook 0
12:04 PM - 18/01/2015
By michelle ferguson
great
THRILLER LIVE
Thriller live
ratingratingratingratingrating
Share On Facebook 0
8:12 AM - 16/01/2015
By DonnaB
Fantastic!!! You wouldn't have to be a diehard MJ fan to enjoy this. The cast are just awesome and Prinnie Stevens is wonderful as one of the lead vocalists. The Billie Jean performance was like a step back in time... Mind blowing!! Loved, loved, loved it ??
THRILLER LIVE
Great
ratingratingratingratingrating
Share On Facebook 0
7:58 AM - 16/01/2015
By Jeff
What a fabulous show. Great artists and performers. No one can replace Michael but this show pays a very good tribute to him. My 9 year old grand daughter screamed all the way through :)
The Illusionists 1903
Very poor, waste of money
ratingratingratingratingrating
Share On Facebook 3
1:34 PM - 12/01/2015
By Sue Battis
I attended the performance of The Illusionist last night and have to say it was the worst show I have ever attended. So bad it is embarrassing to tell people I went and paid $100 a ticket.
The Illusionists 1903
A little disappointing
ratingratingratingratingrating
Share On Facebook 0
12:18 PM - 9/01/2015
By Hazel
I must admit that I was a little disappointed. I took the family to see last year's show which we enjoyed immensely. This year's theme of 1903 meant that the novelty and spectacle of last year's show was missing because the tricks had all been seen before hundreds of times and some of them were very transparent. The comedy aspect of last year's show was also lacking. There were some humorous moments but nothing like the hilarity of last year's show. The cost of tickets was way out of line with the quality of the show.
The Illusionists 1903
I wouldn't waste your money
ratingratingratingratingrating
Share On Facebook 0
5:43 PM - 8/01/2015
By Kelly Luckman
A few OK tricks and lots of talking... Nothing special at all, i was very disappointed. You could even see the equipment moving when the person was climbing into the box and another trick almost completely failed! Might have been ok for 1903 but definitely not 2015!!! Keep practicing!
Cubby Land
Good, but could be great
ratingratingratingratingrating
Share On Facebook 0
1:35 PM - 8/01/2015
By MrsTee
Kids enjoyed it, but in our heads we pictured it a little differently. We all thought you would literally be able to make your own cubby house. We envisioned lots of cushions and sheets and cardboard boxes and other materials spread around to build your own cubby. The kids did enjoy climbing & playing around the wooden cubby houses, but didn't last for long. Lovely for a free event though.
Giggle and Hoot & Friends
Giggle & hoot
ratingratingratingratingrating
Share On Facebook 0
9:14 PM - 7/01/2015
By Aroha Williams
I haven't seen it but my kids would love to. Why have it at such an expensive venue? Families cannot afford these prices.
The Illusionists 1903
WOW!!!
ratingratingratingratingrating
Share On Facebook 1
8:24 AM - 7/01/2015
By Michelle Cartlidge
what great entertaining performances!! never laughed, clapped, been amazed so much in my life and we've seen vegas shows.
Giggle and Hoot & Friends
Loved it!
ratingratingratingratingrating
Share On Facebook 1
10:17 AM - 5/01/2015
By Mandy
We absolutely loved this show. Even our one year old sat through for the entire 50 minutes, dancing along. Our three year old knew all the songs and sang along with a huge smile on her face. Well worth the money. Very impressed!
The Illusionists 1903
Not great
ratingratingratingratingrating
Share On Facebook 1
11:05 PM - 4/01/2015
By Cheryl
I was so looking forward to this show, only to be let down by an unpolished performance by b grade magicians. There was nothing here that I had not seen before. All of the acts and the jokes could well have been straight from 1903.
The Illusionists 1903
Mesmerising!!
ratingratingratingratingrating
Share On Facebook 5
10:03 PM - 4/01/2015
By Erin
Had the best time at The Illusionist show! Had all magical aspects you could wish for. The illusionist Charlie was my favourite by far with a quirky display of juggling tricks and the like. Another highlight was definitely the clairvoiant Emily who could pick what items member or the audience held up! Overall an awesome night!!!
UQ School of Music – Requiem
Splendid
ratingratingratingratingrating
Share On Facebook 0
11:55 PM - 31/12/2014
By Sriganesh Srihari
A lively enthusiastic performance by the UQ boys and girls.
A Very Special SOLO Evening with Joan Armatrading
Solo show letdown
ratingratingratingratingrating
Share On Facebook 4
6:36 AM - 16/12/2014
By Richard Booker
The ominous 'warning' that pre-recorded music would be used said it all, and so it proved to be -a big let down. More music would have been preferable to the tired slideshow interlude. It is hard for a solo performer to sustain the energy and momentum required for 90 minutes with no support. Surely even a drummer and a bass player could be found in Australia to add a little more texture and depth without the whole suite of strings and a saxaphone mysteriously hidden in the black depths at side of stage. When things go badly, little wonder there ain't no encore
The Best of Jethro Tull with Ian Anderson
Jethro Tull - Ian Anderson.
ratingratingratingratingrating
Share On Facebook 0
4:27 PM - 14/12/2014
By Jim Mills.
Standing ovation,thoroughly deserved.Inspirational evening.
Freud’s Last Session
Just my view...
ratingratingratingratingrating
Share On Facebook 0
12:16 PM - 7/12/2014
By Sue
Thought provoking, funny and thoroughly enjoyable. Would definitely recommend for a great night out.
Gasp!
A First for us!
ratingratingratingratingrating
Share On Facebook 0
6:49 AM - 7/12/2014
By Herc Kynigopoulos
This is a first for us. The first play ever we have walked out on. A childish play with no real structure, substance or comedy. Very disappointing play, don't waste your money.
Chelsea Handler – Uganda Be Kidding Me Live tour
Mortified
ratingratingratingratingrating
Share On Facebook 0
3:38 PM - 30/11/2014
By Disappointed
She was drunk and within twenty minutes repeating hee jokes as she had forgotten what she had done. Was a fan. Lost respect. Waste of money
London Symphony Orchestra
LSO Brilliance
ratingratingratingratingrating
Share On Facebook 2
12:35 PM - 26/11/2014
By Erin
A simply stunning performance that mesmerised the audience from the opening notes of Rachmaninov’s Piano Concerto No. 2 to the stunning finale of Shostakovich’s Symphony No.10. Matsuev's mastery of the keys was matched by the passionate performance of the LSO. An evening for Brisbane to remember!
London Symphony Orchestra
London Symphony Orchestra
ratingratingratingratingrating
Share On Facebook 3
3:36 PM - 25/11/2014
By Eva
Outstanding performance - Matsuev powerful - his Rachmaninov No. 2 had me crying from intense emotion - how lucky are we to see Matsuev live in Brisbane - Gergiev brilliant with LSO- Thankyou for such an opportunity -
QSO Journey Through The Cosmos
Good and Bad
ratingratingratingratingrating
Share On Facebook 2
11:47 AM - 12/11/2014
By Ian
Five stars for the music and for Brian Cox. Zero stars for choosing to close the event with the simply awful Quartet for the End of Time. I would challenge anyone to find a connection between this music and the event.
QSO Brian Cox - The Physics of Time Lecture
What was the QSO thinking?
ratingratingratingratingrating
Share On Facebook 0
10:05 AM - 12/11/2014
By John
Brian Cox's lecture was superb, as expected. The QSO's choice of music was, however, totally inappropriate. Bear in mind that Coxy was the drawcard here - a full house, of course. This is a man who has an international reputation of Attenborough proportions, in the world of physics. And the QSO used this unique opportunity to inflict discordant, jarring music on their captive audience. Yes, the musicians were clearly talented. Yes, the music would appeal to some as genius. But POPULAR SCIENCE, QSO, you should have thought about your audience. You disappointed far more than you impressed.
QSO Journey Through The Cosmos
Brian Cox was fascinating
ratingratingratingratingrating
Share On Facebook 0
8:28 PM - 11/11/2014
By Erin
I enjoyed the evening overall, but found the first piece not to my taste. I loved the Planets Suite and Brian Cox's presentation was fabulous. Although he mentioned that he would talk about Pluto and a few other things "later" - this didn't happen, which left us a bit confused and disappointed.
QSO Brian Cox - The Physics of Time Lecture
The Physics of Time
ratingratingratingratingrating
Share On Facebook 0
11:06 AM - 11/11/2014
By George
The lecture by Brian Cox was extremely interesting, but far too short. The music, on the other hand, was extremely obscure and dissonant and a real trial to sit through, as demonstrated by the number of people who slipped out after the first few movements. A better choice of music would have helped a lot.
QSO Journey Through The Cosmos
Misleading
ratingratingratingratingrating
Share On Facebook 0
12:41 PM - 10/11/2014
By Marco
The title of the show was very very misleading. Journey through the Cosmos with Brian Cox? Really it was Brian giving an amazing presentation for ~25 minutes followed by hours of mediocre music which had nothing to do with the cosmos... 5/5 for Brian Cox's lecture. 1.5/5 for the Music.
QSO Journey Through The Cosmos
ratingratingratingratingrating
Share On Facebook 0
1:34 PM - 9/11/2014
By jassy
all orcestra......no cosmos......dissapointing
QSO Journey Through The Cosmos
The best
ratingratingratingratingrating
Share On Facebook 0
7:27 PM - 7/11/2014
By Kelle-ann
this show is absolutely outstanding and breathtaking the best day ever for me
Hay Fever
An absolute riot.
ratingratingratingratingrating
Share On Facebook 0
6:52 PM - 29/10/2014
By Karl Victor Wally
Having seen several of Noel Cowards plays in the past I was expecting some mild amusement, I (we) thought it was a perfectly cast show having lost none of its relevance with the passing years. My wife who is very hard to please thought it a riot !! I am about to buy more tickets to take the rest of the family.
The Last Confession
Suchet outshines all!
ratingratingratingratingrating
Share On Facebook 0
7:21 PM - 28/10/2014
By DPAC - Theatre Department
The Last Confession was a great, little drama, thriller murder mystery with all of the classic elements included such a suspense and character interviews. David Suchet is outstanding and such a inspiration for all from his well known role in Agatha Christie [Poirot], other TV specials and now a live on-stage play! The sets and scenery in the show are good with the tall, grated, moving columns to tables, chairs and alters and, of course, the doors which characters frequently come in and out of. The lighting is also very good with the stage going dark every now and then and golden light shining down from the ceiling to give make the 'church' setting more holy looking. The actors on stage [apart from Suchet] were excellent especially the maid of John Pall and John Pall himself. The costumes however were a little disappointing as there was not much detail to them but I suppose that that was the way it was back then anyway. I loved how at the end the mystery of the death of John Paul was never solved and how the main character dies at the end, with a secret dieing as well.A great play, however just a tad bit confusing at times. THUMBS UP!
Hay Fever
Hayfever
ratingratingratingratingrating
Share On Facebook 2
8:57 AM - 26/10/2014
By Mark
Excellent cast, superb timing. Classic Noël Coward - a very enjoyable evening
Hay Fever
Hay Fever in Brisbane not quite up to expectations
ratingratingratingratingrating
Share On Facebook 6
7:35 AM - 25/10/2014
By John Reid
Despite very strong performances from all of the cast members, the QPAC performance of Hay Fever falls a little short of expectations. Earlier this year I saw Noel Coward's Relative Values and Blithe Spirit in London and thoroughly enjoyed both productions. Hay Fever did not quite reach the same heights although it was great to see Felicity Kendal on stage. She is a fine actress and her performance as Judith Bliss was flawless. It is hard to pinpoint exactly why the production was slightly underwhelming but certainly no fault of the cast. Perhaps it is simply that Hay Fever is not one of Noel Coward's best plays. Ultimately, when the curtain came down, the applause from the audience was polite rather than enthusiastic.
Disney's The Lion King
Goosebumps
ratingratingratingratingrating
Share On Facebook 0
11:34 AM - 20/10/2014
By Jane Nott
That would have to be the BEST stage performance I have seen! The cast and costumes were stunning. The vocal performance of Rafiki simply gave me goosebumps...the infectious smiles of the characters as they walked past the aisles towards the stage - absolutely brilliant. Worth every cent!
Disney's The Lion King
Breathtaking
ratingratingratingratingrating
Share On Facebook 0
11:06 PM - 16/10/2014
By Donna Lewis
Most amazing production. everything perfect, incredible costumes sets and performances. Memory of a lifetime
Wuthering Heights
Fabulous
ratingratingratingratingrating
Share On Facebook 0
11:04 PM - 16/10/2014
By Donna Lewis
Another GREAT show from Shake n Stir..
Wuthering Heights
Loved it
ratingratingratingratingrating
Share On Facebook 0
9:29 PM - 15/10/2014
By Courtney
Saw it on the Sunday at 3:00pm the first week it came out. First show i've ever seen live was 1984 and i was obsessed. Not to mention they got me into reading, read the book 1984 and loved it! (thanks shake and stir!) They were advertising wuthering heights and my mum read that years back so we were keen to see it. Wow. I thought 1984 was good. This production was amazing. From the set to sound to lighting! it was brilliant! all actors were amazing, loved Ross! Melanie Zanetti was perfect part for Catherine. I've read a few negative comments toward this production. I guess we all have different taste, although this is shake and stir adaption. It's not going to be spot on with the book. Also, seeing people be disappointed in the jokes saddens me. This show brought me happiness and sadness and thats what i love. I can admit, Gerry Connolly could have been better but my mum loved him! Shake and stir, thank you so much for the amazing adaption and i will see you for dracula 2015!
Wuthering Heights
Another outstanding production from Shake and Stir
ratingratingratingratingrating
Share On Facebook 0
11:36 AM - 15/10/2014
By Mark Davies
Caught this show last night (Tuesday) - WOW! Loved the use of AV and the subtle updating of the text. I studied this book in highschool and it bored me to tears - watching last night with about 100 high school students and this was certainly not the case. The rapturous applause and standing ovation at the end were rightly deserved - brilliant efforts by all.
Bill Bailey - Limboland
Bill Bailey
ratingratingratingratingrating
Share On Facebook 0
1:09 PM - 14/10/2014
By Mark
The perfect cure for depression, how could you not be happy aftwer seeing his fantastic show.
Wuthering Heights
Emily Bronte's Classic? Not the novel I know and love
ratingratingratingratingrating
Share On Facebook 0
6:10 PM - 10/10/2014
By Jennifer Robinson
I so want to give this a 5 star review - and I will for lighting, effects, broodiness, capturing the darkness of the story and for the poignant and often explosive emotion and perfect delivery by the two leads - Melanie Zanetti in the dual roles of Catherine and Cathy and Ross Balbuziente as Heathcliff. I’ve seen Melanie in both Pygmalion and Romeo and Juliet and today she lived up to her usual fine performance. The other players, except for one, did a wonderful job, too – no fluffing of lines or miscues. All of these elements and actors were outstanding and I would love to applaud them with a standing ovation. But sadly, that's where my applause stops. If not for those aspects, I would only be able to give it a 1 star review. Why on earth Gerry Connolly was cast as a FEMALE in the biggest role of all - narrator and the nanny/maid Nelly - I cannot understand at all. The casting crew had a huge talented female pool to choose from but instead they chose a man - albeit a well-known actor - but unfortunately he kept forgetting his lines, and more importantly mixing up everyone's names, as well as his spots and because he kept forgetting characters' name he would slow down or even pause for a few seconds before uttering any of them to make sure he had the right one. I can say the one good thing he brought to the stage was his piano playing. The language too was a big letdown as it was nothing like the book or even the era – often modern day very strong swearing and 21st century phrasing in a lot of places and even a bit of comedy thrown in throughout – one as a spoof on the fact of a man playing a woman which really pulled the novel’s beautiful content down. All in all, I can only review it as a very big disappointment for the language which should have been heartfelt. Some of the monologues were fantastic and very well delivered but trying to make the nanny/narrator into a comedic role spoilt the entire play. I'm sure Emily Bronte would be disappointed to see her novel relegated to wanting to please the masses rather than staying true to her ideal. There were several school groups in when I was in the audience and they seemed to be the only ones laughing at the comedic twists – the rest of us who obviously knew the novel well sat stony-faced. The effects were amazing though - lighting, 'real' rain falling on the stage - and large droplets even splashing on those in the front row who were quite surprised to find themselves part of the props - and huge fans blowing on the audience so you really felt you were in the middle of a storm on the windswept moors. The lighting was brilliant too – setting the mood perfectly. I could only give high praise to those behind the scenes and the two leads and other minor roles. Some of the costumes were more modern, while others of the period. It was quite a mish-mash for someone who loves the novel and expected to be taken into 19th century England rather than the imagination of a 21st century script writer. I’ve never been in a play/musical/show with such a small smattering of applause both at the interval and at the end. It was obvious the audience wasn’t impressed. In future, when putting on one of the classics, please keep the language and content true to the era, unless you are actually trying to bring it into this day and age – and if you do, please forewarn us so the audience is prepared to see something quite different from what they’re expecting.
Wuthering Heights
Fantastic
ratingratingratingratingrating
Share On Facebook 2
12:45 PM - 9/10/2014
By Sam P
A stunning looking production performed with passion and great skill by the talented cast of 6. Not an easy night at the theatre, but well worth trying to find a ticket to see this classic reimagined! It surprises me that some reviews mention the show is funny - with the exception of a couple of well places lines, it is certainly not funny. Quite the opposite - take your tissues - you'll need them at the end of act one! Well done to all involved.
The Dire Straits Experience
Simply Stunning
ratingratingratingratingrating
Share On Facebook 0
11:11 PM - 8/10/2014
By Simon Waite
This is as close as you could get to the real thing. The band was really tight and were a credit to the music of the real maestro. I left the concert with ears ringing (in a good way), looking forward to the next time this group make it back to QPAC!
Black Diggers
Brilliant
ratingratingratingratingrating
Share On Facebook 0
10:02 PM - 8/10/2014
By Michael Taylor
Just saw the live simulcast from Brisbane, with a big audience at Burdekin Theatre Ayr North Queensland tonight. We felt like we were right there, the picture was so crisp and clear, the sound was awesome. The performance itself was stunning, and so we too applauded loud and long at the end. This was an incredibly moving performance, done with passion and great skill. Hope it comes out on DVD: I would certainly buy it. Congratulations to the cast and all who worked so hard to bring this brilliant show together.
Black Diggers
Interesting story and well told
ratingratingratingratingrating
Share On Facebook 0
10:09 AM - 8/10/2014
By Jennifer
Black Diggers is a fascinating piece of theatre. Told in episodic form, characters come and go and sometimes return in a clever piece of storytelling. While some parts are a little heavy handed, others are very moving and/or funny and the ensemble cast and inventive staging held my interest throughout. David Page is in fine voice and Luke Carroll took my breath away with his ghostly portrayal of a soldier dying so far from his homeland. Well worth seeing.
Wuthering Heights
disappointed
ratingratingratingratingrating
Share On Facebook 2
2:20 PM - 7/10/2014
By donna
I wonder if i was watching the same play when I read the comments above. Though some of the actors were really fantastic, I found that the swearing in it was unnecessary why people thought the swearing was funny was beyond me. I costume change in between the acts would have been nice as well.
Wuthering Heights
Sick...
ratingratingratingratingrating
Share On Facebook 0
1:22 PM - 7/10/2014
By Anthony Grasso
I went along to this show not really knowing what to expect. I had seen the posters and the banner on QPAC - the picture of a man in a dress (who I later found out was Gerry Connolly, as in, the QUEEN from Fast Forward) and two attractive younger people who I assumed were playing two lovers and was impressed by the dark, quirky nature of the imagery. When I took my seat in the theatre and started listening to the drone of the wind, I began to feel pretty uncomforatble and hoped I hadn't made a big mistake - ESPECIALLY when I found out it was over two hours long. But from the first moment that the lights went to black until the last moments of the second act (which literally made my mouth gape open in awe) I sat totally glued to the edge of my seat as the SERIOUSLY messed up story unfolded on stage. All the cast were brilliant - even though Gerry seemed to at times be reaching for a line or two (or maybe this was a choice as he was playing a dottery old housemaid) the other cast members never faultered. I loved the guy with the beard. And the lights. And the projection. And the sound. And the effects. It blew me away. I would never have believed that a play could make me feel all these things. I was warned before I went that the story was really depressing, but I loved that there were funny moments in it and then suddenly turned dark. Don't think - get a ticket (although I just tried to buy two more for my Mother and Father and couldn't find two together on any night). Awesome.
Black Diggers
Essential viewing
ratingratingratingratingrating
Share On Facebook 0
10:59 AM - 7/10/2014
By Pauline Peel
Congratulations to QTC, The Brisbane Festival, QPAC and other partners for putting on this important but largely unknown story about Indigenous soldiers in World War 1 - able to enlist but unwelcome on their return to their own country. It is beautifully told, well performed with terrific design.
Wuthering Heights
Just finished the book - and loved the play!
ratingratingratingratingrating
Share On Facebook 0
6:02 PM - 6/10/2014
By Jane
I really enjoyed this show. My friends and I went along on Saturday night and thoroughly enjoyed it. We had just read the book for our Book Club (I had also studied it in high-school). The adaptation was perfect, it made me really feel for, and understand the characters. When reading the book I had mixed feelings about Heathcliff - he divided our Book Club!! But on stage - Ross Balbuziante was just brilliant. He captured the brooding mystery of Heathcliff so well. The whole company definitely deserved the standing ovation they received at the end (us included!).
Wuthering Heights
LOVED IT
ratingratingratingratingrating
Share On Facebook 0
9:23 PM - 5/10/2014
By Tim
Congratulations to everyone involved - it was breathtaking. I want to see it again!
Monty Python’s SPAMALOT
Spamalot
ratingratingratingratingrating
Share On Facebook 0
9:21 PM - 5/10/2014
By Lesley
Brilliant!! All the cast were wonderful but Frank stole the show for me. The local humor and improvisation injected throughout just made it so much better. My jaws were aching from laughter. Thanks for a wonderful show.
Wuthering Heights
Wow
ratingratingratingratingrating
Share On Facebook 0
11:56 AM - 5/10/2014
By Melinda
Saw this production last night and I am still thinking about how fantastic it was. Every actor and every element (lights, sound, costumes, visuals) blended beautifully to create a magic evening at the theatre. Highly recommend.
Wuthering Heights
Incredible. Beautiful. Speechless.
ratingratingratingratingrating
Share On Facebook 0
12:44 AM - 5/10/2014
By Lisa
We just saw the Saturday evening performance and we are still speechless! Big, dynamic, moving theatre! The full standing ovation from the stunned audience was well deserved. Congratulations to the actors and the creators. Bring on Dracula!
Monty Python’s SPAMALOT
Fantastic!!
ratingratingratingratingrating
Share On Facebook 0
7:25 AM - 3/10/2014
By Michael
I've seen productions of Spamalot before and this one puts them to shame. So much energy and enjoyment on stage you could not help but have fun. Jon English and Simon Galaher were great, Frank Woidley hilarious, and Julie Anthony - wow! holy wow! just so good. The supporting cast were amazing and kept the "Monty Python"ness of the show delivered perfectly! hilarious! I particularly loved the Knight of Ni, Black Night, and the swamp castle scenes... of and Tim the Enchanter Haaa!! So much to love about this show! go see it!
Wuthering Heights
Inspired me to read the book again
ratingratingratingratingrating
Share On Facebook 0
11:18 PM - 2/10/2014
By Stephanie
Based on shake & stir’s previous accolades, I came to Wuthering Heights with high expectations and the show was indeed very special. The costume design was a stand out – edgy, yet true to the story and characters. The set was stark, pared back, and perfect for the storyline and emotions portrayed. The lighting, audio and projection increased the intensity of the story, was hugely engaging and set the mood for the moors. All ingredients for perfect theatre. The quality of the acting was mixed. While all actors delivered with passion, the timings on some occasions didn’t seem completely correct. Zanetti was a standout as her portrayal of both Catherine’s was very absorbing and believable. Gerry Connolly’s Nelle was also endearing, at times comedic and relatable, it was a shame that the delivery of some of the script – notably the longer monologues – was a little askew. Nonetheless, it was a highly stylized and unique production that has inspired me to pick-up the book again. I would see this again, but perhaps later in the season (once the creases were ironed out).
Wuthering Heights
withering heights
ratingratingratingratingrating
Share On Facebook 0
7:15 AM - 2/10/2014
By Linda Grace
I saw this last night and I know the production was not meant to be a comedy but my friend and I roared with laughter all the way home. It was the most deplorable theatre I have seen in years, like a dreary soap opera on steroids. Was it dark and broody? Yes, was it likeable? No. Even the cast did not come out for a bow at the end in response to the lukewarm applause. Not one of the characters drew any empathy/sympathy/dislike or let's face it care. I didn't care about any of them as they treaded the boards (very loudly, oh for rubber souled shoes) in a pantomime over acted style of brooding drama. Gerry Conelly's wig was a wonder to behold as it became more and more askew as the night went on. I am speechless that they thought this was a professional production. Mind you the lighting and sound effects were fabulous. I really felt the dark intensity of Emily Bronte's moors. The acting, well maybe turn it into an adult interactive comedy pantomime, and you might have a winner there.
Black Diggers
Outstanding
ratingratingratingratingrating
Share On Facebook 0
7:53 PM - 27/09/2014
By Amanda
An important story told with heart, dignity, soul and spirit. The ensemble cast were individually amazing and mesmerising to watch. Standing ovation!
Le Noir – The Dark Side of Cirque
Outstanding.
ratingratingratingratingrating
Share On Facebook 2
11:41 PM - 24/09/2014
By Barb Schmidt
Loved this show. It was better than Cirque Du Soleil and that is the truth. It is a small company of performers which makes the show more intimate, but in no way lacks the pizazz of Cirque. The costumes are sexy and so are the performers, the acts fantastic and the music great. Do yourself a favour and see this show, you will not regret it.
Le Noir – The Dark Side of Cirque
Outstanding Performances & Costuming
ratingratingratingratingrating
Share On Facebook 4
2:53 PM - 8/09/2014
By Mel
Circuses these days are no longer the cliched big-top with poorly treated animals. Now we have amazing performers with incredible skills, and Le Noir is no exception. Spectacular physical feats from performers with and without props, demonstrating strength, dexterity, flexibility, and humour. The costuming was wonderful, with the colour themes progressing through the show with white, black and red. There were some 'gasp' moments too, especially during the finale on the double-wheeled Wheel of Death, where two performers ran on the inside AND outside of the wheels. A wonderful combination of dance, acrobatics and humour makes this a must see. Oh, but for adults only! The only downside was that, from our side row balcony seats, there were a couple of times when we could not see what was happening as our view was partially restricted.
American Ballet Theatre – Three Masterpieces
ratingratingratingratingrating
Share On Facebook 0
2:47 PM - 8/09/2014
By Mel
This show was made up of three performances, each quite different from the other. The first was very bare, with only a solo violin for music, and the performers in flesh-coloured costumes. The dancing was somewhat convoluted and hard to follow. Throughout the three shows, the dancers seemed to be often off with the synchronised dancing (which another reviewer notes of the ABT's Swan Lake show). The second performance was also basic, this time with a piano on stage, but was more enjoyable to watch than the first. The third performance was very different. It had a set and a storyline. The music was great; a full orchestra, performing jazz rather than classical. There were only 6 dancers in this performance. The music and the dancing were great, but the 'storyline' was quite appalling. The performance consisted of three men (naval officers on leave) harassing a lone woman on the street, including groping her and taking her handbag. A second woman was later harassed by one of the men. The two women were consistently trying to get away from the men, and this was presented as supposedly funny. It was shocking to see harassment dealt with in such a cavalier fashion, and presented as something comical. It was a relief to see that at least in the end, the women managed to get away from the men, but this didn't necessarily demonstrate that the message was 'sexual harassment is not ok'. It was sexist (presenting men as nothing more than aggressive fighters who harass women; & an acceptance of sexual harassment of women) and did not need to be. It could have been presented with the same music and quality dancing in a manner that showed men on shore leave romancing rather than harassing women. The music was upbeat and echoed this 'fun' and 'comedic' attitude of the performance. It is shocking that an international ballet company would consider this an acceptable theme to present in a performance, especially when the dancers' performances were excellent.
American Ballet Theatre – Swan Lake
Disappointed, but for Odette
ratingratingratingratingrating
Share On Facebook 0
8:56 PM - 7/09/2014
By Angela
This was my first time to the Ballet and I've been wanting to see Swan Lake for many years. I was disappointed that most of the performers seemed out of time and this was confirmed when I chatted to the ladies beside us during the interval, who mentioned they had seen Swan Lake many times. The only saving grace was Odette's performance which was mind blowing! After paying a premium rate to get two of the last seats available, I definitely expected more. It's also disappointing that we couldn't take a photo of the cast after the show had completed.
The Last Confession
ratingratingratingratingrating
Share On Facebook 0
10:00 PM - 24/08/2014
By Jayne
Enjoyed the play didn't know quite what to expect but thoroughly enjoyed it, to see such a great actor was a treat I'll not forget to soon my friends found the first half a bit slow but the second half made up for it. Wonderful and through provoking
Rolling Thunder Vietnam
FANTASTIC SHOW!!!
ratingratingratingratingrating
Share On Facebook 0
7:27 PM - 23/08/2014
By Rob Robertson
If you are a Vietnam Veteran, Baby Boomer and love Rock and Roll of the 60's, or if you just want to see a great entertaining show do not miss this one. The Cast and Band are excellent. Please make a DVD of the Show. Thank you from a Vet.
The Last Confession
The Last Confession
ratingratingratingratingrating
Share On Facebook 0
8:57 AM - 23/08/2014
By Hilary
Mesmerising. Great set, slick scene changes and wonderful acting. It was one of the best plays we have ever seen. Thank you to all involved for a wonderful afternoon that we'll remember for a long time.
The Last Confession
Brilliant David Suchet
ratingratingratingratingrating
Share On Facebook 0
5:57 AM - 22/08/2014
By Sue Baker
My father and I are big Agatha Christie/Hercule Poirot fans, was very impressed with the entire cast and performances in this play. David Suchet was brilliant, my admiration for his talent has certainly greatly increased.....bonus of the day was the father/daughter bonding at this very amazing play. David Suchet - you rock!
The Last Confession
The Last Confession
ratingratingratingratingrating
Share On Facebook 0
7:20 PM - 21/08/2014
By Missy T
David Suchet showed his skill as an actor who, although maybe perceived as the definitive "Poirot", cannot be type-cast. He was well supported by the full cast. What did happen to the gentle Pope, John Paul? We'll never know.
The Last Confession
The Last Confession
ratingratingratingratingrating
Share On Facebook 2
3:35 PM - 21/08/2014
By Julienne
It was well directed with some great performances. The politics of The Vatican was similar to normal office politics. Let down a little by the script. It is Roger Crane the playwright's first play and I think it shows. The second half develops nicely and there is a little more depth in the characters but disappointed in the script.
The Last Confession
The Last Confession
ratingratingratingratingrating
Share On Facebook 0
11:27 AM - 21/08/2014
By Tony Nesci
It was great to see the absolute absence of any religious mysticism. The reality of behind-the-scenes intrigue...part and parcel of The Vatican...was portrayed well. I feel it lacked some depth regarding the questionable demise of John Paul...but I attribute that to expecting more "Poirot sleuthing"...from a character that just wasn't in this play. Still, it certainly was David's play... I give it four stars...
Le Noir – The Dark Side of Cirque
Amazing! Can I have it on dvd to watch it over again
ratingratingratingratingrating
Share On Facebook 2
9:34 PM - 17/08/2014
By Jessie Emerson
Fantastic mix of incredible acts, breathtaking stunts and a very ckeeky fool. Le Noir giving us a circus with a dark side, a gothic persuasion and erotic themes, not one for the little ones but definitely worth every cent you pay to see it. All I want to know now is, is it on dvd so I can relieve the spectacular spectical again and again
Akmal
Funny but quick
ratingratingratingratingrating
Share On Facebook 0
6:35 PM - 17/08/2014
By Dale Norris
Akmal has always been funny but last night (16 August) the show was incredibly short, Pete Willy (tragic name) opened for 15 minutes and akmal was on for an hour rathe then the advertised 1 hour and 20 minutes ... bit of a shame but funny ... has he sold his house?
QLD Pops – Broadway Spectacular - West End to Broadway
Poingant Moving World Class
ratingratingratingratingrating
Share On Facebook 4
8:11 PM - 16/08/2014
By Theresa Cumming
I am a regular theatre goer and lover of the arts but this concert trumped most that I have seen in a long time. My guests and I were truly wrapped and moved by this world class performance. The highlights were the pure and magical voices of Silvie Paladino and Kane Alexander. They really gave an ethereal performance that was passionate and enchanting. Not to be missed with the magic choir, dancers and wonderful music. We were tempted to get dinner and come back for the night performance. Something special (standing performance even the matinée) congratulations to all involved.
Rolling Thunder Vietnam
rolling thunder vietnam
ratingratingratingratingrating
Share On Facebook 0
1:44 PM - 15/08/2014
By bill
Exccelent ii gave an OVERVIEW of vietnam that then enabled you to REMEMBER YOUR 1 YEAR TERM about ALL the issues that you beautifully raised (Mate imjured, Mates dead, Dear Jonhs, Letter from home, life style. OP outside the wire? and as i did two tours (opened Nui Dat with the 173rd May 66 and last man to leave Nui Dat Oct 71. What the showe did was to reduce ALL those years (and happening (even when I was not there) into hundreds of powerfull memeories. So for that reason it was great. Sadly I ONLY remeber the sad and non of the good? I was a regular soldier and MOST feal for the NASHO who expereince AL of what I did but on RETURNING to his country home town was called a Baby Killer And YES it WAS much worse for the yanks?
Rolling Thunder Vietnam
Absolutely Fabulous
ratingratingratingratingrating
Share On Facebook 0
7:41 AM - 15/08/2014
By Karen Absalom
I grew up in the Vietnam era and the protests. I also saw the other side with family members in the forces. The show took me back. It was the best show I have seen in a while. Chong Lim and the band were their normal brilliant entity but the stand out were the young stars who gave everything into the performance. Well done
Rolling Thunder Vietnam
Best QPAC show so far
ratingratingratingratingrating
Share On Facebook 2
6:31 PM - 13/08/2014
By David
My wife's opinion that this show was the best QPAC show she has attended and i must agree. I grew up in the Veitnam war era and missed possible consription by purely a change of govermnment. The show was a mix of young talented singers with well known and proven muso's. Guitar work was magnificent. If you love watching gifted talent singing clasic songs depicting a time when Austalians and Americans questioned decisions made by our elected representatives, this a show for you.
Take Me Home – The Music & Life of John Denver
Brilliant
ratingratingratingratingrating
Share On Facebook 0
12:51 PM - 13/08/2014
By Marichen
Fabulous . Please come back to Brisbane
Kate Miller-Heidke
Kate Miller-Heidke - Brisbane
ratingratingratingratingrating
Share On Facebook 0
6:12 AM - 13/08/2014
By John Swan
I had looked forward to this night for so long and it was as perfect as I knew it would be. Kate's support, Ryan Keen, was a great opener and such a high quality performer. Kate and her band performed the high quality concert I have got used to when attending her performances .. I look forward to her next concert. My 39 year old daughter came with me and saw her for the first time and has not stopped talking about her both as a musician and performer.
1984 by George Orwell
Quite Spectacular
ratingratingratingratingrating
Share On Facebook 0
2:41 PM - 12/08/2014
By Susan
A good performance overall but relied quite heavily of past research to fully grasp understanding.
Le Noir – The Dark Side of Cirque
WOW WOW WOW
ratingratingratingratingrating
Share On Facebook 4
7:21 PM - 9/08/2014
By Michelle Cartlidge
What talented young ladies and gentlemen. The audience was captivated from start to finish. The costumes breathtaking, the acts enthralling, including audience members was certainly a plus and the MC's comedy act was hilarious. The gravity defying acts were just mind blowing. Everyone has to see this show!!!
75 Years on Buddy Holly in Concert
Excellent !
ratingratingratingratingrating
Share On Facebook 0
3:08 PM - 4/08/2014
By Daniele
Great music, played GREAT- especially 'Jo' the saxophonist.
Queensland Ballet - Flourish
Great Maturity
ratingratingratingratingrating
Share On Facebook 0
12:42 PM - 3/08/2014
By Zoe
This review is not about comparing Queensland Ballet to other great ballet ensembles which have graced the stage of Qpac but about commending QB on its amazing growth and new found maturity. The diversity and talent displayed at last nights performance of Flourish was magnificent and even though some dancers had moments that made me hold my breath for fear of stumbling other times it was the beauty of the movement that made me gasp. Bravo and Brava!
Queensland Ballet - Flourish
Flourish
ratingratingratingratingrating
Share On Facebook 0
5:19 AM - 2/08/2014
By Jason
Sensational, if your only going to see one ballet this year make this the one!
1984 by George Orwell
a must see!
ratingratingratingratingrating
Share On Facebook 0
11:53 AM - 21/07/2014
By Michael
I loved this show. It was so well put together and everything just worked seamlessly. I loved the use of the screens - and as an avid Orwell fan I was so happy with the adaptation. Go and see if you can get a ticket.
Expressions Dance Company – The Red Shoes
Beautifully Human
ratingratingratingratingrating
Share On Facebook 0
11:36 AM - 21/07/2014
By Jonathan
What a stunningly beautiful performance. I went with a friend to this show, unaware of what The Red Shoes is about. I came away with a new appreciation for dance and the ability to tell a story so resonantly without words. Everything worked together to draw me in to this story. The music was a feature without dragging my focus away. The dancing amazing, strong and graceful, full of expression and emotion. All the tech, set, sound and lighting, breathed as the story unfolded, weaved, built and stripped back. Such creative and beautifully human story telling.
1984 by George Orwell
just good
ratingratingratingratingrating
Share On Facebook 0
5:48 PM - 18/07/2014
By lewis
was a good play with a great use of multimedia although the screens overplayed the actors a bit much. the main character winston blurred his words and was very un relatable.
1984 by George Orwell
DOUBLE PLUS GOOD
ratingratingratingratingrating
Share On Facebook 2
2:06 PM - 18/07/2014
By Tara Cook
This was an amazing piece of theatre. I saw it in 2012 and loved it again this time around. Wasn't David Whitney just spectacular, along with the entire cast (and crew I imagine!) Thank you Shake and Stir for making theatre so relevant and accessible for all.
1984 by George Orwell
1984
ratingratingratingratingrating
Share On Facebook 0
1:13 PM - 18/07/2014
By George Martin
Brilliant "Truth" A must see.
1984 by George Orwell
Brilliant Theatre - world class
ratingratingratingratingrating
Share On Facebook 0
12:12 AM - 18/07/2014
By Chris
Absolutely brilliant piece of theatre. Powerful and moving work. Highly recommend you go and see this. Bryan Proberts is honest, truthful and understatedly powerful in his role as Winston. Brilliant.
The White Album Concert Tour
White album bought to life
ratingratingratingratingrating
Share On Facebook 0
7:58 PM - 17/07/2014
By Jeff Owen
Incredible show. Four Australian front men all starring, Chris Cheney brilliant on While my guitar, Phil Jameson funny and soulful, Josh Pike did the soft songs well, Tim Rogers gets to play the clown. The band superb. Given the Beatles themselves never would have performed these songs all credit to Rex and his arranging. As one of Tim's asides if you like this we might come back and do something else, maybe Abbey road?
Anthony Warlow and Faith Prince
Anthony Warlow
ratingratingratingratingrating
Share On Facebook 0
9:25 PM - 9/07/2014
By Elsie mutton
As usual AW was brilliant but I did not enjoy this concert as much as his last. Faiths voice did not connect and I did not get the usual tingle down the spine.
Queensland Ballet - MacMillan's Romeo & Juliet
Li's Dancers
ratingratingratingratingrating
Share On Facebook 2
1:04 PM - 3/07/2014
By Lyn
Brilliant Performance. Move over Bolshoi ! The Dancers, Orchestra, Costumes, Choreography & Lighting were so magnificent & exquisitely attuned to transport one into the period of this Ballet. Steve McRae was a Master Romeo with Natasha Kusch as Juliet a perfect match - both as light as feathers with beautiful grace & skill. The Sword Fights were unbelievable with gripping scenes. Most outstanding was the obvious team effort & focus with every dancer acting as well as dancing their part. all with such fluidity. Qld Ballet is undoubtedly the cream of Australian ballet & this performance sets an enviable position for the most acclaimed Ballet Companies world wide.
Hello Korea!
Excellent
ratingratingratingratingrating
Share On Facebook 0
7:56 AM - 3/07/2014
By Lara
I though this was a wonderful interactive interesting amusing and very creative art work to enjoy. My 4 year old son loved it too. And the creative art works they were able to create as part of the Out of the Box Festival was truly wonderful. I'm going to share this as many people as I can as it's a must see!
My Baby Just Cares For Me - Rachael Beck and David Hobson
David Hobson and Rachael Beck
ratingratingratingratingrating
Share On Facebook 0
8:31 AM - 13/06/2014
By Wendy Phillipson
What a great nights entertainment. The chemistry between the two was magic. Choice of songs was interesting and entertaining. Didn't want it to end.
The TEN Tenors on Broadway
Ten Tenors On Broadway - Lyric Theayre 7 June 2014
ratingratingratingratingrating
Share On Facebook 6
4:11 PM - 10/06/2014
By David
As usual the Ten Tenors performed brilliantly. The performance of the Broadway hits was an outstanding success and a great evening of entertainment. However there was one aspect of the show that was disappointing, and that was the fact that there was no backing orchestra for such a talented group of artists, only a drummer, pianist and a laptop computer. I don't know if this is the case for all performances, but if it is, audiences are being let down.
Cribbie - The Suburb That  Disappeared
cribbie
ratingratingratingratingrating
Share On Facebook 0
7:18 PM - 8/06/2014
By Tony Jones
I remember growing up at cribbie, I'm 47 and I still remember it so vividly like it was yesterday, this play Is amazing there are a few stories in there about my granddad and family. I was in tears of laughter and sadness with the part with my grandma underneath the rose Bush I was there the day we scattered her ash's. It was very well done and can't wait to see it again..
UQ Titan
Brillant
ratingratingratingratingrating
Share On Facebook 1
1:39 PM - 4/06/2014
By Julie Byrnes
Sensational concert. Sorry for those that missed it.
The King & I
The King and I
ratingratingratingratingrating
Share On Facebook 1
2:03 PM - 2/06/2014
By Margaret Frame
A magical experience. Took my daughter who lives in New York and she rated it better than many she has seen there.
The King & I
Something wonderful!
ratingratingratingratingrating
Share On Facebook 0
5:48 PM - 1/06/2014
By Natalie P
What a great night at the theatre. This production just epitomises everything a good musical should be. Fantastic singing, convincing acting, sumptuous sets and songs you can't get out of your head. The orchestra deserves a mention. They were superb. Teddy Tahu Rhodes was a damn sexy King and Lisa Mc Cune was clearly born to play the role of Anna. Her voice was pure magic, every note a triumph. Such a beautiful production. You'll leave whistling a happy tune.
The King & I
The King and I
ratingratingratingratingrating
Share On Facebook 0
3:23 PM - 27/05/2014
By Warren Huby
Excellent production and great cast however the sound projection on the night we attended was average. We were in row I and it could be difficult to hear and at some points, understand the actors.
Maestro Series 4: Poet of the Guitar
False advertising at it's worst
ratingratingratingratingrating
Share On Facebook 0
11:15 PM - 24/05/2014
By Rastus Germumple
Promoted as Poet Of The Guitar one could rightly expect Karin Schaupp to perform for more than half an hour out of the two hours plus of the whole show. But that's all she appeared in. Playing beautifully in the Concerto de Aranjuez and Recuerdos del Alahambras was it. The rest was mainly boring, more obscure pieces from the other composers and a very capable orchestra wasted on lesser pieces and Jumping Jack Flash the conducter. Aprt from Karin a waste of time and money and QPAC should be ashamed for such blatant false advertising. A refund would be appreciated.
The King & I
Great show
ratingratingratingratingrating
Share On Facebook 2
5:38 PM - 24/05/2014
By Jon Hui
As a family this was the first time we'd gone to a show at QPAC. Not disappointed and now we have the bug. We will attend more shows to be sure.
DORIS: Doris Day - So Much More Than the Girl Next Door
seamless, inspired performance, and personality.
ratingratingratingratingrating
Share On Facebook 0
6:26 PM - 22/05/2014
By fran rabbitts
What a voice, and connection with the audience, Melinda Schneider, has it all, charisma, dancing, she's a storyteller, that took the audience with her, on the remarkable journey of Doris Day.
Russell Howard - Wonderbox
Funny as balls
ratingratingratingratingrating
Share On Facebook 0
1:43 PM - 22/05/2014
By Thomas
This was one of his best acts, any one know his supporting act name?
DORIS: Doris Day - So Much More Than the Girl Next Door
Doris
ratingratingratingratingrating
Share On Facebook 0
9:35 AM - 22/05/2014
By Lajla Nystad
Fantastic performance! It kept us captivated from start till finish! Thanks Melinda!
The King & I
The King and I
ratingratingratingratingrating
Share On Facebook 3
8:59 AM - 19/05/2014
By Joan Whitham
I thought this could be a good show, however I was amazed at how good this show really was, costumes and performances. We truly loved this show
QLD Pops – 30th Anniversary Concert – The POPS Greatest Hits
Qld Pops Orchestra
ratingratingratingratingrating
Share On Facebook 0
8:12 AM - 19/05/2014
By Joan Whitham
The first time we have ever attended a Qld Pops Orchestra Concert but it will not be our last. This was a really good night, loved the music, really well done. Great show
An Evening with Petula Clark
A Night With Petula Clark
ratingratingratingratingrating
Share On Facebook 0
8:09 AM - 19/05/2014
By Joan Whitham
What a good night this proved to be, really glad we went along. Petula is a good entertainer and her voice is still good
QLD Pops – 30th Anniversary Concert – The POPS Greatest Hits
30th Anniversary Concert Matinee
ratingratingratingratingrating
Share On Facebook 2
9:16 AM - 18/05/2014
By Pamela Rayner
What a wonderful concert the POPs 30th Anniversary Concert was. Many thanks to Conductor Patrick Pickett and the wonderful POPs Orchestra. And the icing on the cake was Mirusia Louwerse and Gregory Moore. Definitely a 5 star rating! Congratulations and a big thank you.
QLD Pops – 30th Anniversary Concert – The POPS Greatest Hits
The Qld Pops are the " Greatest "
ratingratingratingratingrating
Share On Facebook 2
8:19 PM - 17/05/2014
By Patricia
Absolutely brilliant. The whole concert was outstanding. Wonderful program. Such talented singers and musicians. The performance by Mirusia was breathtaking, unforgettable. I feel honoured to have heard her sing. Still have goose bumps.
The King & I
The King and I...live.
ratingratingratingratingrating
Share On Facebook 0
7:39 PM - 17/05/2014
By Deb Davidson
My daughter and I saw the show today. We were transported into another world, another time and another place. As a child I loved the movie and now to see it come alive before me. What a special time! Thank you for this wonderful memory.
The King & I
Kin g and I
ratingratingratingratingrating
Share On Facebook 0
12:37 PM - 15/05/2014
By Jill Mclaughlin
Wonderful show like the little children and thought Young Riley Brooker as Louis was excellent. He will be seen in the later years on Broadway, I am sure of that, such talent at a young age.
The King & I
King and I
ratingratingratingratingrating
Share On Facebook 0
6:26 PM - 13/05/2014
By Ellen Cutugno
Today I went to the 1.30pm show, not knowing what to expect? Well I was suprised how the show took me back to a holiday in the country, Wow! fantastic show, so glad I went today. Don't miss it! WELL DONE!!!
Admission: One Shilling
Admission one Shilling
ratingratingratingratingrating
Share On Facebook 0
10:00 AM - 13/05/2014
By Pauline Seath
I was greatly moved by the presentation of this story.Patricia Routledge was the perfect choice for this role as not only has a beautiful speaking voice but a natural ability to intone the required depth of emotion this story reveals. Piers lane was outstanding playing the chosen pieces with such passion and sensitivity his style thrilling and embracing my soul When I first saw this advertised I just knew I had to see it The lighting and stage setting was simple but profound in its enhancement of the story I learned a lot about the feelings of the British people during the war and how a woman's passion for music uplifted them Brilliantly !!! Congratulations to the producers and stage crew I will never forget how this wonderful production made me feel! MELBOURNE PEOPLE DON"T MISS IT!!
The King & I
A world away
ratingratingratingratingrating
Share On Facebook 0
6:17 PM - 6/05/2014
By Paula Ingerson
Lisa McCune. What a world away from the Tv series of Blue Heelers and what a voice! Wow! And Teddy was a brilliant King. The King just has to have that voice and Teddy has it. Costumes had to be seen to be believed. To cast and crew and everyone involved, thank you.
The King & I
The best show
ratingratingratingratingrating
Share On Facebook 1
7:10 AM - 1/05/2014
By Jennifer Gleeson
Worth every cent we paid for the tickets - wonderful music and acting - Shu-Cheen Yu as No.1 wife was superb - made my skin tingle when she sang, Teddy and Lisa were perfect and the children were gorgeous. Fantastic memories
The King & I
Very very good
ratingratingratingratingrating
Share On Facebook 2
10:46 AM - 28/04/2014
By Tony
Wow, what a show & probably the best musical I have ever seen. was entertaining, funny & a joy to watch. Sets were briilant & cast excellent.
Queensland Ballet - Coppélia
A Night of Joyous Enchantment
ratingratingratingratingrating
Share On Facebook 1
7:22 AM - 27/04/2014
By Jennifer Robinson
What a delightful evening spent under the spell of Queensland Ballet's beautifully executed and enchanting "Coppelia'. As a patron who normally favours musical theatre on my regular visits to QPAC, and after having witnessed only two other ballet productions before, I was pleasantly surprised and thoroughly entertained by the calibre of the dancers and the witty storyline, The costumes and setting were beautiful - well suited to the era and location - and the manner in which the story was told - both in an overlaid film sequence and the skillful dance/acting - made it easy to understand the tale unfolding without the benefit of dialogue! (I told you I'm used to musical theatre!!) The music performed by a very talented orchestra was a wonderful accompaniment and made all the better by a lovely friend's daughter, Marielle, who was on the French Horn. And by pure coincidence, my next novel 'Broken Pieces' (written using my pen name Jennifer Larmar) actually contains a few chapters where my heroine is a cellist in the orchestra pit at QPAC! My earlier novels, Silken Images and Fractured Symphony already contain portions of QPAC's show history in fiction form! As you can see, music is in my blood. My visit was a last minute invitation to fill in for someone who couldn't attend so I wasn't at all sure what to expect. Thank you to everyone involved for a lovely night of entertainment, especially the exceptional dance troupe. Bravo!
The King & I
Excellent
ratingratingratingratingrating
Share On Facebook 6
5:09 PM - 23/04/2014
By Nadine and Alison
My daughter and I saw the matinee today and it was fantastic. Costumes, sets incredible. The singing and acting wonderful. Beyond expectations.
The King & I
The King and I
ratingratingratingratingrating
Share On Facebook 1
10:32 AM - 23/04/2014
By Valerie Vaughan
Absolutely fabulous .Loved the fabulous dance scene. Want to go again
The King & I
A 'must see' production
ratingratingratingratingrating
Share On Facebook 1
10:01 AM - 23/04/2014
By Margaret & John Fancourt
In a word, "magnificent". Every aspect was absolutely fabulous; evoked emotions never before encountered in a stage production.
The King & I
Not to be missed
ratingratingratingratingrating
Share On Facebook 2
6:59 PM - 22/04/2014
By Pauline Gaule
Not enough glowing words to describe this show. If opening night is anything to go by it is going to be a glorious run. So good I have booked for two more times
The King & I
Great show poor seating
ratingratingratingratingrating
Share On Facebook 0
12:39 PM - 20/04/2014
By Sharni Hughes
The show was brilliant. The seats within the theatre where terrible. Six of us attended and all had the same issue. Sore tail bones and uncomfortable during the performance . Seat numbers K21 - K26
The King & I
Disappointed
ratingratingratingratingrating
Share On Facebook 0
7:26 PM - 19/04/2014
By Ann Campbell
Let Thursday night we saw the King & I production at the Lyric. The costumes and scenery were sensational. I was however really disappointed with the acoustics. It was difficult to be fully immersed in the story as it was so hard to hear the dialogue from the main characters. I had been so looking forward to this show however I walked away feeling disappointed.
The King & I
Performance 17/04
ratingratingratingratingrating
Share On Facebook 0
9:14 AM - 18/04/2014
By Ann
The overall production & costumes were fantastic but we found it very difficult to understand the dialogue between the characters. It was hard to hear & the lines were spoken very fast in the accent making it difficult to understand.This hampered our ability to truly immerse ourselves with the characters and follow the storyline.
The King & I
Wonderful show, sound not so great
ratingratingratingratingrating
Share On Facebook 0
4:48 PM - 16/04/2014
By Karen Moore-Evans
Unfortunaly the sound system did not do the show justice. A wonderful show, beautiful costumes and scenery. The children were enchanting. The keDing lady was lovely and the leading man a triumph. It was such a shame that the sound system seemed lacking, particularly during dialogue. I have seen several shows here and never had a concern about the sound, however it was obvious to me throughout the performance. If the sound had been as it was on previous visits I would have given 5 stars.
Paco Pena Flamencura
Disappointed
ratingratingratingratingrating
Share On Facebook 5
11:39 AM - 13/04/2014
By Kerry
Performance would have been okay if you were sitting on the stage next to them but with no introductions or explanations to the audience of the music and who the performers were and combined with positioning on the stage the audience felt like they were not important. Paco Pena was not visible from the audience half the time facing inwards towards other entertainers. Shame because they only engaged with the audience at the end and we got a feel for who they were and their personality. No listing of music played in the programme so all round disappointing.
Paco Pena Flamencura
Flamenco in Brisbane
ratingratingratingratingrating
Share On Facebook 0
12:12 AM - 13/04/2014
By R Murias
I am still tingling. Castanets. Twirling, pulsating, stomping dance. Hanting vocals. Silhouettes against tangerine backdrops. All bathed in the mesmeric Paco Pena strings. World class entertainment in Brisbane.
Macbeth
Witchy and wonderful
ratingratingratingratingrating
Share On Facebook 0
11:22 AM - 11/04/2014
By Elise
If you want to see malevolent and mischievious witches dancing (or should I say slithering) in the dark don't miss MacBeth. If you want to see ripped men's bodies and great delivery of the faultless lines of the Bard don't miss MacBeth. “Fair is foul, and foul is fair, hover through fog and filthy air.”
Macbeth
Come roam the darkened corridors of a madman's mind
ratingratingratingratingrating
Share On Facebook