Queensland Performing Arts Centre

QPAC Event Reviews

Event Review Score Genre
Write a Review
The King & I
The King and I
ratingratingratingratingrating
Share On Facebook 0
10:32 AM - 23/04/2014
By Valerie Vaughan
Absolutely fabulous .Loved the fabulous dance scene. Want to go again
The King & I
A 'must see' production
ratingratingratingratingrating
Share On Facebook 0
10:01 AM - 23/04/2014
By Margaret & John Fancourt
In a word, "magnificent". Every aspect was absolutely fabulous; evoked emotions never before encountered in a stage production.
The King & I
Not to be missed
ratingratingratingratingrating
Share On Facebook 0
6:59 PM - 22/04/2014
By Pauline Gaule
Not enough glowing words to describe this show. If opening night is anything to go by it is going to be a glorious run. So good I have booked for two more times
Paco Pena Flamencura
Disappointed
ratingratingratingratingrating
Share On Facebook 5
11:39 AM - 13/04/2014
By Kerry
Performance would have been okay if you were sitting on the stage next to them but with no introductions or explanations to the audience of the music and who the performers were and combined with positioning on the stage the audience felt like they were not important. Paco Pena was not visible from the audience half the time facing inwards towards other entertainers. Shame because they only engaged with the audience at the end and we got a feel for who they were and their personality. No listing of music played in the programme so all round disappointing.
Paco Pena Flamencura
Flamenco in Brisbane
ratingratingratingratingrating
Share On Facebook 0
12:12 AM - 13/04/2014
By R Murias
I am still tingling. Castanets. Twirling, pulsating, stomping dance. Hanting vocals. Silhouettes against tangerine backdrops. All bathed in the mesmeric Paco Pena strings. World class entertainment in Brisbane.
Macbeth
Witchy and wonderful
ratingratingratingratingrating
Share On Facebook 0
11:22 AM - 11/04/2014
By Elise
If you want to see malevolent and mischievious witches dancing (or should I say slithering) in the dark don't miss MacBeth. If you want to see ripped men's bodies and great delivery of the faultless lines of the Bard don't miss MacBeth. “Fair is foul, and foul is fair, hover through fog and filthy air.”
Deborah Conway / Willy Zygier Stories of Ghosts
story of ghosts
ratingratingratingratingrating
Share On Facebook 0
7:17 PM - 4/04/2014
By steve bortignon
After seeing debra and wilye live at the port fairy folk festival I was mesmarized then and I had to have this album I purchased today and have listened to it 5 times already in a day . An absolutly superb album Brilliant lyrics and superb head phone listening music Debras voice is hauntingly beautifull and willys instrumentals blending superbly This album must be inspired from a higher dimension Please need more of this art Love Steve
Macbeth
Come roam the darkened corridors of a madman's mind
ratingratingratingratingrating
Share On Facebook 2
4:36 PM - 30/03/2014
By Damsel Martin
http://www.weekendnotes.com/macbeth-playhouse-qpac/ When British director Michael Attenborough took on the challenge of translating a play set in 11th Century Scotland to the modern-day subtropical climes of Queensland, it turned out not to be such a stretch after all. As if lured by some supernatural force for atmospheric effect, storms rolled through Brisbane on the opening night of Macbeth at QPAC's Playhouse, forcing theatre-goers to brandish umbrellas and battle the elements as a prelude to this much-anticipated production. And it was certainly worth the steamed-up glasses and soggy feet. A joint production by the Queensland Theatre Company and the Grin & Tonic Theatre Troupe, Macbeth breathed contemporary life into Shakespeare's darkest tragedy. The play opens with the three writhing witches (Ellen Bailey, Lauren Jackson and Courtney Stewart) who prophesise Macbeth's ascent to the throne. Seductive and repulsive in equal measure, the witches' revelations propel Macbeth (Jason Klarwein) and his scheming wife (Veronica Neave) along the bloody path that sees this hyper-ambitious man first slay the current king Duncan and then anyone else who stands in his way. As the action unfolds, audience members are exposed to extreme and bloody violence but that's not the reason I broke out in goosebumps several times over more than two hours of action. Rather, as Attenborough explains, Macbeth 'shines a torch into the deepest recesses of the human psyche'. Just by sitting in this darkened theatre, we become unwitting accomplices to Macbeth's descent into ever-darker states of mind. The horror in the play is thus not contained in the swordfights, but rather the emergence of evil: 'O! full of scorpions is my mind, dear wife!' the lead character cries. Macbeth is leavened with humour, too, which largely arises from Macbeth's increasingly bizarre behaviour as he begins to see the ghosts of those he's killed. I enjoyed witnessing the palpable chemistry between lead actors Klarwein and Neave - for Macbeth is a love story too. 'Theirs is one of the happiest marriages in Shakespeare,' says Attenborough. 'The agony of the play comes in watching them move apart.' Macbeth was visually and aurally delectable, with pulsing sound effects, a deep backdrop of giant gnarled trees and lighting that evoked a sense of thick, steamy air. The actors dressed in simple, sparse clothing, presenting as unshaven, long-haired and wild. The only colour appears after the first murder, when Lady Macbeth dons a scarlet gown, her gathering madness evident even then. Such choices were made, says Attenborough, 'because people living on the edge of survival in this climate (Queensland) would be sticky, hot and wearing very little.' Do you need to be familiar with the story of Macbeth to appreciate the play? It helps, but isn't strictly necessary. Attenborough and his team of energetic actors have created an accessible production which is fairly self-contained. 'As a director, you have to assume a virgin view of (the story),' he says. In acknowledgement that some Elizabethan turns of phrase can be tough for modern audiences to comprehend, he admits that 'if the lines don't serve their purpose, I have no sentimentality about changing them ... I think Shakespeare would approve. If there are references in there that (contemporary audiences) have no hope of getting, he'd be saying, 'Cut it out, cut it out'.' The current season of Macbeth runs until 13 April 2014.
Macbeth
Macbeth
ratingratingratingratingrating
Share On Facebook 0
8:38 AM - 30/03/2014
By Di Joyner
great production, great mood and great acting, very enjoyable
Macbeth
MacBeth
ratingratingratingratingrating
Share On Facebook 0
8:21 AM - 30/03/2014
By Christine Coleman
Fantastic
Rigoletto
Fantastico!!
ratingratingratingratingrating
Share On Facebook 0
10:08 AM - 26/03/2014
By Jess
This performance of "Rigoletto" by Opera Queensland was my first real opera experience (at the ripe age of 30!) - and I could not have asked for a more entertaining night! The acting by the main characters is superb, and they have the amazing voices to match. This was an energetic show, with every singer throwing themselves into their parts with gusto but also believability. I laughed along, I felt sympathy for Rigoletto, I had shivers and goosebumps several times during each act! Even though it is quite a tragic storyline, I was grinning like an idiot for almost two hours straight, I was so happily encapsulated by this show! The Orchestra must also be commended - the music is beautiful, at times solemn and others cheerful. The musicians didn't miss a beat, and I thoroughly enjoyed the music as much as the singing and acting. A thorougly enjoyable experience, I am so glad I went. Highly recommend to everyone!
Macbeth
Macbeth - Legendary Performance
ratingratingratingratingrating
Share On Facebook 1
8:26 AM - 26/03/2014
By Hayden Dutton
I have seen two previous versions of Shakespeare's greatest tragedy and out of them all none of them have ever compared to this most outstanding version of the play. Immediately as soon as you enter the theatre the haze and mist and the sprawling forest set in front of you sets the stage of the Scottish Highlands that this is set in. Out of the blue thunder and lightning explode in the theatre and the play immediately begins. The Witches were magnificent, their costumes which were dark and ragged already made them significantly better than the other two versions I have seen. Their performance was a mixture of Greek and Physical Theatre as they contorted and moved around in the rhythm of the poetic language which they spoke. The lighting was beautiful, when the forest turned to day orange lighting from the back of the stage illuminated the set with the colour of the sunrise and with the moon the beauteous white lighting on the backdrop of the forest really took you in as though you were actually there. The set itself was a spectacle with slits underneath and cracks in the set to pull up tables for the banquet scene at the end of act 1 or simply for the sprawling mist to come out as the witches crawl from underneath the slits in the wood. Macbeth was played brilliantly and as too was Lady Macbeth in a stunning performance as her evil knew no bounds. The costumes were a mixture of old and modern day era. Silks, robes mixed with army pants and singlets with ye olde weapons made for an interesting formula. This is of course Shakespeare's most violent play and the amount of blood throughout made it so. The battle scenes were fantastic and made the heart pound and the relentless pace of the play was wonderful too. There is much to love about this version of Macbeth however the only criticism that could be made was the omission of two scenes of the play which were probably ommitted to shorten the second act of the play to 50 minutes. Still it was a great night and you would be crazy not to see it, it is a spectacular play and the best version of Macbeth I have ever seen.
Rigoletto
Brilliant
ratingratingratingratingrating
Share On Facebook 0
12:05 AM - 26/03/2014
By Nad
Wonderful performance, best I've seen at qpac so far. Everyone of the singers was outstanding, particularly Gilda and Rigoletto. Could see it over and over again!
Macbeth
Macbeth
ratingratingratingratingrating
Share On Facebook 2
5:36 PM - 25/03/2014
By Helen
A powerful and sensational performance last night. Macbeth you were and had the power to play the role superbly. McDuff your emotion at the loss of your chickens bought tears to my eyes. Sisters you were the most innovative and exciting, the whole cast well done. I have seen many Macbeth productions and this was for me spellbinding, excellent background scenery. Tonight believe in yourselves to the very end.
Rigoletto
What a cracker!
ratingratingratingratingrating
Share On Facebook 0
11:26 AM - 21/03/2014
By Jennifer
This is a terrific production of Rigoletto. There's a lot required of opera singers these days - not only are they expected to be great singers and look the part, they have to act as well! And sometimes they have to do all of these things in strange positions. This cast is well up to the task. Elena Xanthoudakis is a delightful and believable Gilda - she made us laugh and cry. Jud Arthur is seriously scary as Sparafucile. The set was fantastic and Lindy Hume has demonstrated why she is such a highly regarded director of opera. Congratulations Opera Queensland.
The Mountaintop
ratingratingratingratingrating
Share On Facebook 0
11:48 AM - 14/03/2014
By Massimo Ficca
We enjoyed this play, the only criticism is we didn’t think it was necessary trying to imitate the American Blacks English. Imagine if the play was in another language, say Italian, how would you have done that?
Brian McKnight
Brian McKnight
ratingratingratingratingrating
Share On Facebook 0
9:04 PM - 11/03/2014
By Chesley
Absolutely amazing!!
Neil Finn - The Dizzy Heights Tour
Great venue!
ratingratingratingratingrating
Share On Facebook 0
8:37 AM - 11/03/2014
By Steven
Awesome venue, great location and everything right where you need it. It was an enjoyable night!
The Mountaintop
Inspirational
ratingratingratingratingrating
Share On Facebook 0
8:05 PM - 10/03/2014
By Liezel
Teaches you that Martin Luther King was just an ordinary man who moved the world to change, a ordinary man who got people to stand up against injustice. a brilliant performance from both Candy Bowers and Pacharo Mzembe.
The Mountaintop
A definite 'YES'
ratingratingratingratingrating
Share On Facebook 0
5:33 PM - 10/03/2014
By Elizabeth Jameson
A funny, significant, thoughtful, crisp one Act play. What a rare treat. Definitely add this to your list.
The Mountaintop
Loved it!
ratingratingratingratingrating
Share On Facebook 2
4:46 PM - 10/03/2014
By Maree from Kenmore
A great show. Moving, telling and funny. An amazing level of detail and care - Candy Bowers and Pacharo Mzembe are a force to be reckoned with. Don't miss it!
The Mountaintop
Not to be missed.
ratingratingratingratingrating
Share On Facebook 0
4:44 PM - 10/03/2014
By Gemima Watt
One of the most outstanding pieces of theatre I have ever seen. Smart writing with a grand and vital message for all of us, outstanding performances, intiricate direction and the production values are sublime. DO NOT MISS THIS SHOW.
The Mountaintop
A must-see
ratingratingratingratingrating
Share On Facebook 0
4:37 PM - 10/03/2014
By Samantha French
This show is one of QTC's best. There is a palpable sense in the air that this might be something more important than just a night out at the theatre. The baton passes on - we all sense that, if inclined, we can make a change. The cast of this production are two larger-than-life characters, and delightful human beings off the stage. Their insight into what matters and what we are so quick to forget is a healthy reminder that all is not right with the world still. Yet this isn't a 'preach it' kind of show. It's humourous, uplifting and lets all of us 'have a dream'. Please get along and see this. The seasaon comes to a close on Sunday - and it would be sad to be one of the people of Brisbane who say " I wish I had seen that show..."
Neil Finn - The Dizzy Heights Tour
Performance
ratingratingratingratingrating
Share On Facebook 0
2:48 PM - 10/03/2014
By Phil Remaili
Great Show by a great entertainer
Neil Finn - The Dizzy Heights Tour
Neil Finn Dizzy Heights
ratingratingratingratingrating
Share On Facebook 0
4:18 PM - 9/03/2014
By Lesley Ordell
I really enjoyed the show, Neil Finn was brilliant as always. One of the best shows I have been to.
Neil Finn - The Dizzy Heights Tour
Consummate Performer
ratingratingratingratingrating
Share On Facebook 0
2:51 PM - 8/03/2014
By Leisa
Legendary singer-songwriter who keeps evolving and challenging his fans - love it! Great night out, just wish there was more room to dance!
Neil Finn - The Dizzy Heights Tour
Just an average Neil Finn show...superb
ratingratingratingratingrating
Share On Facebook 0
10:21 AM - 8/03/2014
By Mike Collins
As usual Mr Finn delivers a couple of hours of wonderful music and amusing repartee. In terms of the venue, I was very impressed with the acoustics. A 5 star evening.
Brian McKnight
outstanding Knight!
ratingratingratingratingrating
Share On Facebook 0
12:26 PM - 3/03/2014
By Steve
He is the consummate professional. God gifted talent and we were lucky to have tickets. His voice is amazing! How he can maintain it throughout the years, is unbelievable!
Looking Through a Glass Onion
Looking through a Glass Onion
ratingratingratingratingrating
Share On Facebook 0
12:04 PM - 3/03/2014
By George Pasinski
Amazing show! John waters trod expertly through John Lennon's Beatle years and his solo career and to also let us in on the unique and wonderful relationship that JL had with Yoko. The heart beat at the end of the performance was skilful and the tension leading to the point of his death was done in such a respectful and personal manner. On such a simple stage to have the lights mirror the performance was truly engaging plus the venue was just superb as you felt like you were part of the performance. Wonderful show great venue 5 out of 5!
Imperial Suite
Imperial Suite
ratingratingratingratingrating
Share On Facebook 0
8:10 AM - 3/03/2014
By David Brassington
I thoroughly enjoyed this performance and was captivated from the opening bar.
Brian McKnight
Brian McKnight
ratingratingratingratingrating
Share On Facebook 0
7:58 AM - 3/03/2014
By Ricky Burton
Awesom Voice. Knows how to work a Crowd. Great Shiw
Looking Through a Glass Onion
Looking Through a Glass Onion
ratingratingratingratingrating
Share On Facebook 0
4:20 PM - 2/03/2014
By Felicity
John Waters and the pianist were very entertaining. The play was intimate and informative. It bought back a lot of memories of growing up in those times. I noticed most of the audience were baby boomers like us reliving their youth.
Looking Through a Glass Onion
Looking Through a Glass Onion
ratingratingratingratingrating
Share On Facebook 0
8:09 AM - 2/03/2014
By Suellen Yavuzer
My husband & I were wowed by the whole story of John Lennons life through his music. Very up close & personal. Kudos to John Waters & Stewart D'Arrietta, they are amazingly talented folk. Thank you, we loved it!
Manon
Manon
ratingratingratingratingrating
Share On Facebook 0
7:03 AM - 2/03/2014
By lesley Power
Outstanding performance particularly by prima ballerina
Looking Through a Glass Onion
Looking Through a Glass Onion
ratingratingratingratingrating
Share On Facebook 0
8:13 PM - 1/03/2014
By Nicole Goodall
Well done Qpac.This was my first visit and I took my father for his Birthday.We both thoughly enjoyed ourselves.Looking forward to ur next visit.
Imperial Suite
Imperial Suire
ratingratingratingratingrating
Share On Facebook 0
10:22 AM - 1/03/2014
By Sandra McLennan
Wonderful first experience at the ballet.
Looking Through a Glass Onion
Looking Through a Glass Onion
ratingratingratingratingrating
Share On Facebook 2
7:37 AM - 1/03/2014
By Cheryl
Loved the show, John and Stewart you did a marvellous job. We wanted more. Everyone just kept clapping and not really wanting to go.
Manon
Manon
ratingratingratingratingrating
Share On Facebook 0
11:27 PM - 23/02/2014
By C. Sellars
A thoroughly enjoyable few hours being entertained by a lavishly dressed cast moving you through a realm of emotions of the lows and highs, tears, joys and laughter that touches the deep core of each one of us to feel our humanness.
Manon
Manon
ratingratingratingratingrating
Share On Facebook 0
10:38 PM - 23/02/2014
By Alexander Collette
Outstanding!!!!
Manon
Stunning Costumes
ratingratingratingratingrating
Share On Facebook 0
11:41 AM - 23/02/2014
By Stacey T
The costumes and setting were stunning. Main dancer (Manon) was very talented. The drunken scene was quite funny :)
Rocky Horror Show
C Grade show
ratingratingratingratingrating
Share On Facebook 0
9:27 PM - 21/02/2014
By aussie
I was there to watch Rocky Horror expecting to see a great performance but I was bitterly disappointed, Craig McLaughlin was pathetic in looks and sound. The professor in the wheelchair had an Australian accent instead of a German one. I really thought the whole thing was very amateur. I am a massive fan of Rocky Horror and I think this shoe destroyed it. Brad and Janet were very good in the show
Rocky Horror Show
Rocky Horror Show
ratingratingratingratingrating
Share On Facebook 2
5:02 PM - 19/02/2014
By Wendy Kidner
Fantastic show, great cast and costumes, would have loved to seen it again!
Rocky Horror Show
The Rocky Horror Show
ratingratingratingratingrating
Share On Facebook 0
5:24 PM - 18/02/2014
By Margaret Snee
Great Show by everyone. Music was wonderful. Craig Mclaclan stole the show though.
At Last – The Etta James Story
Etta James Story
ratingratingratingratingrating
Share On Facebook 0
8:46 AM - 17/02/2014
By Angela
Wonderful performance. Faultless!
The Hollies
Down Memory lane
ratingratingratingratingrating
Share On Facebook 2
4:51 PM - 16/02/2014
By Renate
it was a fantastic concert, took me back 40 years, when I saw The Hollies in Germany. They still have "it"; just loved it
At Last – The Etta James Story
At Last - The Etta James Story
ratingratingratingratingrating
Share On Facebook 0
11:42 AM - 16/02/2014
By Andrew Philips
The Etta James story was an awesome event, picking Vika Bull to do the singing she is an inspiration. The band was excellent, one of the best performances I've been to.
At Last – The Etta James Story
Etta James
ratingratingratingratingrating
Share On Facebook 0
8:12 AM - 16/02/2014
By Bill Hazel
This show was brilliant apart from one aspect. The volume level was too high for Vicka's brilliant voice. It was difficult to understand the words when she sang the louder songs but the ballads were outstanding. The musicians were incredible
Rocky Horror Show
RHPS Review
ratingratingratingratingrating
Share On Facebook 0
4:52 PM - 15/02/2014
By Tracy Allen
World class performance. Brilliant entertainment. Craig was fantastic, Tim Curry would be proud. Drawback: American accent for Dr Scott; character type cast for Magenta not accurate.
At Last – The Etta James Story
Fantastic Show
ratingratingratingratingrating
Share On Facebook 0
12:41 PM - 15/02/2014
By MMorrison
Vika has an AMAZING voice. The show was entertaining but the voice was the clincher. Powerful performance!
At Last – The Etta James Story
At Last, The Etta James Story.
ratingratingratingratingrating
Share On Facebook 0
11:57 AM - 15/02/2014
By Y Thompson
Last night my Husband and I celebrated Valentine's Day by seeing At Last, The Etta James story here at QPAC. We had a wonderful night in the the front row experiencing Vika Bull and her band at their best. The performance by all was exciting and interesting as they took us on an amazing ride through Etta's life and her music and Vika's vocals....AMAZING! Such passion and love. We enjoyed every second as "At Last" holds a special place with my Husband and myself as it was our song for our first dance on our wedding day. Fantastic night with a brilliant show!
Rocky Horror Show
must see
ratingratingratingratingrating
Share On Facebook 0
11:27 AM - 15/02/2014
By robyn grant
highly recommended with many surprises and Craig M makes Frankenferter his own
At Last – The Etta James Story
SUPERB Night Out
ratingratingratingratingrating
Share On Facebook 0
7:09 AM - 15/02/2014
By Sacha Drake
Great entertainers fill us with joy and transport us out of the daily grind into the extraordinary. Vikka Bull's sheer raw talent, and the tight band take you into the world of Motown soul and remind us that true talent always triumphant. A great night out!
Rocky Horror Show
rocky horror show
ratingratingratingratingrating
Share On Facebook 0
9:46 PM - 14/02/2014
By debbie wyatte
cast and the show were well presented, as well as entertaining.
Rocky Horror Show
Rocky Horror Show
ratingratingratingratingrating
Share On Facebook 0
10:49 AM - 14/02/2014
By Debbie Rickertt
The show was great. Craig was so funny with his portrail of Frank. Well done to all the cast.
The Hollies
HOLLIES GREAT
ratingratingratingratingrating
Share On Facebook 2
8:02 PM - 13/02/2014
By Gary Ridgway
2 WORDS SAY IT ALL - ABSOLUTELY FANTASTIC -
Rocky Horror Show
WOW!
ratingratingratingratingrating
Share On Facebook 0
5:09 PM - 13/02/2014
By Helen
Rocky Horror was better than the movie...Loved Craig McLachlan in the lead role...absolutely brilliant...definitely underestimated his talents!!!...it was a delight to watch him "tease" the audience...FANTASTIC and well done to the entire cast.
The Hollies
The Hollies
ratingratingratingratingrating
Share On Facebook 2
12:37 PM - 13/02/2014
By Michael & Joan Fulham
Great Show! Great Memories of the songs/music that is now becoming part of "THE GOLDEN OLDIES" very enjoyable evening. Michael's favourite group ever!
The Hollies
The Hollies
ratingratingratingratingrating
Share On Facebook 2
7:11 PM - 12/02/2014
By Owen mayhew
Superb show
The Hollies
Brisbane Show
ratingratingratingratingrating
Share On Facebook 5
3:48 PM - 12/02/2014
By SB
Fantastic!! Really enjoyed the show, my sister and I had been last year as well and loved that the audience seemed more lively and enjoying the show this time round, front row seats made it a great experience, hope The Hollies return to Brisbane soon.
Rocky Horror Show
Rocky Horror Show
ratingratingratingratingrating
Share On Facebook 0
1:31 PM - 12/02/2014
By Bev Visona
Both of us thoroughly enjoyed the show, I had never seen before but would go again in a flash. Craig brought his own style to it.
The Hollies
Hollies Concert
ratingratingratingratingrating
Share On Facebook 2
12:47 PM - 12/02/2014
By Roslyn Donnelly
Lovely to hear the enduring favourites sung so well by talented singers and musicians. The Hollies played the whole program without the need for any support act. I loved it!
The Hollies
The Hollies
ratingratingratingratingrating
Share On Facebook 4
10:59 AM - 12/02/2014
By Jude
Fantastic Concert. Got goose bumps when they sang 'Too Young To Be Married'
Rocky Horror Show
Rocky Horror
ratingratingratingratingrating
Share On Facebook 0
9:11 AM - 12/02/2014
By Stephen Wright
Amazing. they were absolutely fantastic AAA+
The Hollies
The Hollies Brisbane Concert
ratingratingratingratingrating
Share On Facebook 0
8:17 AM - 12/02/2014
By Lex Trotter
Very disappointing. Expected lots of old hits but got mainly other rubbish - and that's not just my opinion!! The audience loved it when they played a couple of consecutive hits during the first half but they immediately reverted to the rubbish to promote their new album. They also need to talk to their sound man. Even though they are very accomplished musicians, their great voices were often drowned out by the guitars, keyboard and boring drummer. Won't be going to another of their shows. P.S. And keep that bogan roadie off the stage
Rocky Horror Show
Girls Day Out at Rocky Horror Show
ratingratingratingratingrating
Share On Facebook 0
4:17 PM - 11/02/2014
By Sallie Toohill
First time I had taken my three daughters to the theatre together, was a fantastic afternoon out. Couldn't have picked a better show for us all! Craig McLaughlin was brilliant as was the rest of the cast!
Rocky Horror Show
The Rocky Horror Show
ratingratingratingratingrating
Share On Facebook 0
9:07 AM - 11/02/2014
By Bernadette Matthews
Thoroughly entertaining. Excellent performance by all, and a most wonderful experience. The cast & crew did a tremendous job - incredible talent. Thank you!
Rocky Horror Show
Rocky Horror
ratingratingratingratingrating
Share On Facebook 1
11:11 PM - 10/02/2014
By Leanne
Very entertaining and funny
Rocky Horror Show
Rocky Horror Picture Show
ratingratingratingratingrating
Share On Facebook 0
8:03 PM - 10/02/2014
By Gemma Jones
The show was brilliant!! Craig McLachlan was the best Frankenfurter I have ever seen in 26 years of seeing the show. He made the role his own and I don't think anyone could ever outdo him!! "Brad's" singing was also devine!! A must see performance!!!
Rocky Horror Show
Rocky Horror Show
ratingratingratingratingrating
Share On Facebook 0
7:30 PM - 10/02/2014
By Debra Riedy
great show
Rocky Horror Show
Rocky Horror Picture Show
ratingratingratingratingrating
Share On Facebook 0
6:30 PM - 10/02/2014
By Jacki
Brilliant!! Cast was fabulous as was the show. Would see it again...
Rocky Horror Show
Rorror horror Show
ratingratingratingratingrating
Share On Facebook 0
3:50 PM - 10/02/2014
By Danielle Davis
Amazing....I knew all the music but had never seen before . Shame it was the last night, would have come back again.Craig Mclaughlan stole the show.Could have watched him all night!
Rocky Horror Show
Rocky Horror
ratingratingratingratingrating
Share On Facebook 0
3:25 PM - 10/02/2014
By Linda Loder
Totally awesome show all round! Craig McLaughlin was so fantastic! Loved it!!
Rocky Horror Show
Oh, Rocky...
ratingratingratingratingrating
Share On Facebook 0
3:11 PM - 10/02/2014
By Judy
Great bedroom scenes, very funny. This show is always entertaining. Loved it...again!
Rocky Horror Show
Rocky Horror Show
ratingratingratingratingrating
Share On Facebook 0
3:08 PM - 10/02/2014
By Peter Goodman
Thoroughly enjoyed, Craig McLachlan was fantastic. I have seen every Rocky Horror stage show that has been created. This was by far the best.
Rocky Horror Show
Rocky Horror
ratingratingratingratingrating
Share On Facebook 0
2:35 PM - 10/02/2014
By Dale Gill
Fantastic Show Worth every penny
Rocky Horror Show
Fantastic!!
ratingratingratingratingrating
Share On Facebook 0
2:31 PM - 10/02/2014
By Margie
What a fantastic show!! Absolutely wonderful..... if the Brisbane season wasn't over we would have gone back to see it again!! Loved every minute of it !
Rocky Horror Show
Rocky Horror Show
ratingratingratingratingrating
Share On Facebook 0
12:52 PM - 10/02/2014
By Kett Family
Was awesome the whole family loved it!!
Rocky Horror Show
Rocky Horror - Stood the test of time..
ratingratingratingratingrating
Share On Facebook 0
12:34 PM - 10/02/2014
By Carol Klippelt
This was my first visit at The Lyric theatre QPAC, I saw the Rocky Horror show which was just amazing, it stood the test of time, and it lost none of its appeal.. the cast did an amazing job, especially Craig Mc Lachlan he was fantastic as Frank n Furter,he would really play up to the audience, and he made the role his own, the music, and the singing were brilliant, and if you grew up with Rocky Horror, like I did, or even if you didn't, and your thinking of going, you will not be disappointed. Your in for the time of your life..
Rocky Horror Show
Rocky Horror Show
ratingratingratingratingrating
Share On Facebook 0
11:36 AM - 10/02/2014
By Jody
The show was fantastic! Very funny add libs and Craig McLachlan is awesome!
Rocky Horror Show
Rocky Horror
ratingratingratingratingrating
Share On Facebook 0
10:36 AM - 10/02/2014
By Andrew
brilliant, great cast
Rocky Horror Show
Rocky Horror
ratingratingratingratingrating
Share On Facebook 0
9:57 AM - 10/02/2014
By Mark Allen
Great Night, Great Show, but the Band killed the Vocals, it was so hard to hear everyone singing, over the band, down a notch or two and it would have been great!
Rocky Horror Show
Rocky Horror
ratingratingratingratingrating
Share On Facebook 2
9:05 AM - 10/02/2014
By John
Great show - one of the best
Rocky Horror Show
Outstanding show
ratingratingratingratingrating
Share On Facebook 0
7:40 AM - 10/02/2014
By Dale
Fantastic cast, loved everything about it. Just brilliant!! How good is Craig McLachlan. He mad us shiver with anticipation!!!!
Rocky Horror Show
Rocky Horror: AMAZING
ratingratingratingratingrating
Share On Facebook 0
6:23 PM - 9/02/2014
By Megan
Best show! Would see it again! MUST SEE! Craig was a barrel of laughs! XD
Rocky Horror Show
Rocky horror show 10out of 10
ratingratingratingratingrating
Share On Facebook 0
5:02 PM - 9/02/2014
By Erin
Best show I have seen, thank you to all of the performers.
Rocky Horror Show
Rocky Horror Show
ratingratingratingratingrating
Share On Facebook 0
4:32 PM - 9/02/2014
By Kathryn Hagan
Absolutely fantastic.
Rocky Horror Show
Great afternoon at the Lyric
ratingratingratingratingrating
Share On Facebook 0
2:26 PM - 9/02/2014
By Ros
The Rocky Horror show was great fun and took me back 40 years when I first saw it at Glebe. The booking service through QPAC was excellent. Fantastic venue at Southbank,
Rocky Horror Show
Rocky Horror Show
ratingratingratingratingrating
Share On Facebook 0
12:43 PM - 9/02/2014
By Elizabeth Moore
Great entertainment. This was a fantastic show with a great cast. Go and see it you wont be disappointed.
Rocky Horror Show
Rocky Horror
ratingratingratingratingrating
Share On Facebook 0
12:00 PM - 9/02/2014
By col
The theatre got progressively animated as the "time warp" beat got bottoms and arms moving in the seat.. A more open audience appreciated the gay innuendo. A more lit-up set was used than I last recall at Her Majesty's or the movie production.. I think we do need to see more lighting on the band slaving away above the set instead of down in a pit! Congratulations for proving ROCKY is a time capsule to be visited very 3 years.
QLD Pops – Celtic Celebration - St Patrick meets Robbie Burns
Celtic Celebration
ratingratingratingratingrating
Share On Facebook 0
11:27 AM - 9/02/2014
By Jan Guerin
Great concert - great artists - sorry it ended
Rocky Horror Show
Brilliant
ratingratingratingratingrating
Share On Facebook 0
11:59 PM - 8/02/2014
By Shane Canning
Craig McLaughlin owns the character. What a performance! First show I've wanted to see twice.
Rocky Horror Show
Rocky horror show
ratingratingratingratingrating
Share On Facebook 0
6:01 PM - 8/02/2014
By Margy
Loved it, loved it, loved it!
Rocky Horror Show
Rocky horror show
ratingratingratingratingrating
Share On Facebook 0
12:32 PM - 8/02/2014
By Karen Patterson
It was a fantastic show.Craig McLachlan was awesome,made the show.The rest of the cast were great.
Rocky Horror Show
ratingratingratingratingrating
Share On Facebook 0
9:17 PM - 7/02/2014
By Bethj
Best version of rocky horror I've seen, would recommend it highly
Rocky Horror Show
Rocky Horror Show
ratingratingratingratingrating
Share On Facebook 0
5:32 PM - 7/02/2014
By Maree Kancelarczyk
It was a fabulous show. The cast was brilliant and the audience was great. Loved it!!
Rocky Horror Show
Great Show
ratingratingratingratingrating
Share On Facebook 0
8:22 PM - 6/02/2014
By Michael
This performance was as good if not better than the original show that I saw in Melbourne in the late 70's
Rocky Horror Show
Rocky Horror
ratingratingratingratingrating
Share On Facebook 0
6:28 PM - 6/02/2014
By Melissa
what an amazing show, was really surprised by the amazing performances by all the actors, they all had wonderful voices. And the show was funny which made it even better.
Rocky Horror Show
Rocky horror
ratingratingratingratingrating
Share On Facebook 4
6:12 PM - 6/02/2014
By Garth Astill
Very amateur, poor sets, woeful mixing couldn't distinguish the lyrics and that feedback came from whole family. Not worth $100. Lead role volume lower than music so drowned out. Brad was singing flat. And guys you need a larger stage. The Gold Coast centre has a larger stage its embarrassing. We pay the same as Sydney for cut down set.
Rocky Horror Show
Rocky mmm maybe!
ratingratingratingratingrating
Share On Facebook 0
4:40 PM - 6/02/2014
By Brian thompson
Craig was slap happy with some of the key lines in the show, the song I'm going home was sung with no deph and with no heart felt emotions. The sets were so basic and set changes few! apart from all that the singing was great and the band excellent.
Rocky Horror Show
Frankenfurter Stole the Show!
ratingratingratingratingrating
Share On Facebook 0
12:42 PM - 6/02/2014
By Dona
Brilliant show! Very funny and constantly entertained the entire crowd. The live band and vocals from the actors was fantastic. Craig was amazing as Frankenfurter - He really stole the show! Highly recommend it to anyone keen for a laugh!
Rocky Horror Show
Rocy Horror
ratingratingratingratingrating
Share On Facebook 0
12:34 PM - 6/02/2014
By Vicki Johnston
Show was fantastic. Cast wonderful Craig McLachlan was so right for the part. Took a young girl to show with us that had never seen live theatre and she can not wait to go again.
Rocky Horror Show
Rocky Horror Show
ratingratingratingratingrating
Share On Facebook 0
12:06 PM - 6/02/2014
By Disappointed Rocky Horror Fan
Atmosphere was poor and so was props. Craig McLachlan was excellent. Some support acts were average. Overall disappointed.
Rocky Horror Show
Rocky horror.
ratingratingratingratingrating
Share On Facebook 0
11:32 PM - 5/02/2014
By Mary Ann Harris
What's not to love! Funny as and doing the time warp in the lyric theatre ama--aa-zing say it say it :) haha
Rocky Horror Show
Rocky Horror
ratingratingratingratingrating
Share On Facebook 0
11:29 PM - 5/02/2014
By Gale H
Show was fantastic. Craig was awesome as Frank-n-Furter, so funny. Whole cast was great.
Rocky Horror Show
Mad if you miss it!
ratingratingratingratingrating
Share On Facebook 0
6:24 PM - 5/02/2014
By Deborah Hanson
It was an excellent experience. ALL the cast was amazing.
Rocky Horror Show
Rocky Horror Show
ratingratingratingratingrating
Share On Facebook 0
5:00 PM - 5/02/2014
By Helen Penberthy
Amazing show and ALL the cast did a great job. This is the third time I have seen the show live.
Rocky Horror Show
Rocky Horror Show
ratingratingratingratingrating
Share On Facebook 0
1:28 PM - 5/02/2014
By Angela Blakemore
Had my doubts after Craig's performance on the Footy Show.... But... After seeing this, I am very impressed with his singing & comedy. A very talanted man & Great Performer! Great Show all round, would highly recommend going.
Rocky Horror Show
Rocky Horror Show Brisbane
ratingratingratingratingrating
Share On Facebook 0
11:09 AM - 5/02/2014
By Jenny M
Attended the 4/02/14 session. Excellent show. Craig McLaughlin was a stand out but a good cast overall. Funny and thoroughly enjoyable.
Rocky Horror Show
I'm a muscle fan!!
ratingratingratingratingrating
Share On Facebook 0
6:56 AM - 5/02/2014
By Renee
After watching the movie hundreds of times, I was a little sceptical about seeing the stage version. I absolutely loved every bit, the added humour and outstanding performances by all the cast made it an awesome night! Excellent, I would totally recommend it.
Rocky Horror Show
awsome
ratingratingratingratingrating
Share On Facebook 0
8:40 PM - 4/02/2014
By Sandy Fox
The show was fantastic. They are truly talented singers dancers and actors.
Rocky Horror Show
What a fabulous show!!
ratingratingratingratingrating
Share On Facebook 0
10:41 AM - 4/02/2014
By Jennifer Reilly
Yes, I saw it at the movies in the 70's, but the live version, starring the irrepressible Craig McLachlan, was really well done!! The entire cast were amazing, but Craig stole the show with his suitably over-the-top campy rendition!! Love, love, loved it!!!
Rocky Horror Show
What a show!
ratingratingratingratingrating
Share On Facebook 0
8:56 AM - 4/02/2014
By Carmel C.
Fantastic! The cast did a wonderful job and would see it again in a heartbeat!
Rocky Horror Show
Rocky Horror Show
ratingratingratingratingrating
Share On Facebook 0
7:46 AM - 4/02/2014
By Skye
Awesome show - thanks to all of the actors and to Qpac for hosting the event. Will definitely be recommending it to others
Rocky Horror Show
Rocky horror rocks!!!!
ratingratingratingratingrating
Share On Facebook 0
10:18 PM - 3/02/2014
By Claire Purcell
Absolutely fantastic performance. It is a MUST see before it finishes! Awesome night out with lots of laughs and fab music to go with it.
Rocky Horror Show
Rocky Horror
ratingratingratingratingrating
Share On Facebook 0
8:46 PM - 3/02/2014
By Kerry Jazowy
Rocky Horror Show
rocky horror
ratingratingratingratingrating
Share On Facebook 0
8:43 PM - 3/02/2014
By nicholas uren
a fantastic performance by all enjoyed the show from the very beginning to the very last second recommend it to everyone.
Rocky Horror Show
Outstanding
ratingratingratingratingrating
Share On Facebook 0
7:29 PM - 3/02/2014
By Michael & Deb
We saw the Rocky Horror Show yesterday 2/2/14 and it was absolutely amazing. The entire cast were brilliant but Craig McLachlan as "Frank" definately stole the show. He certainly was a sweet tranvestite and you could tell he was having way too much fun. Thankyou to the cast, crew and everyonbe involved.
Rocky Horror Show
Rocky Horror Show
ratingratingratingratingrating
Share On Facebook 0
6:56 PM - 3/02/2014
By Margaret Kilkeary
Great experience. Craig was outstanding and all support cast members were of a high quality. Had a great time.
Rocky Horror Show
It's' astounding!
ratingratingratingratingrating
Share On Facebook 0
6:21 PM - 3/02/2014
By Carla Sherwell
Was a great show! Nervously, took my stepsons as this was their first live performance and they loved it... Would recommend anybody and everybody to see it.
Rocky Horror Show
Rocky horror
ratingratingratingratingrating
Share On Facebook 0
5:58 PM - 3/02/2014
By Greg Sheppard
Loved it had a great time
Rocky Horror Show
FUN FANTASTIC ENTERTAINING
ratingratingratingratingrating
Share On Facebook 0
3:08 PM - 3/02/2014
By Justine
What a fun show!!! Great music, funny and very entertaining. Craig Maclachlan was superb as Frankenfurter. I would go again!!
Rocky Horror Show
Rocky Horror Show
ratingratingratingratingrating
Share On Facebook 0
1:24 PM - 3/02/2014
By Kerry Cooke
Very good
Rocky Horror Show
Rocky Horror
ratingratingratingratingrating
Share On Facebook 0
1:11 PM - 3/02/2014
By Angela
Absolutely Fantastic!!!!!!
Rocky Horror Show
Rocky Horror Picture Show - Brisbane (QPAC)
ratingratingratingratingrating
Share On Facebook 0
12:22 PM - 3/02/2014
By DEBORAH ATHERTON
AWESOME SHOW!!!!!!! i WANT TO GO AND SEE IT AGAIN - VERY FUNNY - HAD LOTS FOR FUN!!
Rocky Horror Show
One of the best shows I have seen
ratingratingratingratingrating
Share On Facebook 0
12:16 PM - 3/02/2014
By Neryl
This performance just blew us away. Craig McLaughlan was brilliant by far the best Frank N Furter,as were all the cast A fantastic experience I feel sorry for those who missed it
Rocky Horror Show
ratingratingratingratingrating
Share On Facebook 0
12:06 PM - 3/02/2014
By Leanne McMahon
Rocky Horror Show
Rocky Horror
ratingratingratingratingrating
Share On Facebook 0
11:33 AM - 3/02/2014
By TK
Loved the show! The cast were all fantastic however Frank (Craig McLachlan) stole the show. He's interaction with the audience was cool! He can certainly pull off a suspender belt and heels!
Rocky Horror Show
Awesome Show
ratingratingratingratingrating
Share On Facebook 0
11:32 AM - 3/02/2014
By Malcolm
Saw Rocky Horror. The entire performance was well worth the money, but Craig McClaughlan as FNF was just outstanding !!!!!
Rocky Horror Show
Rocky Horror Show
ratingratingratingratingrating
Share On Facebook 0
11:13 AM - 3/02/2014
By Dee Kelly
This is an AMAZING performance. I have been a fan of this show since I was at school and this is the 2nd time I have seen it performed live. All the cast were fantastic, especially Craig McLaughlin, we were crying because we were laughing so much. We laughed, danced and cheered from our seats. Absolutely a fantastic show, 1 that we will remember. Thanks
Rocky Horror Show
Doing the Time Warp
ratingratingratingratingrating
Share On Facebook 0
9:40 AM - 3/02/2014
By Shaayaal Cameron
Craig Mclachlan's peformance was fantastic. It was like watching Tim Curry's original performance. Yet Craig brough his own magic to the role. The cast brought the entire audience into the show with a lot of 4th wall humour. In my humble opinion it was a stellar success. Bravo!
Rocky Horror Show
Rocky Horror Picture Show
ratingratingratingratingrating
Share On Facebook 0
10:55 PM - 2/02/2014
By I Burton
Had everything - singing, dancing, drama and COMEDY!
Rocky Horror Show
ROCKY HORROR
ratingratingratingratingrating
Share On Facebook 0
10:50 PM - 2/02/2014
By JACKIE RISK
Having seen this on stage several times in Uk over the years I can honestly say this was one of the best. I laughed and sang all the way through and thought the cast were fabulous, Wish I could have gone every week.
Rocky Horror Show
Rocky Horror
ratingratingratingratingrating
Share On Facebook 0
10:49 PM - 2/02/2014
By Emma Charles
WOW WOW WOW what can I say this was the best show I have ever been too...Craig Mclauclan was brilliant as Frankenfurter !!! If it was here longer I would go again !!
Rocky Horror Show
Rocky Horror
ratingratingratingratingrating
Share On Facebook 0
9:12 PM - 2/02/2014
By Robyn Fellowes
Fantastic, fun and Craig McLaughlin was absolutely brilliant. Would see anything he appeared in
Rocky Horror Show
Rocky Horror
ratingratingratingratingrating
Share On Facebook 0
6:56 PM - 2/02/2014
By Jodie Cockerill
Great show loved the atmosphere
Rocky Horror Show
Oh rocky!
ratingratingratingratingrating
Share On Facebook 0
6:50 PM - 2/02/2014
By Gabbie
OH ROCKY! it was truley spectacular. Hilarious and sexy. Loved ever second of it.
Rocky Horror Show
Rocky Horror Show
ratingratingratingratingrating
Share On Facebook 0
4:26 PM - 2/02/2014
By Tracy
Excellent show. The cast were absolutely amazing/. Would recommend seeing this amazing performance and I'm considering going again. Thanks to everyone for a very entertaining afternoon
Rocky Horror Show
Rocky Horror
ratingratingratingratingrating
Share On Facebook 0
3:27 PM - 2/02/2014
By Cristin Smith
Vocals of both Brad Janet and Columbia were lovely to listen to however Craig Mclaughlan's antics spoke volumes. He certainly had the audience by the short and curly's.
Rocky Horror Show
Great show and night
ratingratingratingratingrating
Share On Facebook 0
2:41 PM - 2/02/2014
By Pat Maguire
First time to a musical of any sort so did not know what to expect, all I can say is this wont be the last time , thoroughly enjoyed the show and the theatre itself what a room. Great atmosphere with excellent acoustics and great facilities such as bar, restaurant, cafe etc Do yourself a big favour if you havent seen the Rocky Horror stage show its a must see
Rocky Horror Show
Rocky Horror Show
ratingratingratingratingrating
Share On Facebook 0
2:31 PM - 2/02/2014
By Esther Woodward
Saw the movie in 1975, have loved it ever since. This is the first time I have seen a theatre production, Craig McLaughlin owned the part. Loved it!
Rocky Horror Show
Rocky Horror Show
ratingratingratingratingrating
Share On Facebook 0
2:13 PM - 2/02/2014
By Nan Morrice
Fantastic
Rocky Horror Show
Rocky Horror Picture Show
ratingratingratingratingrating
Share On Facebook 0
1:51 PM - 2/02/2014
By Allana Bichel
Absolutely loved the show. Could not ask for better. All the actors/actresses were totally excellent.
Australia Day
Australians can laugh at ourselves
ratingratingratingratingrating
Share On Facebook 0
12:56 PM - 2/02/2014
By Ngaire McGaw
One of the best things about Australians is the way we can laugh at ourselves - this outstanding show proves that it can even apply to some of the most awkward topics. What a joy Australia Day is, especially at this particular moment in time.
Rocky Horror Show
LETS DO THE TIME WARP AGAIN & AGAIN
ratingratingratingratingrating
Share On Facebook 0
12:33 PM - 2/02/2014
By Karina Velenski
Amazing and fantastic from start to finish. Craig McLachlan and his quirky walk, his audience participation and singing ability makes the show so much fun and memorable. Seriously one of the bed shows I have seen at QPAC and would go again!! Thank you for the wonderful experience.
Rocky Horror Show
OMG!
ratingratingratingratingrating
Share On Facebook 0
12:21 AM - 2/02/2014
By Mary from Boonah
What a night!! Craig, you rock! I was laughing & singing all the way. What a fantastic talented bunch you are. Would go & see you again & again! Thank you.
Rocky Horror Show
Rocky Horror
ratingratingratingratingrating
Share On Facebook 2
5:14 PM - 1/02/2014
By Trish
This was the first time I have ever been to QPAC and it was a great experience. The staff were very helpful and friendly. Thanks for such great seats. It was worth the trip and expenses to come from Rockhampton to see the Rocky Horror show .
Rocky Horror Show
Rocky Horror Show
ratingratingratingratingrating
Share On Facebook 0
5:06 PM - 1/02/2014
By Amanda
One of the best musicals you will see. A great cast.....extremely entertaining and the voices were fantastic.
Rocky Horror Show
Rocky Horror
ratingratingratingratingrating
Share On Facebook 0
9:24 AM - 1/02/2014
By Louise Pearce
Was fantastic!! Would see it again in a heartbeat!
Rocky Horror Show
Rocky Horror - Not to be missed
ratingratingratingratingrating
Share On Facebook 0
11:04 PM - 31/01/2014
By Paul Evans, McKays
An excellent cast that clearly enjoy the roles makes this the must see show so far this year.
Australia Day
Australia Day
ratingratingratingratingrating
Share On Facebook 0
9:35 PM - 31/01/2014
By Kim Wallace
I was pretty disappointed by this. The script was very predictable and didn't give the otherwise talented cast much to work with. It really expected more from our state's theatre company. As others have said it seemed a little amateurish in its production values and overall look/appeal.
Queensland Government

© 2014 Queensland Performing Arts Centre All rights reserved