Queensland Performing Arts Centre

QPAC Event Reviews

Event Review Score Genre
Write a Review
A Very Special SOLO Evening with Joan Armatrading
Legendary
ratingratingratingratingrating
Share On Facebook 0
6:07 PM - 14/05/2015
By Robb E
A saw Joan Armatrading at The Tivoli during her previous Australian tour, with a full backing band. It was fantastic, we had a blast! This show was really something else. Joan was her usual relaxed, easy-going self, her casual and honest demeanour is so refreshing, her stories are so interesting and tell us just how much she is appreciated around the world and what a full life she has lived, so far, yet she still seems surprised by it all. So, this time it was just Joan, a piano/keyboard and a couple of guitars. If you don't think you're familiar with her work, and you are over 40, you will be amazed at how many of her songs you remember. If you are younger, you will have undoubtedly heard a few of her classics on the radio or in your parent's music collection. Joan is not only one of the most soulful and gorgeous singer-songwriters of the modern age, she is a master guitarist. She rocked out some songs, giving the sound illusion of a three piece band with a strong sense of rhythm and multiple layers of guitar chords, with just one guitar and her voice. Then, she would allow your ears to recover whilst she gently tinkled the ivories and soothed the audience with a delightful, meaningful ballad. I used to like Joan Armatrading's songs in the 70's and 80's but seeing her perform live has really made me appreciate this incredible woman as an artist, storyteller and an excellent musician.
Bjorn Again - 25th Anniversary Concert
Thankyou For The Music.
ratingratingratingratingrating
Share On Facebook 0
5:48 PM - 14/05/2015
By Robb E
During their 25 years of touring and performing around the world, I have seen Bjorn Again's shows 5 times, including a night at the Sydney Opera House and one evening at the Sydney 2000 Olympic Park. They just seem to get better with time, ageless and ever-enthusiastic. This concert, I was fortunate (and quick) enough to get front row seats, directly in front of Benny. During the show, I seemed to catch Frida's eye as well as Benny's and we had such a fabba-ulous time, I almost felt as though it was a private show, just for me, especially when I made Frida laugh so hard she almost miss her queue at one point during a song. The crowd was most appreciative of their performance, singing along, cheering and laughing at their usual Swedish jokes and antics, totally enjoying the amount of interaction and audience participation. The track list, provided over two hours of back to back hits, still proving as popular today as they were all those years ago. A few surprises from Benny and Bjorn showing us their true musical ability and range (while the two A's had costume changes) were very well received, especially when they broke into a little Bon Jovi. Lots of attendees were dressed in their best 70's and ABBA outfits (at least I don't THINK that's how they normal go out!), which added greatly to the electric atmosphere. I was lucky enough to score a mirrorball faux-microphone from Frida during the show and a drumstick from their amazing drummer as they left the stage. A few months later and it feels like I was there just a few weeks ago. If you get another chance to see Bjorn Again, the biggest, most successful tribute act in the world, acknowledged and approved by ABBA themselves, do yourself a favour and grab those tickets!!
LA SOIRÉE
La Soirée a must to see...
ratingratingratingratingrating
Share On Facebook 0
7:32 AM - 8/05/2015
By Kerry
From the moment you enter the venue...the fun starts... Absolutely amazing show, one of the best I have seen in a long time. Laughed, cheered and clapped all night. Thanks so much.
QPAC 30 Anniversary Exhibition
Very educational
ratingratingratingratingrating
Share On Facebook 0
1:16 PM - 4/05/2015
By Jennifer
I particularly loved the really early memorabilia including insights into the original Cremorne Theatre. Makes me feel proud of the development of performing arts in Brisbane.
Brisbane
Fantastic
ratingratingratingratingrating
Share On Facebook 0
7:54 PM - 30/04/2015
By Amy
My senior drama class went together to see this production and we were all mesmerized! The set and props were amazing, and the lighting design was beautiful and was utilized well. It truly felt like we were experiencing Brisbane during the war-era through the eyes of a 14 year old boy. Iain Sinclair, Matthew Ryan and the entire cast did a fantastic job, well done!
Brisbane
Reguards from Bracken Ridge Highschool
ratingratingratingratingrating
Share On Facebook 0
7:03 PM - 29/04/2015
By Usamah Qureshi
It was bloody amazing, had a good chat with Dash, loved the acting of penny, didn't want it to end, love the work fellas
Lunchtime Live
BUMS
ratingratingratingratingrating
Share On Facebook 0
12:53 PM - 29/04/2015
By Kate
BUMS were great! Lovely weather, great tunes, perfect excuse to leave the office over lunch!
Cosentino
Cosentino, The Autistic World, Staff at Lyric
ratingratingratingratingrating
Share On Facebook 0
12:05 PM - 25/04/2015
By Tanya Nielson
The show was quite simply amazing. It was funny, entertaining, dynamic, engaging, terrifying, suspenseful... did I mention funny? But whilst this review is titled Cosentino it is actually more about the overall experience for us as a family. We have a son (we have two actually). This son is tall, handsome, funny, smart and on the autism spectrum. He is 17 and is diagnosed with Asperger Syndrome. (I know, I know... DSM V has done a magic trick and **poof** Asperger's suddenly supposedly does not exist as its own diagnosis anymore but for us after 14 years it ain't so black and white. Though my boy still is. Very.) Add into this recent health issues creating major panic attacks, and sensory overload anxiety issues and we have a mother on tenterhooks with any family outing, let alone one with flashing lights, loud music, explosions and crowds. When I bought the tickets we had not entered the arena of fear we are now living in, but even so it was still an unpredictable outcome we could not pre-empt. Now, from the first contact in buying these tickets through Q-Tix the staff made me want to cry. Now, yes, lately this is something I do a lot of, but back then in Feb I was a little less emotionally volcanic so for this to happen it meant something out of the ordinary had occurred... unequivocal, absolutely unmistakeable support and a wish to make our rare night out a success. From working on where we sat (in case we needed to get out fast), to having the upstairs enclosed room available for a quieter, distanced, less sensory option for our whole group, to the kindness and sincerity of all staff involved. Wow. As we entered the theatre through door 4 I went (as I always do) to explain to the staff member there that we may need to... I did not have to complete my sentence. She smiled, touched my arm, and said "Don't worry. We know all about your boy and are at the ready to help. We have the room held if you need to use it at any point in the performance." Don't worry. We know your boy... Do you get how a weight lifted from me in that instant? How much I wanted to hug her, cheer, even do a little dance if only my bodgy knees would permit? For it is such a different world we deal with daily, it is not an easy path (though my boy is kinda awesome and I love him for who he is), and the constant explanations, adjustments, being alert, smoothing the way and yet encouraging him to push those harsh boundaries and experience the brilliance of life without having him shut down because it overwhelms and I shoved too hard... wears you. So thank you. It seems so inadequate those 3 little words, but please understand they come from the heart. Sincerely thank YOU.
Brisbane
BRISBANE
ratingratingratingratingrating
Share On Facebook 2
1:12 AM - 15/04/2015
By Christian
Went and saw BRISBANE and I found it amazing to watch and I was blown away by the stage design and props they used throughout the production and i would definitely recommend it!
Wicked
Wicked show, Wicked Service
ratingratingratingratingrating
Share On Facebook 0
3:00 PM - 14/04/2015
By Sheree Otto
I came in to see Wicked on Sun 12th April for the 6.30pm show with my fiancé. The show was amazing but what really made my night was how delightful two of the ushers were, Caitlin & Karen. I was having shoe troubles & they both went above & beyond to help me without making an issue of it. It's this small attention to detail with their smiling faces that can be really rare to find these days. Well done ladies! Looking forward to going there again soon. Keep up the great work. Regards Sheree
Nana Mouskouri – Farewell Tour
As Great as Ever
ratingratingratingratingrating
Share On Facebook 0
10:19 AM - 13/04/2015
By Rod and Kath Brown
We had the pleasure of being at Festival Hall 40 years ago and the concert last Thursday was a joyous reminder of how marvellous Nana still is at giving her audience a memorable evening of delightful entertainment. Her rendition of "Amazing Grace" is still running through my head. Thank-you Nana.
Wicked
Spectacular
ratingratingratingratingrating
Share On Facebook 2
5:08 PM - 12/04/2015
By Nadja
Elphaa was amazing and so was Glinda, well done to the entire cast of this performance, thank so you much for such a beautiful show
Wicked
AMAZING
ratingratingratingratingrating
Share On Facebook 0
11:55 AM - 11/04/2015
By Bex
TOTALLY BRILLIANT. From the set to costumes to music to acting. FANTASTIC SHOW.
Ross Noble - Tangentleman
Tangentleman
ratingratingratingratingrating
Share On Facebook 0
9:10 PM - 30/03/2015
By karen.klo
Really thought we were in for a good night, however very disappointed. Jokes were weak and felt Ross was filling in time and trying to get a few laughs. We won't be seeing him again.
QB's La Sylphide
Moving and Beautiful
ratingratingratingratingrating
Share On Facebook 0
2:11 PM - 30/03/2015
By Alys
I love ballet and I love plays and this was such a mixture of both. I particularly loved the second part with all of the dancing in the woods. It was wonderful.
Sinead O’Connor - I'm Not Bossy I'm The Boss
Amazing to see her
ratingratingratingratingrating
Share On Facebook 0
2:09 PM - 30/03/2015
By Alys
I loved the show but in the beginning it was hard to hear her voice above the music. I could have listened to her alnight without any music. She did sing my favourites though and it was wonderful.
Wicked
Amazing Wicked Show
ratingratingratingratingrating
Share On Facebook 0
2:06 PM - 30/03/2015
By Alys
This show was incredible. From the music, the singing to the wonderul costumes. I did not know what to look at - it was such a feast and a delight to watch. I would recommend it to anyone.
Pirates of Penzance
Pirates
ratingratingratingratingrating
Share On Facebook 2
9:02 PM - 29/03/2015
By Helen
My grandson Joel (5) and I attended Pirates. He and I have played pirates since he was2+ while at times I would sing an off-key version of some of the songs. He loved the show and said the songs were "better version Nan than yours ". He was however rather taken back that the pirates were so silly. "Pirates are fierce and they can kill you" he whispered rather shocked at such directorial liberties. We both loved the Pirate King. Would anyone have a spare program I can give him as I forgot to buy him one.
Pirates of Penzance
Pirates of Penzance
ratingratingratingratingrating
Share On Facebook 2
1:52 PM - 29/03/2015
By Kate
Amazing! Loved every second. It was my 10yr old and 7yr old boys first theater production and they are still talking about it 7 days later.
Wicked
Phenomenal
ratingratingratingratingrating
Share On Facebook 0
9:26 PM - 25/03/2015
By Laura Grieve
This show left me breathless, and the people working that night we so kind and helpful, i would love to work there i can tell it would be amazing. Every show i have seen at QPAC was AMAZING.
Pirates of Penzance
The Pirates of Penzance
ratingratingratingratingrating
Share On Facebook 0
7:26 PM - 22/03/2015
By Val Millican
Just arrived home after a fabulous afternoon at "The Pirates". I have seen many productions of this my favourite G&S classic, however, I rate today's production as one of the best. The cast were so very enthusiastic, and seemed to be really enjoying themselves. Thanks to all concerned. What show next?
Pirates of Penzance
Really good
ratingratingratingratingrating
Share On Facebook 0
6:25 PM - 21/03/2015
By Kay
It was just as good as the first and second that was done all those years ago. Really enjoyed it.
Melinda Schneider & Beccy Cole - Great Women of Country
great women of country
ratingratingratingratingrating
Share On Facebook 2
10:20 AM - 21/03/2015
By shane bidois
I went to a concert on 19.03.15 This is the best concert I have ever been to. What an awesome duo Highly recommended I still have a smile on my face
Pirates of Penzance
Aaaaarrrrmazing
ratingratingratingratingrating
Share On Facebook 0
9:16 AM - 21/03/2015
By Dianne
Had a brilliant night out at the opening of Pirates last night. Don't usually get on and write reviews, but this show is just so much fun, and thoroughly entertaining. Andrew OKeefe, Nancey Hayes and John Wood are all brilliant. The two youngsters playing the romantic leads are amazing with voices and personality. Georgina Hopson will/should go far such a talent. The trio of girls and their close harmonies and doo-wop was unexpected for me, although my friend saying that's what they did last time. They were brilliant. My favourite though was the Police Sargent. Just brilliant comic timing, great dancing, and personality. A Wonderful show. Don't miss it. You might have to wait another 20 years to see it.
Michael Palin - Live on Stage
Just a revisit really....
ratingratingratingratingrating
Share On Facebook 5
8:04 PM - 4/03/2015
By Sarah Kingsbury
Seen it all before, I left at half time, and that Adam Spencer has the most annoying laugh, multipled by the mike. Not worth $200 dollars really, and I do visit QPAC about once a month.
Wicked
Wickedly awesome
ratingratingratingratingrating
Share On Facebook 0
5:10 PM - 3/03/2015
By Julia Della
We were amazed at the talent of everyone involved with this wonderful production. Would see it again in a heartbeat and we can't imagine any cast performing Wicked better. Congratulations!!
Boston Marriage
"Boston Marriage"
ratingratingratingratingrating
Share On Facebook 0
6:17 AM - 1/03/2015
By Rosie Coggan
An absolute flop of lengthy monologues . Sadly I had invited others and spent the evening somewhat embarrassed with my choice. Spent the evening stifling yawns and making light of this productions absurdity. . So much for my efforts to enjoy a little culture !
Everybody Loves Lucy
Quite Clever
ratingratingratingratingrating
Share On Facebook 0
8:19 PM - 26/02/2015
By Nick Cassin
After seeing today's performance of Everybody Loves Lucy I enjoyed it, Elise McCann did an amazing rendition of Lucy as did Nigel Ubrihien as Ricky. But the show was missing something Im not sure whether an hour was long enough or you could have done more with the background story. It felt a bit rushed
Disney's The Lion King
2nd time round
ratingratingratingratingrating
Share On Facebook 0
7:09 AM - 25/02/2015
By shirley munt
Great show no matter how many times you see it costumes storyline all wonderful and very moving.
Wicked
Wicked through new eyes
ratingratingratingratingrating
Share On Facebook 0
7:07 AM - 25/02/2015
By Shirley Munt
Thoroughly enjoyed the show even though I had seen it 4yrs ago it was like I was seeing it for the first time this was also the same response from others. Well done this is not easily achieved. With different actors and set design this was done well.
Mother & Son by Geoffrey Atherden
Father & Daughter meets Mother & Son
ratingratingratingratingrating
Share On Facebook 0
9:46 PM - 24/02/2015
By Shari Tiley
Geoffrey Atherden, the mastermind behind the Australian comedic classic Mother and Son, has returned to the fore with Noeline Brown and Darren Gilshenan to reacquaint Brisbane audiences with the unforgettable characters of Maggie and Arthur Beare. Supported by Rob Carlton as the duplicitous, but strangely likeable, older son Robert, the stage production brings to life the relatable characters of one of Australia’s most successful television comedies. The staging was simple yet functional without the need for complex set changes and was constructed around the quintessential living room and kitchen of Maggie’s treasured family home. The centre wall of the home easily converted the set to Robert’s dental surgery, the respite sitting room and as a backdrop to illustrate the frequent ‘Skype sessions’ between Robert’s wife Liz, their 2 children Damien and Teonie with the ever ‘forgetful’ Maggie. Whilst not really essential to the overall plot, introducing aspects such as Skype, mobile phones and the internet to Maggie Beare’s world ensures the programme provides the classic tale with a modern twist, appealing to a new age of viewers. The actors involved in this production, whilst providing a sound background and performance, took a little bit to get used to. On first glance (and working purely of the physical characteristics of the actors in the original series), you may be forgiven for mistaking Arthur for Robert and vice-versa. Pause and watch the interactions for a moment though, and you’ll soon recognise the impeccably executed mannerisms that pay homage to Ruth Cracknell, Garry McDonald and Henri Szeps. The plot itself is traditional in its overall feel focusing on Arthur’s ever-present dorkiness and internal struggle between the love for his mother and the urge to branch out and live a life of his own coupled with the egocentric Robert who is unable to grasp anything beyond the end of his nose. Darren Gilshenan plays the role of Arthur to perfection whilst Rob Carlton faultlessly grasps the Robert psyche whilst creating a sort of charm that almost demands you like him. Liz Beare on stage is a much more likeable character, creating a watered down version of the snobbish, prudish character in the original. Liz is portrayed more as the ever-suffering victim who finally cracks at the conclusion of the play. Rachael Beck performs Arthur’s love interest Anita, fashioning a quirky, fun loving individual who breathes a new, fresh light to the existing relationships that we’re familiar with. Noeline Brown provides the glue between the characters in this adaptation and her mischievousness, wit and comedic genius depicts the modern-day Maggie with a skill and refinement not dissimilar to the Ruth Cracknell classic 30 years ago. The Queensland Theatre Company brings Mother and Son up to date with the times, providing a tale of family ties and values in the most comedic fashion. Come and hear the story of the holiday by the sea, where dolphins swam at their feet; the never-ending ‘where did that phone go’; the familiar ‘I say Arthur’ and finally the juggling act between family responsibilities and a 40-something’s shot at love. Remembering back to watching the television show as a child with my father, it was quite refreshing for us both to be able to relate to this latest stage production. I seemed to connect more thanks to the updated technology and modern references whereby Dad still saw enough of his much loved television show from the years of my childhood, enabling him to connect with the cast as if they were on our turn dial television set at home. This production certainly made for a perfect evening out between Father and Daughter.
Mother & Son by Geoffrey Atherden
What a disappointment
ratingratingratingratingrating
Share On Facebook 2
6:24 PM - 23/02/2015
By No name given
If I wanted to see Boulevard Theatre I'd go to Twelfth Night Theatre. Still it is just like the TV show so I should have been warned.
Mother & Son by Geoffrey Atherden
Mother and daughter at Mother and Son
ratingratingratingratingrating
Share On Facebook 0
9:05 PM - 22/02/2015
By Stacey Altoft
Last night had a fabulous mother and daughter time at Mother and Son playing at QPAC. I was always a fan of the TV series. I remember feeling the pain of Arthur living with his dependent mother Maggie and the self-induced tribulations of free living brother Robert. I do love Aussie satire. Being older has only increased my appreciation of this quasi-functional family. Any resemblance to my own extended family will not be mentioned - we have a family reunion pending and I don't want them mobilising. I loved the drama (pardon the pun) of preparing for a night out with The Arts. Jordyn? and I marveled at our ability to be taken in by the talented artists to the story on the stage. The humour was fabulous and refreshingly clean, with so many laugh out loud moment and I confess some introspection. My only concern, my child planning my retirement! Two thumbs up, and if you get the chance, a highly recommend this great night out.
Mother & Son by Geoffrey Atherden
Mother and Son
ratingratingratingratingrating
Share On Facebook 0
4:35 PM - 22/02/2015
By Debbie
Was pleasantly surprised by how much I enjoyed this show. Noelene Brown was delightful in her portrayal as Maggie. A wonderful nights entertainment.
Mother & Son by Geoffrey Atherden
Wonderful
ratingratingratingratingrating
Share On Facebook 0
10:09 PM - 21/02/2015
By Judith Maestracci
Congratulations cast and crew on an outstanding production - I will be recommending this very special show to all.
Boston Marriage
The Boston Marriage
ratingratingratingratingrating
Share On Facebook 0
1:50 PM - 12/02/2015
By AJ & JM Brown
Early in the play, we looked at each other and thought, "Uh-oh!" But we stayed, having forked out $140 or so, and hoping it would improve. Was there something wrong with the acoustics on Sat 7 Feb? Whatever, we couldn't hear it very well. The set was gorgeous, the acting fine, but it just seemed like a silly rehashing of Absolutely Fabulous. Save your money!
Anh Do - The Happiest Refugee
The happiest refugee
ratingratingratingratingrating
Share On Facebook 0
12:34 PM - 12/02/2015
By Sarvannah Fabian
Ahn Do lived in vietnam and was just 8 when Koha was born, his brother. He father rented a boat and took his family on it by buying two boats. One boat his dad rode on with his mother and Koha underneath the deck. The second boat with uncle on it and grandmother and me underneath while she is feeding me rice. Once we got to the boarder line we had to take more passengers aboard with us to Australia.
Ludovico Einaudi - In a Time Lapse
Amazing
ratingratingratingratingrating
Share On Facebook 0
6:38 AM - 12/02/2015
By Cesar
Amazing performance and not just Ludo, as well the band. I'll come to see him every time. best composer nowadays.
Boston Marriage
Stunner Start to the season for QTC
ratingratingratingratingrating
Share On Facebook 1
9:15 AM - 9/02/2015
By Nick Cassin
After seeing the show sunday, I thought it was remarkable. Well done to the entire cast. It was hard at first to understand the language but got easier as the play went on. Amanda Muggleton's stage presence is remarkable
Boston Marriage
Boston Marriage
ratingratingratingratingrating
Share On Facebook 0
10:53 AM - 8/02/2015
By Paul Wright
A very disappointing show.
Boston Marriage
BOSTON MARRIAGE
ratingratingratingratingrating
Share On Facebook 0
4:55 PM - 7/02/2015
By Allan Green
I did not enjoy Boston Marriage at all. The three actors tried hard to make something of the play but unfortunately were unsuccessful. The monologues were too wordy and not meaningful. Some humour was introduced by the Scotch maid but this was very much stage managed. The whole thing reminded me of a bad American sit-com. As a long time supporter of QTC I can only hope that the 2015 season improves or I will not be subscribing in 2016.
Horrible Histories Barmy Britain
Lots of laughs for Brisbane
ratingratingratingratingrating
Share On Facebook 2
5:57 PM - 2/02/2015
By Courtney
The cast are really dedicated and talented. The costumes and acting are incredible and clever. I love how they adapted the script to include modern references relating in particular to the QLD election which was the same day I saw the show!! And hearing the Postman Pat theme used along with gangnam style and some season 1 songs were brilliant. The woman is awesome and the man is funny with plenty of good bad jokes. I officially love horrible histories that bit more. Keep making the live shows! :D P.S just watch out for Queen Elizabeth I.
Horrible Histories Barmy Britain
Horrible Histories
ratingratingratingratingrating
Share On Facebook 0
6:12 PM - 1/02/2015
By Jo Brennan
Very enjoyable day with my 8 and 10 yr old sons (+ Granny) I loved it from beginning to end. Great acting, great voices and nice little political one liners slipped in as well. We have been following HH for years and it seems to keep on giving. It was my first Q pac visit and I was impressed with very helpful staff also. Thanks for a great day.
Horrible Histories Barmy Britain
Rip Off
ratingratingratingratingrating
Share On Facebook 0
5:53 PM - 31/01/2015
By Tanya Perrin
To pay $59 for a play you would expect a something of quality and substance. The play was not original whatsoever, some dialog- songs- were exactly the same as the TV shows, just with a much worse tune. The humor was constantly potty humor, not witty and satirical as the TV show or books. This was a play only to profit and copy of the much loved TV and book series. I would highly suggest not going to see this play.
Boston Marriage
Boston Marriage
ratingratingratingratingrating
Share On Facebook 7
8:11 PM - 27/01/2015
By Gabrielle Sheldon
A huge thank you to Jodi Panayotov, editor for “Must Do Brisbane” and Maggie Holmes from Queensland Theatre Company for our Double Pass to see David Mamet’s hilarious play “Boston Marriage”. We knew the Show would be great as soon as we saw Amanda Muggleton’s name in the advertisement. Her portrayal of “Anna” was intriguing and mischievous, and we were also impressed with the great performances by Rachel Gordon as the exuberant “Claire”, and Helen Cassidy as the hapless but likeable maid “Catherine”. There was good teamwork and excellent comedic timing by this very adept trio. A Magic direction by Andrea Moor, who lets the actors develop a deep richness in their characterisations of these shrewd, funny and compassionate “Boston women”. Congratulations to the QTC creative team. We’re sure the season will be very successful.
THRILLER LIVE
Embarrassing
ratingratingratingratingrating
Share On Facebook 4
9:33 AM - 27/01/2015
By Kelly
I was embarrassed to be at Thriller. In fact my girlfriend & I waiting for the second half in hope that it was going to get better but with the same stage set & minimal costume changes, we actually left. We could not stay & endure such an amateur production. I am amazed that anyone could write a fabulous review. I see a few production every year & this was worse than a casino show. Some good singers, some good dancers & no story line. The dancers barely costumed for what I would expect in representing Michael Jackson & his quality of showmanship. He would be embarrassed. I would like to know how I get my money back.
THRILLER LIVE
Thriller Live
ratingratingratingratingrating
Share On Facebook 2
8:45 AM - 26/01/2015
By Cameron Humphries
The thriller Live concert was a disappointment to us as we never got to see MJ in concert and was hoping this was the closest thing we would ever get to experiencing MJ perform. WOW were we wrong. The dancers looked as if they were sick of being there and didn't have the energy to continue the routine no enthusiasm or respect for the music I thought. Then the show had some awesome sparks bursts which shot across the stage this woke us up and we thought here we go finally. Then a great dance routine then back to a boring array of below average performances. Then intermission came and then we were treated to round 2 with dirty Diana some guy butchered the hell out of it out of key and just pathetic. I can't believe these guys are Pros. Thanks QPAC for an expensive night. What a rip off......
THRILLER LIVE
Thriller live
ratingratingratingratingrating
Share On Facebook 0
2:02 PM - 25/01/2015
By Sandra
Although I enjoyed the music and the dancing I think for the money it was not worth it, too many singers, not enough of a storyline, Would have liked to see just one Michael Jackson and one who did not lipsync.
THRILLER LIVE
Thriller Live - Surprising
ratingratingratingratingrating
Share On Facebook 0
8:07 PM - 24/01/2015
By Mark Pryor
This show was not what we expected but it was fantastic and had us up and dancing in our seats. At times you could almost believe that Michael was still alive and was there on stage.
THRILLER LIVE
Thriller Live
ratingratingratingratingrating
Share On Facebook 0
12:39 PM - 23/01/2015
By Karen R
A brilliant show with fantastic choreography, great vocals and an awesome live band. Everyone played a great role. It was mind blowing and left you on a real high.
THRILLER LIVE
ratingratingratingratingrating
Share On Facebook 5
6:52 AM - 23/01/2015
By rob
Michael Jackson would be turning in his grave. Impressive if it was a free show performed by kids, not an $80 a seat stage production. 3 of the six singers should have done the whole show. And lip syncing at the end was a highlight. But not worth the money, lip syncing . Probably good for people looking for a good high school show.and have plenty of money to throw away.
The Illusionists 1903
ratingratingratingratingrating
Share On Facebook 0
6:45 AM - 22/01/2015
By Penny
I would have to say that last years show was so much better. Regurgitating old magic tricks that have been done hundreds of times before will not amaze an audience. We want to see something new and exciting. Last years Illusionists show did just that. This years show was a real disappointment.
THRILLER LIVE
Thriller Live
ratingratingratingratingrating
Share On Facebook 0
6:38 AM - 22/01/2015
By PennyC
This was a fantastic show. The dancers and singers were absolutely amazing. I wasn't sure what to expect but the show definitely didn't disappoint. My 10 year old son absolutely loved it. He was clapping and dancing all the way through.
THRILLER LIVE
Fantastic Show!
ratingratingratingratingrating
Share On Facebook 1
8:55 AM - 21/01/2015
By Julie Pettett
The Thriller show was fantastic! Throughly enjoyed the trip down memory lane with MJ's music, and the skill and talent of the cast of vocalists and dancers. Brilliant show! The only "downer" for us was a QPAC staff member, the doorman, Johann, on Door 8. I've nicknamed him Little Hitler! Now there's a man who loves the "power" his job awards him and he wealds it waaaayyyy too seriously. A complete "Jobsworth!"! We were in seats H31-34, right on the end of the row that is closest to the door. It's a matter of 2 footsteps from the end of the row to the door and he would not let my 8 yo son and husband resume their position after a trip to the toilet, despite the audience being on their feet dancing and clapping to the music. He insisted they wait until the applause!! I protested that they were 2 steps from their original seats and we were already standing up dancing, but Little Hitler stuck to his guns! I know he has a job to do, and I could understand it if we were in the middle of a row and everyone was seated, but he took his "power" beyond common sense. Had a great night though despite this individual!
THRILLER LIVE
Thriller live
ratingratingratingratingrating
Share On Facebook 3
4:46 PM - 18/01/2015
By Mardi Goodwin
I thought for the money I paid for the ticket it was really poor... I was poor dance skills and just average "stars" people up there singing a few michael jackson songs.. the only good part was right at the end when "michael jackson" came on and danced to two songs and lip sinked. Very disappointing indeed.
THRILLER LIVE
Thriller live
ratingratingratingratingrating
Share On Facebook 2
8:12 AM - 16/01/2015
By DonnaB
Fantastic!!! You wouldn't have to be a diehard MJ fan to enjoy this. The cast are just awesome and Prinnie Stevens is wonderful as one of the lead vocalists. The Billie Jean performance was like a step back in time... Mind blowing!! Loved, loved, loved it ??
THRILLER LIVE
Great
ratingratingratingratingrating
Share On Facebook 0
7:58 AM - 16/01/2015
By Jeff
What a fabulous show. Great artists and performers. No one can replace Michael but this show pays a very good tribute to him. My 9 year old grand daughter screamed all the way through :)
The Illusionists 1903
Very poor, waste of money
ratingratingratingratingrating
Share On Facebook 3
1:34 PM - 12/01/2015
By Sue Battis
I attended the performance of The Illusionist last night and have to say it was the worst show I have ever attended. So bad it is embarrassing to tell people I went and paid $100 a ticket.
The Illusionists 1903
A little disappointing
ratingratingratingratingrating
Share On Facebook 0
12:18 PM - 9/01/2015
By Hazel
I must admit that I was a little disappointed. I took the family to see last year's show which we enjoyed immensely. This year's theme of 1903 meant that the novelty and spectacle of last year's show was missing because the tricks had all been seen before hundreds of times and some of them were very transparent. The comedy aspect of last year's show was also lacking. There were some humorous moments but nothing like the hilarity of last year's show. The cost of tickets was way out of line with the quality of the show.
The Illusionists 1903
I wouldn't waste your money
ratingratingratingratingrating
Share On Facebook 0
5:43 PM - 8/01/2015
By Kelly Luckman
A few OK tricks and lots of talking... Nothing special at all, i was very disappointed. You could even see the equipment moving when the person was climbing into the box and another trick almost completely failed! Might have been ok for 1903 but definitely not 2015!!! Keep practicing!
Cubby Land
Good, but could be great
ratingratingratingratingrating
Share On Facebook 0
1:35 PM - 8/01/2015
By MrsTee
Kids enjoyed it, but in our heads we pictured it a little differently. We all thought you would literally be able to make your own cubby house. We envisioned lots of cushions and sheets and cardboard boxes and other materials spread around to build your own cubby. The kids did enjoy climbing & playing around the wooden cubby houses, but didn't last for long. Lovely for a free event though.
Giggle and Hoot & Friends
Giggle & hoot
ratingratingratingratingrating
Share On Facebook 0
9:14 PM - 7/01/2015
By Aroha Williams
I haven't seen it but my kids would love to. Why have it at such an expensive venue? Families cannot afford these prices.
The Illusionists 1903
WOW!!!
ratingratingratingratingrating
Share On Facebook 1
8:24 AM - 7/01/2015
By Michelle Cartlidge
what great entertaining performances!! never laughed, clapped, been amazed so much in my life and we've seen vegas shows.
Giggle and Hoot & Friends
Loved it!
ratingratingratingratingrating
Share On Facebook 1
10:17 AM - 5/01/2015
By Mandy
We absolutely loved this show. Even our one year old sat through for the entire 50 minutes, dancing along. Our three year old knew all the songs and sang along with a huge smile on her face. Well worth the money. Very impressed!
The Illusionists 1903
Not great
ratingratingratingratingrating
Share On Facebook 1
11:05 PM - 4/01/2015
By Cheryl
I was so looking forward to this show, only to be let down by an unpolished performance by b grade magicians. There was nothing here that I had not seen before. All of the acts and the jokes could well have been straight from 1903.
The Illusionists 1903
Mesmerising!!
ratingratingratingratingrating
Share On Facebook 5
10:03 PM - 4/01/2015
By Erin
Had the best time at The Illusionist show! Had all magical aspects you could wish for. The illusionist Charlie was my favourite by far with a quirky display of juggling tricks and the like. Another highlight was definitely the clairvoiant Emily who could pick what items member or the audience held up! Overall an awesome night!!!
UQ School of Music – Requiem
Splendid
ratingratingratingratingrating
Share On Facebook 0
11:55 PM - 31/12/2014
By Sriganesh Srihari
A lively enthusiastic performance by the UQ boys and girls.
A Very Special SOLO Evening with Joan Armatrading
Solo show letdown
ratingratingratingratingrating
Share On Facebook 4
6:36 AM - 16/12/2014
By Richard Booker
The ominous 'warning' that pre-recorded music would be used said it all, and so it proved to be -a big let down. More music would have been preferable to the tired slideshow interlude. It is hard for a solo performer to sustain the energy and momentum required for 90 minutes with no support. Surely even a drummer and a bass player could be found in Australia to add a little more texture and depth without the whole suite of strings and a saxaphone mysteriously hidden in the black depths at side of stage. When things go badly, little wonder there ain't no encore
The Best of Jethro Tull with Ian Anderson
Jethro Tull - Ian Anderson.
ratingratingratingratingrating
Share On Facebook 0
4:27 PM - 14/12/2014
By Jim Mills.
Standing ovation,thoroughly deserved.Inspirational evening.
Freud’s Last Session
Just my view...
ratingratingratingratingrating
Share On Facebook 0
12:16 PM - 7/12/2014
By Sue
Thought provoking, funny and thoroughly enjoyable. Would definitely recommend for a great night out.
Gasp!
A First for us!
ratingratingratingratingrating
Share On Facebook 0
6:49 AM - 7/12/2014
By Herc Kynigopoulos
This is a first for us. The first play ever we have walked out on. A childish play with no real structure, substance or comedy. Very disappointing play, don't waste your money.
Chelsea Handler – Uganda Be Kidding Me Live tour
Mortified
ratingratingratingratingrating
Share On Facebook 0
3:38 PM - 30/11/2014
By Disappointed
She was drunk and within twenty minutes repeating hee jokes as she had forgotten what she had done. Was a fan. Lost respect. Waste of money
London Symphony Orchestra
LSO Brilliance
ratingratingratingratingrating
Share On Facebook 2
12:35 PM - 26/11/2014
By Erin
A simply stunning performance that mesmerised the audience from the opening notes of Rachmaninov’s Piano Concerto No. 2 to the stunning finale of Shostakovich’s Symphony No.10. Matsuev's mastery of the keys was matched by the passionate performance of the LSO. An evening for Brisbane to remember!
London Symphony Orchestra
London Symphony Orchestra
ratingratingratingratingrating
Share On Facebook 5
3:36 PM - 25/11/2014
By Eva
Outstanding performance - Matsuev powerful - his Rachmaninov No. 2 had me crying from intense emotion - how lucky are we to see Matsuev live in Brisbane - Gergiev brilliant with LSO- Thankyou for such an opportunity -
QSO Journey Through The Cosmos
Good and Bad
ratingratingratingratingrating
Share On Facebook 2
11:47 AM - 12/11/2014
By Ian
Five stars for the music and for Brian Cox. Zero stars for choosing to close the event with the simply awful Quartet for the End of Time. I would challenge anyone to find a connection between this music and the event.
QSO Brian Cox - The Physics of Time Lecture
What was the QSO thinking?
ratingratingratingratingrating
Share On Facebook 0
10:05 AM - 12/11/2014
By John
Brian Cox's lecture was superb, as expected. The QSO's choice of music was, however, totally inappropriate. Bear in mind that Coxy was the drawcard here - a full house, of course. This is a man who has an international reputation of Attenborough proportions, in the world of physics. And the QSO used this unique opportunity to inflict discordant, jarring music on their captive audience. Yes, the musicians were clearly talented. Yes, the music would appeal to some as genius. But POPULAR SCIENCE, QSO, you should have thought about your audience. You disappointed far more than you impressed.
QSO Journey Through The Cosmos
Brian Cox was fascinating
ratingratingratingratingrating
Share On Facebook 0
8:28 PM - 11/11/2014
By Erin
I enjoyed the evening overall, but found the first piece not to my taste. I loved the Planets Suite and Brian Cox's presentation was fabulous. Although he mentioned that he would talk about Pluto and a few other things "later" - this didn't happen, which left us a bit confused and disappointed.
QSO Brian Cox - The Physics of Time Lecture
The Physics of Time
ratingratingratingratingrating
Share On Facebook 0
11:06 AM - 11/11/2014
By George
The lecture by Brian Cox was extremely interesting, but far too short. The music, on the other hand, was extremely obscure and dissonant and a real trial to sit through, as demonstrated by the number of people who slipped out after the first few movements. A better choice of music would have helped a lot.
QSO Journey Through The Cosmos
Misleading
ratingratingratingratingrating
Share On Facebook 0
12:41 PM - 10/11/2014
By Marco
The title of the show was very very misleading. Journey through the Cosmos with Brian Cox? Really it was Brian giving an amazing presentation for ~25 minutes followed by hours of mediocre music which had nothing to do with the cosmos... 5/5 for Brian Cox's lecture. 1.5/5 for the Music.
QSO Journey Through The Cosmos
ratingratingratingratingrating
Share On Facebook 2
1:34 PM - 9/11/2014
By jassy
all orcestra......no cosmos......dissapointing
QSO Journey Through The Cosmos
The best
ratingratingratingratingrating
Share On Facebook 0
7:27 PM - 7/11/2014
By Kelle-ann
this show is absolutely outstanding and breathtaking the best day ever for me
Hay Fever
An absolute riot.
ratingratingratingratingrating
Share On Facebook 0
6:52 PM - 29/10/2014
By Karl Victor Wally
Having seen several of Noel Cowards plays in the past I was expecting some mild amusement, I (we) thought it was a perfectly cast show having lost none of its relevance with the passing years. My wife who is very hard to please thought it a riot !! I am about to buy more tickets to take the rest of the family.
The Last Confession
Suchet outshines all!
ratingratingratingratingrating
Share On Facebook 0
7:21 PM - 28/10/2014
By DPAC - Theatre Department
The Last Confession was a great, little drama, thriller murder mystery with all of the classic elements included such a suspense and character interviews. David Suchet is outstanding and such a inspiration for all from his well known role in Agatha Christie [Poirot], other TV specials and now a live on-stage play! The sets and scenery in the show are good with the tall, grated, moving columns to tables, chairs and alters and, of course, the doors which characters frequently come in and out of. The lighting is also very good with the stage going dark every now and then and golden light shining down from the ceiling to give make the 'church' setting more holy looking. The actors on stage [apart from Suchet] were excellent especially the maid of John Pall and John Pall himself. The costumes however were a little disappointing as there was not much detail to them but I suppose that that was the way it was back then anyway. I loved how at the end the mystery of the death of John Paul was never solved and how the main character dies at the end, with a secret dieing as well.A great play, however just a tad bit confusing at times. THUMBS UP!
Hay Fever
Hayfever
ratingratingratingratingrating
Share On Facebook 2
8:57 AM - 26/10/2014
By Mark
Excellent cast, superb timing. Classic Noël Coward - a very enjoyable evening
Hay Fever
Hay Fever in Brisbane not quite up to expectations
ratingratingratingratingrating
Share On Facebook 6
7:35 AM - 25/10/2014
By John Reid
Despite very strong performances from all of the cast members, the QPAC performance of Hay Fever falls a little short of expectations. Earlier this year I saw Noel Coward's Relative Values and Blithe Spirit in London and thoroughly enjoyed both productions. Hay Fever did not quite reach the same heights although it was great to see Felicity Kendal on stage. She is a fine actress and her performance as Judith Bliss was flawless. It is hard to pinpoint exactly why the production was slightly underwhelming but certainly no fault of the cast. Perhaps it is simply that Hay Fever is not one of Noel Coward's best plays. Ultimately, when the curtain came down, the applause from the audience was polite rather than enthusiastic.
Disney's The Lion King
Goosebumps
ratingratingratingratingrating
Share On Facebook 0
11:34 AM - 20/10/2014
By Jane Nott
That would have to be the BEST stage performance I have seen! The cast and costumes were stunning. The vocal performance of Rafiki simply gave me goosebumps...the infectious smiles of the characters as they walked past the aisles towards the stage - absolutely brilliant. Worth every cent!
Disney's The Lion King
Breathtaking
ratingratingratingratingrating
Share On Facebook 0
11:06 PM - 16/10/2014
By Donna Lewis
Most amazing production. everything perfect, incredible costumes sets and performances. Memory of a lifetime
Wuthering Heights
Fabulous
ratingratingratingratingrating
Share On Facebook 0
11:04 PM - 16/10/2014
By Donna Lewis
Another GREAT show from Shake n Stir..
Wuthering Heights
Loved it
ratingratingratingratingrating
Share On Facebook 0
9:29 PM - 15/10/2014
By Courtney
Saw it on the Sunday at 3:00pm the first week it came out. First show i've ever seen live was 1984 and i was obsessed. Not to mention they got me into reading, read the book 1984 and loved it! (thanks shake and stir!) They were advertising wuthering heights and my mum read that years back so we were keen to see it. Wow. I thought 1984 was good. This production was amazing. From the set to sound to lighting! it was brilliant! all actors were amazing, loved Ross! Melanie Zanetti was perfect part for Catherine. I've read a few negative comments toward this production. I guess we all have different taste, although this is shake and stir adaption. It's not going to be spot on with the book. Also, seeing people be disappointed in the jokes saddens me. This show brought me happiness and sadness and thats what i love. I can admit, Gerry Connolly could have been better but my mum loved him! Shake and stir, thank you so much for the amazing adaption and i will see you for dracula 2015!
Wuthering Heights
Another outstanding production from Shake and Stir
ratingratingratingratingrating
Share On Facebook 0
11:36 AM - 15/10/2014
By Mark Davies
Caught this show last night (Tuesday) - WOW! Loved the use of AV and the subtle updating of the text. I studied this book in highschool and it bored me to tears - watching last night with about 100 high school students and this was certainly not the case. The rapturous applause and standing ovation at the end were rightly deserved - brilliant efforts by all.
Bill Bailey - Limboland
Bill Bailey
ratingratingratingratingrating
Share On Facebook 0
1:09 PM - 14/10/2014
By Mark
The perfect cure for depression, how could you not be happy aftwer seeing his fantastic show.
Wuthering Heights
Emily Bronte's Classic? Not the novel I know and love
ratingratingratingratingrating
Share On Facebook 0
6:10 PM - 10/10/2014
By Jennifer Robinson
I so want to give this a 5 star review - and I will for lighting, effects, broodiness, capturing the darkness of the story and for the poignant and often explosive emotion and perfect delivery by the two leads - Melanie Zanetti in the dual roles of Catherine and Cathy and Ross Balbuziente as Heathcliff. I’ve seen Melanie in both Pygmalion and Romeo and Juliet and today she lived up to her usual fine performance. The other players, except for one, did a wonderful job, too – no fluffing of lines or miscues. All of these elements and actors were outstanding and I would love to applaud them with a standing ovation. But sadly, that's where my applause stops. If not for those aspects, I would only be able to give it a 1 star review. Why on earth Gerry Connolly was cast as a FEMALE in the biggest role of all - narrator and the nanny/maid Nelly - I cannot understand at all. The casting crew had a huge talented female pool to choose from but instead they chose a man - albeit a well-known actor - but unfortunately he kept forgetting his lines, and more importantly mixing up everyone's names, as well as his spots and because he kept forgetting characters' name he would slow down or even pause for a few seconds before uttering any of them to make sure he had the right one. I can say the one good thing he brought to the stage was his piano playing. The language too was a big letdown as it was nothing like the book or even the era – often modern day very strong swearing and 21st century phrasing in a lot of places and even a bit of comedy thrown in throughout – one as a spoof on the fact of a man playing a woman which really pulled the novel’s beautiful content down. All in all, I can only review it as a very big disappointment for the language which should have been heartfelt. Some of the monologues were fantastic and very well delivered but trying to make the nanny/narrator into a comedic role spoilt the entire play. I'm sure Emily Bronte would be disappointed to see her novel relegated to wanting to please the masses rather than staying true to her ideal. There were several school groups in when I was in the audience and they seemed to be the only ones laughing at the comedic twists – the rest of us who obviously knew the novel well sat stony-faced. The effects were amazing though - lighting, 'real' rain falling on the stage - and large droplets even splashing on those in the front row who were quite surprised to find themselves part of the props - and huge fans blowing on the audience so you really felt you were in the middle of a storm on the windswept moors. The lighting was brilliant too – setting the mood perfectly. I could only give high praise to those behind the scenes and the two leads and other minor roles. Some of the costumes were more modern, while others of the period. It was quite a mish-mash for someone who loves the novel and expected to be taken into 19th century England rather than the imagination of a 21st century script writer. I’ve never been in a play/musical/show with such a small smattering of applause both at the interval and at the end. It was obvious the audience wasn’t impressed. In future, when putting on one of the classics, please keep the language and content true to the era, unless you are actually trying to bring it into this day and age – and if you do, please forewarn us so the audience is prepared to see something quite different from what they’re expecting.
Wuthering Heights
Fantastic
ratingratingratingratingrating
Share On Facebook 2
12:45 PM - 9/10/2014
By Sam P
A stunning looking production performed with passion and great skill by the talented cast of 6. Not an easy night at the theatre, but well worth trying to find a ticket to see this classic reimagined! It surprises me that some reviews mention the show is funny - with the exception of a couple of well places lines, it is certainly not funny. Quite the opposite - take your tissues - you'll need them at the end of act one! Well done to all involved.
The Dire Straits Experience
Simply Stunning
ratingratingratingratingrating
Share On Facebook 0
11:11 PM - 8/10/2014
By Simon Waite
This is as close as you could get to the real thing. The band was really tight and were a credit to the music of the real maestro. I left the concert with ears ringing (in a good way), looking forward to the next time this group make it back to QPAC!
Black Diggers
Brilliant
ratingratingratingratingrating
Share On Facebook 1
10:02 PM - 8/10/2014
By Michael Taylor
Just saw the live simulcast from Brisbane, with a big audience at Burdekin Theatre Ayr North Queensland tonight. We felt like we were right there, the picture was so crisp and clear, the sound was awesome. The performance itself was stunning, and so we too applauded loud and long at the end. This was an incredibly moving performance, done with passion and great skill. Hope it comes out on DVD: I would certainly buy it. Congratulations to the cast and all who worked so hard to bring this brilliant show together.
Black Diggers
Interesting story and well told
ratingratingratingratingrating
Share On Facebook 1
10:09 AM - 8/10/2014
By Jennifer
Black Diggers is a fascinating piece of theatre. Told in episodic form, characters come and go and sometimes return in a clever piece of storytelling. While some parts are a little heavy handed, others are very moving and/or funny and the ensemble cast and inventive staging held my interest throughout. David Page is in fine voice and Luke Carroll took my breath away with his ghostly portrayal of a soldier dying so far from his homeland. Well worth seeing.
Wuthering Heights
disappointed
ratingratingratingratingrating
Share On Facebook 2
2:20 PM - 7/10/2014
By donna
I wonder if i was watching the same play when I read the comments above. Though some of the actors were really fantastic, I found that the swearing in it was unnecessary why people thought the swearing was funny was beyond me. I costume change in between the acts would have been nice as well.
Wuthering Heights
Sick...
ratingratingratingratingrating
Share On Facebook 0
1:22 PM - 7/10/2014
By Anthony Grasso
I went along to this show not really knowing what to expect. I had seen the posters and the banner on QPAC - the picture of a man in a dress (who I later found out was Gerry Connolly, as in, the QUEEN from Fast Forward) and two attractive younger people who I assumed were playing two lovers and was impressed by the dark, quirky nature of the imagery. When I took my seat in the theatre and started listening to the drone of the wind, I began to feel pretty uncomforatble and hoped I hadn't made a big mistake - ESPECIALLY when I found out it was over two hours long. But from the first moment that the lights went to black until the last moments of the second act (which literally made my mouth gape open in awe) I sat totally glued to the edge of my seat as the SERIOUSLY messed up story unfolded on stage. All the cast were brilliant - even though Gerry seemed to at times be reaching for a line or two (or maybe this was a choice as he was playing a dottery old housemaid) the other cast members never faultered. I loved the guy with the beard. And the lights. And the projection. And the sound. And the effects. It blew me away. I would never have believed that a play could make me feel all these things. I was warned before I went that the story was really depressing, but I loved that there were funny moments in it and then suddenly turned dark. Don't think - get a ticket (although I just tried to buy two more for my Mother and Father and couldn't find two together on any night). Awesome.
Black Diggers
Essential viewing
ratingratingratingratingrating
Share On Facebook 1
10:59 AM - 7/10/2014
By Pauline Peel
Congratulations to QTC, The Brisbane Festival, QPAC and other partners for putting on this important but largely unknown story about Indigenous soldiers in World War 1 - able to enlist but unwelcome on their return to their own country. It is beautifully told, well performed with terrific design.
Wuthering Heights
Just finished the book - and loved the play!
ratingratingratingratingrating
Share On Facebook 0
6:02 PM - 6/10/2014
By Jane
I really enjoyed this show. My friends and I went along on Saturday night and thoroughly enjoyed it. We had just read the book for our Book Club (I had also studied it in high-school). The adaptation was perfect, it made me really feel for, and understand the characters. When reading the book I had mixed feelings about Heathcliff - he divided our Book Club!! But on stage - Ross Balbuziante was just brilliant. He captured the brooding mystery of Heathcliff so well. The whole company definitely deserved the standing ovation they received at the end (us included!).
Wuthering Heights
LOVED IT
ratingratingratingratingrating
Share On Facebook 0
9:23 PM - 5/10/2014
By Tim
Congratulations to everyone involved - it was breathtaking. I want to see it again!
Monty Python’s SPAMALOT
Spamalot
ratingratingratingratingrating
Share On Facebook 0
9:21 PM - 5/10/2014
By Lesley
Brilliant!! All the cast were wonderful but Frank stole the show for me. The local humor and improvisation injected throughout just made it so much better. My jaws were aching from laughter. Thanks for a wonderful show.
Wuthering Heights
Wow
ratingratingratingratingrating
Share On Facebook 0
11:56 AM - 5/10/2014
By Melinda
Saw this production last night and I am still thinking about how fantastic it was. Every actor and every element (lights, sound, costumes, visuals) blended beautifully to create a magic evening at the theatre. Highly recommend.
Wuthering Heights
Incredible. Beautiful. Speechless.
ratingratingratingratingrating
Share On Facebook 0
12:44 AM - 5/10/2014
By Lisa
We just saw the Saturday evening performance and we are still speechless! Big, dynamic, moving theatre! The full standing ovation from the stunned audience was well deserved. Congratulations to the actors and the creators. Bring on Dracula!
Monty Python’s SPAMALOT
Fantastic!!
ratingratingratingratingrating
Share On Facebook 0
7:25 AM - 3/10/2014
By Michael
I've seen productions of Spamalot before and this one puts them to shame. So much energy and enjoyment on stage you could not help but have fun. Jon English and Simon Galaher were great, Frank Woidley hilarious, and Julie Anthony - wow! holy wow! just so good. The supporting cast were amazing and kept the "Monty Python"ness of the show delivered perfectly! hilarious! I particularly loved the Knight of Ni, Black Night, and the swamp castle scenes... of and Tim the Enchanter Haaa!! So much to love about this show! go see it!
Wuthering Heights
Inspired me to read the book again
ratingratingratingratingrating
Share On Facebook 0
11:18 PM - 2/10/2014
By Stephanie
Based on shake & stir’s previous accolades, I came to Wuthering Heights with high expectations and the show was indeed very special. The costume design was a stand out – edgy, yet true to the story and characters. The set was stark, pared back, and perfect for the storyline and emotions portrayed. The lighting, audio and projection increased the intensity of the story, was hugely engaging and set the mood for the moors. All ingredients for perfect theatre. The quality of the acting was mixed. While all actors delivered with passion, the timings on some occasions didn’t seem completely correct. Zanetti was a standout as her portrayal of both Catherine’s was very absorbing and believable. Gerry Connolly’s Nelle was also endearing, at times comedic and relatable, it was a shame that the delivery of some of the script – notably the longer monologues – was a little askew. Nonetheless, it was a highly stylized and unique production that has inspired me to pick-up the book again. I would see this again, but perhaps later in the season (once the creases were ironed out).
Wuthering Heights
withering heights
ratingratingratingratingrating
Share On Facebook 0
7:15 AM - 2/10/2014
By Linda Grace
I saw this last night and I know the production was not meant to be a comedy but my friend and I roared with laughter all the way home. It was the most deplorable theatre I have seen in years, like a dreary soap opera on steroids. Was it dark and broody? Yes, was it likeable? No. Even the cast did not come out for a bow at the end in response to the lukewarm applause. Not one of the characters drew any empathy/sympathy/dislike or let's face it care. I didn't care about any of them as they treaded the boards (very loudly, oh for rubber souled shoes) in a pantomime over acted style of brooding drama. Gerry Conelly's wig was a wonder to behold as it became more and more askew as the night went on. I am speechless that they thought this was a professional production. Mind you the lighting and sound effects were fabulous. I really felt the dark intensity of Emily Bronte's moors. The acting, well maybe turn it into an adult interactive comedy pantomime, and you might have a winner there.
Black Diggers
Outstanding
ratingratingratingratingrating
Share On Facebook 1
7:53 PM - 27/09/2014
By Amanda
An important story told with heart, dignity, soul and spirit. The ensemble cast were individually amazing and mesmerising to watch. Standing ovation!
Le Noir – The Dark Side of Cirque
Outstanding.
ratingratingratingratingrating
Share On Facebook 2
11:41 PM - 24/09/2014
By Barb Schmidt
Loved this show. It was better than Cirque Du Soleil and that is the truth. It is a small company of performers which makes the show more intimate, but in no way lacks the pizazz of Cirque. The costumes are sexy and so are the performers, the acts fantastic and the music great. Do yourself a favour and see this show, you will not regret it.
Le Noir – The Dark Side of Cirque
Outstanding Performances & Costuming
ratingratingratingratingrating
Share On Facebook 4
2:53 PM - 8/09/2014
By Mel
Circuses these days are no longer the cliched big-top with poorly treated animals. Now we have amazing performers with incredible skills, and Le Noir is no exception. Spectacular physical feats from performers with and without props, demonstrating strength, dexterity, flexibility, and humour. The costuming was wonderful, with the colour themes progressing through the show with white, black and red. There were some 'gasp' moments too, especially during the finale on the double-wheeled Wheel of Death, where two performers ran on the inside AND outside of the wheels. A wonderful combination of dance, acrobatics and humour makes this a must see. Oh, but for adults only! The only downside was that, from our side row balcony seats, there were a couple of times when we could not see what was happening as our view was partially restricted.
American Ballet Theatre – Three Masterpieces
ratingratingratingratingrating
Share On Facebook 0
2:47 PM - 8/09/2014
By Mel
This show was made up of three performances, each quite different from the other. The first was very bare, with only a solo violin for music, and the performers in flesh-coloured costumes. The dancing was somewhat convoluted and hard to follow. Throughout the three shows, the dancers seemed to be often off with the synchronised dancing (which another reviewer notes of the ABT's Swan Lake show). The second performance was also basic, this time with a piano on stage, but was more enjoyable to watch than the first. The third performance was very different. It had a set and a storyline. The music was great; a full orchestra, performing jazz rather than classical. There were only 6 dancers in this performance. The music and the dancing were great, but the 'storyline' was quite appalling. The performance consisted of three men (naval officers on leave) harassing a lone woman on the street, including groping her and taking her handbag. A second woman was later harassed by one of the men. The two women were consistently trying to get away from the men, and this was presented as supposedly funny. It was shocking to see harassment dealt with in such a cavalier fashion, and presented as something comical. It was a relief to see that at least in the end, the women managed to get away from the men, but this didn't necessarily demonstrate that the message was 'sexual harassment is not ok'. It was sexist (presenting men as nothing more than aggressive fighters who harass women; & an acceptance of sexual harassment of women) and did not need to be. It could have been presented with the same music and quality dancing in a manner that showed men on shore leave romancing rather than harassing women. The music was upbeat and echoed this 'fun' and 'comedic' attitude of the performance. It is shocking that an international ballet company would consider this an acceptable theme to present in a performance, especially when the dancers' performances were excellent.
American Ballet Theatre – Swan Lake
Disappointed, but for Odette
ratingratingratingratingrating
Share On Facebook 0
8:56 PM - 7/09/2014
By Angela
This was my first time to the Ballet and I've been wanting to see Swan Lake for many years. I was disappointed that most of the performers seemed out of time and this was confirmed when I chatted to the ladies beside us during the interval, who mentioned they had seen Swan Lake many times. The only saving grace was Odette's performance which was mind blowing! After paying a premium rate to get two of the last seats available, I definitely expected more. It's also disappointing that we couldn't take a photo of the cast after the show had completed.
The Last Confession
ratingratingratingratingrating
Share On Facebook 0
10:00 PM - 24/08/2014
By Jayne
Enjoyed the play didn't know quite what to expect but thoroughly enjoyed it, to see such a great actor was a treat I'll not forget to soon my friends found the first half a bit slow but the second half made up for it. Wonderful and through provoking
Rolling Thunder Vietnam
FANTASTIC SHOW!!!
ratingratingratingratingrating
Share On Facebook 0
7:27 PM - 23/08/2014
By Rob Robertson
If you are a Vietnam Veteran, Baby Boomer and love Rock and Roll of the 60's, or if you just want to see a great entertaining show do not miss this one. The Cast and Band are excellent. Please make a DVD of the Show. Thank you from a Vet.
The Last Confession
The Last Confession
ratingratingratingratingrating
Share On Facebook 0
8:57 AM - 23/08/2014
By Hilary
Mesmerising. Great set, slick scene changes and wonderful acting. It was one of the best plays we have ever seen. Thank you to all involved for a wonderful afternoon that we'll remember for a long time.
The Last Confession
Brilliant David Suchet
ratingratingratingratingrating
Share On Facebook 0
5:57 AM - 22/08/2014
By Sue Baker
My father and I are big Agatha Christie/Hercule Poirot fans, was very impressed with the entire cast and performances in this play. David Suchet was brilliant, my admiration for his talent has certainly greatly increased.....bonus of the day was the father/daughter bonding at this very amazing play. David Suchet - you rock!
The Last Confession
The Last Confession
ratingratingratingratingrating
Share On Facebook 0
7:20 PM - 21/08/2014
By Missy T
David Suchet showed his skill as an actor who, although maybe perceived as the definitive "Poirot", cannot be type-cast. He was well supported by the full cast. What did happen to the gentle Pope, John Paul? We'll never know.
The Last Confession
The Last Confession
ratingratingratingratingrating
Share On Facebook 2
3:35 PM - 21/08/2014
By Julienne
It was well directed with some great performances. The politics of The Vatican was similar to normal office politics. Let down a little by the script. It is Roger Crane the playwright's first play and I think it shows. The second half develops nicely and there is a little more depth in the characters but disappointed in the script.
The Last Confession
The Last Confession
ratingratingratingratingrating
Share On Facebook 0
11:27 AM - 21/08/2014
By Tony Nesci
It was great to see the absolute absence of any religious mysticism. The reality of behind-the-scenes intrigue...part and parcel of The Vatican...was portrayed well. I feel it lacked some depth regarding the questionable demise of John Paul...but I attribute that to expecting more "Poirot sleuthing"...from a character that just wasn't in this play. Still, it certainly was David's play... I give it four stars...
Le Noir – The Dark Side of Cirque
Amazing! Can I have it on dvd to watch it over again
ratingratingratingratingrating
Share On Facebook 2
9:34 PM - 17/08/2014
By Jessie Emerson
Fantastic mix of incredible acts, breathtaking stunts and a very ckeeky fool. Le Noir giving us a circus with a dark side, a gothic persuasion and erotic themes, not one for the little ones but definitely worth every cent you pay to see it. All I want to know now is, is it on dvd so I can relieve the spectacular spectical again and again
Akmal
Funny but quick
ratingratingratingratingrating
Share On Facebook 0
6:35 PM - 17/08/2014
By Dale Norris
Akmal has always been funny but last night (16 August) the show was incredibly short, Pete Willy (tragic name) opened for 15 minutes and akmal was on for an hour rathe then the advertised 1 hour and 20 minutes ... bit of a shame but funny ... has he sold his house?
QLD Pops – Broadway Spectacular - West End to Broadway
Poingant Moving World Class
ratingratingratingratingrating
Share On Facebook 4
8:11 PM - 16/08/2014
By Theresa Cumming
I am a regular theatre goer and lover of the arts but this concert trumped most that I have seen in a long time. My guests and I were truly wrapped and moved by this world class performance. The highlights were the pure and magical voices of Silvie Paladino and Kane Alexander. They really gave an ethereal performance that was passionate and enchanting. Not to be missed with the magic choir, dancers and wonderful music. We were tempted to get dinner and come back for the night performance. Something special (standing performance even the matinée) congratulations to all involved.
Rolling Thunder Vietnam
rolling thunder vietnam
ratingratingratingratingrating
Share On Facebook 0
1:44 PM - 15/08/2014
By bill
Exccelent ii gave an OVERVIEW of vietnam that then enabled you to REMEMBER YOUR 1 YEAR TERM about ALL the issues that you beautifully raised (Mate imjured, Mates dead, Dear Jonhs, Letter from home, life style. OP outside the wire? and as i did two tours (opened Nui Dat with the 173rd May 66 and last man to leave Nui Dat Oct 71. What the showe did was to reduce ALL those years (and happening (even when I was not there) into hundreds of powerfull memeories. So for that reason it was great. Sadly I ONLY remeber the sad and non of the good? I was a regular soldier and MOST feal for the NASHO who expereince AL of what I did but on RETURNING to his country home town was called a Baby Killer And YES it WAS much worse for the yanks?
Rolling Thunder Vietnam
Absolutely Fabulous
ratingratingratingratingrating
Share On Facebook 0
7:41 AM - 15/08/2014
By Karen Absalom
I grew up in the Vietnam era and the protests. I also saw the other side with family members in the forces. The show took me back. It was the best show I have seen in a while. Chong Lim and the band were their normal brilliant entity but the stand out were the young stars who gave everything into the performance. Well done
Rolling Thunder Vietnam
Best QPAC show so far
ratingratingratingratingrating
Share On Facebook 2
6:31 PM - 13/08/2014
By David
My wife's opinion that this show was the best QPAC show she has attended and i must agree. I grew up in the Veitnam war era and missed possible consription by purely a change of govermnment. The show was a mix of young talented singers with well known and proven muso's. Guitar work was magnificent. If you love watching gifted talent singing clasic songs depicting a time when Austalians and Americans questioned decisions made by our elected representatives, this a show for you.
Take Me Home – The Music & Life of John Denver
Brilliant
ratingratingratingratingrating
Share On Facebook 0
12:51 PM - 13/08/2014
By Marichen
Fabulous . Please come back to Brisbane
Kate Miller-Heidke
Kate Miller-Heidke - Brisbane
ratingratingratingratingrating
Share On Facebook 0
6:12 AM - 13/08/2014
By John Swan
I had looked forward to this night for so long and it was as perfect as I knew it would be. Kate's support, Ryan Keen, was a great opener and such a high quality performer. Kate and her band performed the high quality concert I have got used to when attending her performances .. I look forward to her next concert. My 39 year old daughter came with me and saw her for the first time and has not stopped talking about her both as a musician and performer.
1984 by George Orwell
Quite Spectacular
ratingratingratingratingrating
Share On Facebook 0
2:41 PM - 12/08/2014
By Susan
A good performance overall but relied quite heavily of past research to fully grasp understanding.
Le Noir – The Dark Side of Cirque
WOW WOW WOW
ratingratingratingratingrating
Share On Facebook 4
7:21 PM - 9/08/2014
By Michelle Cartlidge
What talented young ladies and gentlemen. The audience was captivated from start to finish. The costumes breathtaking, the acts enthralling, including audience members was certainly a plus and the MC's comedy act was hilarious. The gravity defying acts were just mind blowing. Everyone has to see this show!!!
75 Years on Buddy Holly in Concert
Excellent !
ratingratingratingratingrating
Share On Facebook 0