Queensland Performing Arts Centre

QPAC Event Reviews

Event Review Score Genre
Write a Review
Le Noir – The Dark Side of Cirque
Outstanding Performances & Costuming
ratingratingratingratingrating
Share On Facebook 4
2:53 PM - 8/09/2014
By Mel
Circuses these days are no longer the cliched big-top with poorly treated animals. Now we have amazing performers with incredible skills, and Le Noir is no exception. Spectacular physical feats from performers with and without props, demonstrating strength, dexterity, flexibility, and humour. The costuming was wonderful, with the colour themes progressing through the show with white, black and red. There were some 'gasp' moments too, especially during the finale on the double-wheeled Wheel of Death, where two performers ran on the inside AND outside of the wheels. A wonderful combination of dance, acrobatics and humour makes this a must see. Oh, but for adults only! The only downside was that, from our side row balcony seats, there were a couple of times when we could not see what was happening as our view was partially restricted.
American Ballet Theatre – Three Masterpieces
ratingratingratingratingrating
Share On Facebook 0
2:47 PM - 8/09/2014
By Mel
This show was made up of three performances, each quite different from the other. The first was very bare, with only a solo violin for music, and the performers in flesh-coloured costumes. The dancing was somewhat convoluted and hard to follow. Throughout the three shows, the dancers seemed to be often off with the synchronised dancing (which another reviewer notes of the ABT's Swan Lake show). The second performance was also basic, this time with a piano on stage, but was more enjoyable to watch than the first. The third performance was very different. It had a set and a storyline. The music was great; a full orchestra, performing jazz rather than classical. There were only 6 dancers in this performance. The music and the dancing were great, but the 'storyline' was quite appalling. The performance consisted of three men (naval officers on leave) harassing a lone woman on the street, including groping her and taking her handbag. A second woman was later harassed by one of the men. The two women were consistently trying to get away from the men, and this was presented as supposedly funny. It was shocking to see harassment dealt with in such a cavalier fashion, and presented as something comical. It was a relief to see that at least in the end, the women managed to get away from the men, but this didn't necessarily demonstrate that the message was 'sexual harassment is not ok'. It was sexist (presenting men as nothing more than aggressive fighters who harass women; & an acceptance of sexual harassment of women) and did not need to be. It could have been presented with the same music and quality dancing in a manner that showed men on shore leave romancing rather than harassing women. The music was upbeat and echoed this 'fun' and 'comedic' attitude of the performance. It is shocking that an international ballet company would consider this an acceptable theme to present in a performance, especially when the dancers' performances were excellent.
American Ballet Theatre – Swan Lake
Disappointed, but for Odette
ratingratingratingratingrating
Share On Facebook 0
8:56 PM - 7/09/2014
By Angela
This was my first time to the Ballet and I've been wanting to see Swan Lake for many years. I was disappointed that most of the performers seemed out of time and this was confirmed when I chatted to the ladies beside us during the interval, who mentioned they had seen Swan Lake many times. The only saving grace was Odette's performance which was mind blowing! After paying a premium rate to get two of the last seats available, I definitely expected more. It's also disappointing that we couldn't take a photo of the cast after the show had completed.
The Last Confession
ratingratingratingratingrating
Share On Facebook 0
10:00 PM - 24/08/2014
By Jayne
Enjoyed the play didn't know quite what to expect but thoroughly enjoyed it, to see such a great actor was a treat I'll not forget to soon my friends found the first half a bit slow but the second half made up for it. Wonderful and through provoking
Rolling Thunder Vietnam
FANTASTIC SHOW!!!
ratingratingratingratingrating
Share On Facebook 0
7:27 PM - 23/08/2014
By Rob Robertson
If you are a Vietnam Veteran, Baby Boomer and love Rock and Roll of the 60's, or if you just want to see a great entertaining show do not miss this one. The Cast and Band are excellent. Please make a DVD of the Show. Thank you from a Vet.
The Last Confession
The Last Confession
ratingratingratingratingrating
Share On Facebook 0
8:57 AM - 23/08/2014
By Hilary
Mesmerising. Great set, slick scene changes and wonderful acting. It was one of the best plays we have ever seen. Thank you to all involved for a wonderful afternoon that we'll remember for a long time.
The Last Confession
Brilliant David Suchet
ratingratingratingratingrating
Share On Facebook 0
5:57 AM - 22/08/2014
By Sue Baker
My father and I are big Agatha Christie/Hercule Poirot fans, was very impressed with the entire cast and performances in this play. David Suchet was brilliant, my admiration for his talent has certainly greatly increased.....bonus of the day was the father/daughter bonding at this very amazing play. David Suchet - you rock!
The Last Confession
The Last Confession
ratingratingratingratingrating
Share On Facebook 0
7:20 PM - 21/08/2014
By Missy T
David Suchet showed his skill as an actor who, although maybe perceived as the definitive "Poirot", cannot be type-cast. He was well supported by the full cast. What did happen to the gentle Pope, John Paul? We'll never know.
The Last Confession
The Last Confession
ratingratingratingratingrating
Share On Facebook 2
3:35 PM - 21/08/2014
By Julienne
It was well directed with some great performances. The politics of The Vatican was similar to normal office politics. Let down a little by the script. It is Roger Crane the playwright's first play and I think it shows. The second half develops nicely and there is a little more depth in the characters but disappointed in the script.
The Last Confession
The Last Confession
ratingratingratingratingrating
Share On Facebook 0
11:27 AM - 21/08/2014
By Tony Nesci
It was great to see the absolute absence of any religious mysticism. The reality of behind-the-scenes intrigue...part and parcel of The Vatican...was portrayed well. I feel it lacked some depth regarding the questionable demise of John Paul...but I attribute that to expecting more "Poirot sleuthing"...from a character that just wasn't in this play. Still, it certainly was David's play... I give it four stars...
Le Noir – The Dark Side of Cirque
Amazing! Can I have it on dvd to watch it over again
ratingratingratingratingrating
Share On Facebook 2
9:34 PM - 17/08/2014
By Jessie Emerson
Fantastic mix of incredible acts, breathtaking stunts and a very ckeeky fool. Le Noir giving us a circus with a dark side, a gothic persuasion and erotic themes, not one for the little ones but definitely worth every cent you pay to see it. All I want to know now is, is it on dvd so I can relieve the spectacular spectical again and again
Akmal
Funny but quick
ratingratingratingratingrating
Share On Facebook 0
6:35 PM - 17/08/2014
By Dale Norris
Akmal has always been funny but last night (16 August) the show was incredibly short, Pete Willy (tragic name) opened for 15 minutes and akmal was on for an hour rathe then the advertised 1 hour and 20 minutes ... bit of a shame but funny ... has he sold his house?
QLD Pops – Broadway Spectacular - West End to Broadway
Poingant Moving World Class
ratingratingratingratingrating
Share On Facebook 4
8:11 PM - 16/08/2014
By Theresa Cumming
I am a regular theatre goer and lover of the arts but this concert trumped most that I have seen in a long time. My guests and I were truly wrapped and moved by this world class performance. The highlights were the pure and magical voices of Silvie Paladino and Kane Alexander. They really gave an ethereal performance that was passionate and enchanting. Not to be missed with the magic choir, dancers and wonderful music. We were tempted to get dinner and come back for the night performance. Something special (standing performance even the matinée) congratulations to all involved.
Rolling Thunder Vietnam
rolling thunder vietnam
ratingratingratingratingrating
Share On Facebook 0
1:44 PM - 15/08/2014
By bill
Exccelent ii gave an OVERVIEW of vietnam that then enabled you to REMEMBER YOUR 1 YEAR TERM about ALL the issues that you beautifully raised (Mate imjured, Mates dead, Dear Jonhs, Letter from home, life style. OP outside the wire? and as i did two tours (opened Nui Dat with the 173rd May 66 and last man to leave Nui Dat Oct 71. What the showe did was to reduce ALL those years (and happening (even when I was not there) into hundreds of powerfull memeories. So for that reason it was great. Sadly I ONLY remeber the sad and non of the good? I was a regular soldier and MOST feal for the NASHO who expereince AL of what I did but on RETURNING to his country home town was called a Baby Killer And YES it WAS much worse for the yanks?
Rolling Thunder Vietnam
Absolutely Fabulous
ratingratingratingratingrating
Share On Facebook 0
7:41 AM - 15/08/2014
By Karen Absalom
I grew up in the Vietnam era and the protests. I also saw the other side with family members in the forces. The show took me back. It was the best show I have seen in a while. Chong Lim and the band were their normal brilliant entity but the stand out were the young stars who gave everything into the performance. Well done
Rolling Thunder Vietnam
Best QPAC show so far
ratingratingratingratingrating
Share On Facebook 2
6:31 PM - 13/08/2014
By David
My wife's opinion that this show was the best QPAC show she has attended and i must agree. I grew up in the Veitnam war era and missed possible consription by purely a change of govermnment. The show was a mix of young talented singers with well known and proven muso's. Guitar work was magnificent. If you love watching gifted talent singing clasic songs depicting a time when Austalians and Americans questioned decisions made by our elected representatives, this a show for you.
Take Me Home – The Music & Life of John Denver
Brilliant
ratingratingratingratingrating
Share On Facebook 0
12:51 PM - 13/08/2014
By Marichen
Fabulous . Please come back to Brisbane
Kate Miller-Heidke
Kate Miller-Heidke - Brisbane
ratingratingratingratingrating
Share On Facebook 0
6:12 AM - 13/08/2014
By John Swan
I had looked forward to this night for so long and it was as perfect as I knew it would be. Kate's support, Ryan Keen, was a great opener and such a high quality performer. Kate and her band performed the high quality concert I have got used to when attending her performances .. I look forward to her next concert. My 39 year old daughter came with me and saw her for the first time and has not stopped talking about her both as a musician and performer.
1984 by George Orwell
Quite Spectacular
ratingratingratingratingrating
Share On Facebook 0
2:41 PM - 12/08/2014
By Susan
A good performance overall but relied quite heavily of past research to fully grasp understanding.
Le Noir – The Dark Side of Cirque
WOW WOW WOW
ratingratingratingratingrating
Share On Facebook 4
7:21 PM - 9/08/2014
By Michelle Cartlidge
What talented young ladies and gentlemen. The audience was captivated from start to finish. The costumes breathtaking, the acts enthralling, including audience members was certainly a plus and the MC's comedy act was hilarious. The gravity defying acts were just mind blowing. Everyone has to see this show!!!
75 Years on Buddy Holly in Concert
Excellent !
ratingratingratingratingrating
Share On Facebook 0
3:08 PM - 4/08/2014
By Daniele
Great music, played GREAT- especially 'Jo' the saxophonist.
Queensland Ballet - Flourish
Great Maturity
ratingratingratingratingrating
Share On Facebook 0
12:42 PM - 3/08/2014
By Zoe
This review is not about comparing Queensland Ballet to other great ballet ensembles which have graced the stage of Qpac but about commending QB on its amazing growth and new found maturity. The diversity and talent displayed at last nights performance of Flourish was magnificent and even though some dancers had moments that made me hold my breath for fear of stumbling other times it was the beauty of the movement that made me gasp. Bravo and Brava!
Queensland Ballet - Flourish
Flourish
ratingratingratingratingrating
Share On Facebook 0
5:19 AM - 2/08/2014
By Jason
Sensational, if your only going to see one ballet this year make this the one!
1984 by George Orwell
a must see!
ratingratingratingratingrating
Share On Facebook 0
11:53 AM - 21/07/2014
By Michael
I loved this show. It was so well put together and everything just worked seamlessly. I loved the use of the screens - and as an avid Orwell fan I was so happy with the adaptation. Go and see if you can get a ticket.
Expressions Dance Company – The Red Shoes
Beautifully Human
ratingratingratingratingrating
Share On Facebook 0
11:36 AM - 21/07/2014
By Jonathan
What a stunningly beautiful performance. I went with a friend to this show, unaware of what The Red Shoes is about. I came away with a new appreciation for dance and the ability to tell a story so resonantly without words. Everything worked together to draw me in to this story. The music was a feature without dragging my focus away. The dancing amazing, strong and graceful, full of expression and emotion. All the tech, set, sound and lighting, breathed as the story unfolded, weaved, built and stripped back. Such creative and beautifully human story telling.
1984 by George Orwell
just good
ratingratingratingratingrating
Share On Facebook 0
5:48 PM - 18/07/2014
By lewis
was a good play with a great use of multimedia although the screens overplayed the actors a bit much. the main character winston blurred his words and was very un relatable.
1984 by George Orwell
DOUBLE PLUS GOOD
ratingratingratingratingrating
Share On Facebook 2
2:06 PM - 18/07/2014
By Tara Cook
This was an amazing piece of theatre. I saw it in 2012 and loved it again this time around. Wasn't David Whitney just spectacular, along with the entire cast (and crew I imagine!) Thank you Shake and Stir for making theatre so relevant and accessible for all.
1984 by George Orwell
1984
ratingratingratingratingrating
Share On Facebook 0
1:13 PM - 18/07/2014
By George Martin
Brilliant "Truth" A must see.
1984 by George Orwell
Brilliant Theatre - world class
ratingratingratingratingrating
Share On Facebook 0
12:12 AM - 18/07/2014
By Chris
Absolutely brilliant piece of theatre. Powerful and moving work. Highly recommend you go and see this. Bryan Proberts is honest, truthful and understatedly powerful in his role as Winston. Brilliant.
The White Album Concert Tour
White album bought to life
ratingratingratingratingrating
Share On Facebook 0
7:58 PM - 17/07/2014
By Jeff Owen
Incredible show. Four Australian front men all starring, Chris Cheney brilliant on While my guitar, Phil Jameson funny and soulful, Josh Pike did the soft songs well, Tim Rogers gets to play the clown. The band superb. Given the Beatles themselves never would have performed these songs all credit to Rex and his arranging. As one of Tim's asides if you like this we might come back and do something else, maybe Abbey road?
Anthony Warlow and Faith Prince
Anthony Warlow
ratingratingratingratingrating
Share On Facebook 0
9:25 PM - 9/07/2014
By Elsie mutton
As usual AW was brilliant but I did not enjoy this concert as much as his last. Faiths voice did not connect and I did not get the usual tingle down the spine.
Queensland Ballet - MacMillan's Romeo & Juliet
Li's Dancers
ratingratingratingratingrating
Share On Facebook 2
1:04 PM - 3/07/2014
By Lyn
Brilliant Performance. Move over Bolshoi ! The Dancers, Orchestra, Costumes, Choreography & Lighting were so magnificent & exquisitely attuned to transport one into the period of this Ballet. Steve McRae was a Master Romeo with Natasha Kusch as Juliet a perfect match - both as light as feathers with beautiful grace & skill. The Sword Fights were unbelievable with gripping scenes. Most outstanding was the obvious team effort & focus with every dancer acting as well as dancing their part. all with such fluidity. Qld Ballet is undoubtedly the cream of Australian ballet & this performance sets an enviable position for the most acclaimed Ballet Companies world wide.
Hello Korea!
Excellent
ratingratingratingratingrating
Share On Facebook 0
7:56 AM - 3/07/2014
By Lara
I though this was a wonderful interactive interesting amusing and very creative art work to enjoy. My 4 year old son loved it too. And the creative art works they were able to create as part of the Out of the Box Festival was truly wonderful. I'm going to share this as many people as I can as it's a must see!
My Baby Just Cares For Me - Rachael Beck and David Hobson
David Hobson and Rachael Beck
ratingratingratingratingrating
Share On Facebook 0
8:31 AM - 13/06/2014
By Wendy Phillipson
What a great nights entertainment. The chemistry between the two was magic. Choice of songs was interesting and entertaining. Didn't want it to end.
The TEN Tenors on Broadway
Ten Tenors On Broadway - Lyric Theayre 7 June 2014
ratingratingratingratingrating
Share On Facebook 6
4:11 PM - 10/06/2014
By David
As usual the Ten Tenors performed brilliantly. The performance of the Broadway hits was an outstanding success and a great evening of entertainment. However there was one aspect of the show that was disappointing, and that was the fact that there was no backing orchestra for such a talented group of artists, only a drummer, pianist and a laptop computer. I don't know if this is the case for all performances, but if it is, audiences are being let down.
Cribbie - The Suburb That  Disappeared
cribbie
ratingratingratingratingrating
Share On Facebook 0
7:18 PM - 8/06/2014
By Tony Jones
I remember growing up at cribbie, I'm 47 and I still remember it so vividly like it was yesterday, this play Is amazing there are a few stories in there about my granddad and family. I was in tears of laughter and sadness with the part with my grandma underneath the rose Bush I was there the day we scattered her ash's. It was very well done and can't wait to see it again..
UQ Titan
Brillant
ratingratingratingratingrating
Share On Facebook 1
1:39 PM - 4/06/2014
By Julie Byrnes
Sensational concert. Sorry for those that missed it.
The King & I
The King and I
ratingratingratingratingrating
Share On Facebook 1
2:03 PM - 2/06/2014
By Margaret Frame
A magical experience. Took my daughter who lives in New York and she rated it better than many she has seen there.
The King & I
Something wonderful!
ratingratingratingratingrating
Share On Facebook 0
5:48 PM - 1/06/2014
By Natalie P
What a great night at the theatre. This production just epitomises everything a good musical should be. Fantastic singing, convincing acting, sumptuous sets and songs you can't get out of your head. The orchestra deserves a mention. They were superb. Teddy Tahu Rhodes was a damn sexy King and Lisa Mc Cune was clearly born to play the role of Anna. Her voice was pure magic, every note a triumph. Such a beautiful production. You'll leave whistling a happy tune.
The King & I
The King and I
ratingratingratingratingrating
Share On Facebook 0
3:23 PM - 27/05/2014
By Warren Huby
Excellent production and great cast however the sound projection on the night we attended was average. We were in row I and it could be difficult to hear and at some points, understand the actors.
Maestro Series 4: Poet of the Guitar
False advertising at it's worst
ratingratingratingratingrating
Share On Facebook 0
11:15 PM - 24/05/2014
By Rastus Germumple
Promoted as Poet Of The Guitar one could rightly expect Karin Schaupp to perform for more than half an hour out of the two hours plus of the whole show. But that's all she appeared in. Playing beautifully in the Concerto de Aranjuez and Recuerdos del Alahambras was it. The rest was mainly boring, more obscure pieces from the other composers and a very capable orchestra wasted on lesser pieces and Jumping Jack Flash the conducter. Aprt from Karin a waste of time and money and QPAC should be ashamed for such blatant false advertising. A refund would be appreciated.
The King & I
Great show
ratingratingratingratingrating
Share On Facebook 2
5:38 PM - 24/05/2014
By Jon Hui
As a family this was the first time we'd gone to a show at QPAC. Not disappointed and now we have the bug. We will attend more shows to be sure.
DORIS: Doris Day - So Much More Than the Girl Next Door
seamless, inspired performance, and personality.
ratingratingratingratingrating
Share On Facebook 0
6:26 PM - 22/05/2014
By fran rabbitts
What a voice, and connection with the audience, Melinda Schneider, has it all, charisma, dancing, she's a storyteller, that took the audience with her, on the remarkable journey of Doris Day.
Russell Howard - Wonderbox
Funny as balls
ratingratingratingratingrating
Share On Facebook 0
1:43 PM - 22/05/2014
By Thomas
This was one of his best acts, any one know his supporting act name?
DORIS: Doris Day - So Much More Than the Girl Next Door
Doris
ratingratingratingratingrating
Share On Facebook 0
9:35 AM - 22/05/2014
By Lajla Nystad
Fantastic performance! It kept us captivated from start till finish! Thanks Melinda!
The King & I
The King and I
ratingratingratingratingrating
Share On Facebook 3
8:59 AM - 19/05/2014
By Joan Whitham
I thought this could be a good show, however I was amazed at how good this show really was, costumes and performances. We truly loved this show
QLD Pops – 30th Anniversary Concert – The POPS Greatest Hits
Qld Pops Orchestra
ratingratingratingratingrating
Share On Facebook 0
8:12 AM - 19/05/2014
By Joan Whitham
The first time we have ever attended a Qld Pops Orchestra Concert but it will not be our last. This was a really good night, loved the music, really well done. Great show
An Evening with Petula Clark
A Night With Petula Clark
ratingratingratingratingrating
Share On Facebook 0
8:09 AM - 19/05/2014
By Joan Whitham
What a good night this proved to be, really glad we went along. Petula is a good entertainer and her voice is still good
QLD Pops – 30th Anniversary Concert – The POPS Greatest Hits
30th Anniversary Concert Matinee
ratingratingratingratingrating
Share On Facebook 2
9:16 AM - 18/05/2014
By Pamela Rayner
What a wonderful concert the POPs 30th Anniversary Concert was. Many thanks to Conductor Patrick Pickett and the wonderful POPs Orchestra. And the icing on the cake was Mirusia Louwerse and Gregory Moore. Definitely a 5 star rating! Congratulations and a big thank you.
QLD Pops – 30th Anniversary Concert – The POPS Greatest Hits
The Qld Pops are the " Greatest "
ratingratingratingratingrating
Share On Facebook 2
8:19 PM - 17/05/2014
By Patricia
Absolutely brilliant. The whole concert was outstanding. Wonderful program. Such talented singers and musicians. The performance by Mirusia was breathtaking, unforgettable. I feel honoured to have heard her sing. Still have goose bumps.
The King & I
The King and I...live.
ratingratingratingratingrating
Share On Facebook 0
7:39 PM - 17/05/2014
By Deb Davidson
My daughter and I saw the show today. We were transported into another world, another time and another place. As a child I loved the movie and now to see it come alive before me. What a special time! Thank you for this wonderful memory.
The King & I
Kin g and I
ratingratingratingratingrating
Share On Facebook 0
12:37 PM - 15/05/2014
By Jill Mclaughlin
Wonderful show like the little children and thought Young Riley Brooker as Louis was excellent. He will be seen in the later years on Broadway, I am sure of that, such talent at a young age.
The King & I
King and I
ratingratingratingratingrating
Share On Facebook 0
6:26 PM - 13/05/2014
By Ellen Cutugno
Today I went to the 1.30pm show, not knowing what to expect? Well I was suprised how the show took me back to a holiday in the country, Wow! fantastic show, so glad I went today. Don't miss it! WELL DONE!!!
Admission: One Shilling
Admission one Shilling
ratingratingratingratingrating
Share On Facebook 0
10:00 AM - 13/05/2014
By Pauline Seath
I was greatly moved by the presentation of this story.Patricia Routledge was the perfect choice for this role as not only has a beautiful speaking voice but a natural ability to intone the required depth of emotion this story reveals. Piers lane was outstanding playing the chosen pieces with such passion and sensitivity his style thrilling and embracing my soul When I first saw this advertised I just knew I had to see it The lighting and stage setting was simple but profound in its enhancement of the story I learned a lot about the feelings of the British people during the war and how a woman's passion for music uplifted them Brilliantly !!! Congratulations to the producers and stage crew I will never forget how this wonderful production made me feel! MELBOURNE PEOPLE DON"T MISS IT!!
The King & I
A world away
ratingratingratingratingrating
Share On Facebook 0
6:17 PM - 6/05/2014
By Paula Ingerson
Lisa McCune. What a world away from the Tv series of Blue Heelers and what a voice! Wow! And Teddy was a brilliant King. The King just has to have that voice and Teddy has it. Costumes had to be seen to be believed. To cast and crew and everyone involved, thank you.
The King & I
The best show
ratingratingratingratingrating
Share On Facebook 1
7:10 AM - 1/05/2014
By Jennifer Gleeson
Worth every cent we paid for the tickets - wonderful music and acting - Shu-Cheen Yu as No.1 wife was superb - made my skin tingle when she sang, Teddy and Lisa were perfect and the children were gorgeous. Fantastic memories
The King & I
Very very good
ratingratingratingratingrating
Share On Facebook 2
10:46 AM - 28/04/2014
By Tony
Wow, what a show & probably the best musical I have ever seen. was entertaining, funny & a joy to watch. Sets were briilant & cast excellent.
Queensland Ballet - Coppélia
A Night of Joyous Enchantment
ratingratingratingratingrating
Share On Facebook 0
7:22 AM - 27/04/2014
By Jennifer Robinson
What a delightful evening spent under the spell of Queensland Ballet's beautifully executed and enchanting "Coppelia'. As a patron who normally favours musical theatre on my regular visits to QPAC, and after having witnessed only two other ballet productions before, I was pleasantly surprised and thoroughly entertained by the calibre of the dancers and the witty storyline, The costumes and setting were beautiful - well suited to the era and location - and the manner in which the story was told - both in an overlaid film sequence and the skillful dance/acting - made it easy to understand the tale unfolding without the benefit of dialogue! (I told you I'm used to musical theatre!!) The music performed by a very talented orchestra was a wonderful accompaniment and made all the better by a lovely friend's daughter, Marielle, who was on the French Horn. And by pure coincidence, my next novel 'Broken Pieces' (written using my pen name Jennifer Larmar) actually contains a few chapters where my heroine is a cellist in the orchestra pit at QPAC! My earlier novels, Silken Images and Fractured Symphony already contain portions of QPAC's show history in fiction form! As you can see, music is in my blood. My visit was a last minute invitation to fill in for someone who couldn't attend so I wasn't at all sure what to expect. Thank you to everyone involved for a lovely night of entertainment, especially the exceptional dance troupe. Bravo!
The King & I
Excellent
ratingratingratingratingrating
Share On Facebook 6
5:09 PM - 23/04/2014
By Nadine and Alison
My daughter and I saw the matinee today and it was fantastic. Costumes, sets incredible. The singing and acting wonderful. Beyond expectations.
The King & I
The King and I
ratingratingratingratingrating
Share On Facebook 1
10:32 AM - 23/04/2014
By Valerie Vaughan
Absolutely fabulous .Loved the fabulous dance scene. Want to go again
The King & I
A 'must see' production
ratingratingratingratingrating
Share On Facebook 1
10:01 AM - 23/04/2014
By Margaret & John Fancourt
In a word, "magnificent". Every aspect was absolutely fabulous; evoked emotions never before encountered in a stage production.
The King & I
Not to be missed
ratingratingratingratingrating
Share On Facebook 2
6:59 PM - 22/04/2014
By Pauline Gaule
Not enough glowing words to describe this show. If opening night is anything to go by it is going to be a glorious run. So good I have booked for two more times
The King & I
Great show poor seating
ratingratingratingratingrating
Share On Facebook 0
12:39 PM - 20/04/2014
By Sharni Hughes
The show was brilliant. The seats within the theatre where terrible. Six of us attended and all had the same issue. Sore tail bones and uncomfortable during the performance . Seat numbers K21 - K26
The King & I
Disappointed
ratingratingratingratingrating
Share On Facebook 0
7:26 PM - 19/04/2014
By Ann Campbell
Let Thursday night we saw the King & I production at the Lyric. The costumes and scenery were sensational. I was however really disappointed with the acoustics. It was difficult to be fully immersed in the story as it was so hard to hear the dialogue from the main characters. I had been so looking forward to this show however I walked away feeling disappointed.
The King & I
Performance 17/04
ratingratingratingratingrating
Share On Facebook 0
9:14 AM - 18/04/2014
By Ann
The overall production & costumes were fantastic but we found it very difficult to understand the dialogue between the characters. It was hard to hear & the lines were spoken very fast in the accent making it difficult to understand.This hampered our ability to truly immerse ourselves with the characters and follow the storyline.
The King & I
Wonderful show, sound not so great
ratingratingratingratingrating
Share On Facebook 0
4:48 PM - 16/04/2014
By Karen Moore-Evans
Unfortunaly the sound system did not do the show justice. A wonderful show, beautiful costumes and scenery. The children were enchanting. The keDing lady was lovely and the leading man a triumph. It was such a shame that the sound system seemed lacking, particularly during dialogue. I have seen several shows here and never had a concern about the sound, however it was obvious to me throughout the performance. If the sound had been as it was on previous visits I would have given 5 stars.
Paco Pena Flamencura
Disappointed
ratingratingratingratingrating
Share On Facebook 5
11:39 AM - 13/04/2014
By Kerry
Performance would have been okay if you were sitting on the stage next to them but with no introductions or explanations to the audience of the music and who the performers were and combined with positioning on the stage the audience felt like they were not important. Paco Pena was not visible from the audience half the time facing inwards towards other entertainers. Shame because they only engaged with the audience at the end and we got a feel for who they were and their personality. No listing of music played in the programme so all round disappointing.
Paco Pena Flamencura
Flamenco in Brisbane
ratingratingratingratingrating
Share On Facebook 0
12:12 AM - 13/04/2014
By R Murias
I am still tingling. Castanets. Twirling, pulsating, stomping dance. Hanting vocals. Silhouettes against tangerine backdrops. All bathed in the mesmeric Paco Pena strings. World class entertainment in Brisbane.
Macbeth
Witchy and wonderful
ratingratingratingratingrating
Share On Facebook 0
11:22 AM - 11/04/2014
By Elise
If you want to see malevolent and mischievious witches dancing (or should I say slithering) in the dark don't miss MacBeth. If you want to see ripped men's bodies and great delivery of the faultless lines of the Bard don't miss MacBeth. “Fair is foul, and foul is fair, hover through fog and filthy air.”
Macbeth
Come roam the darkened corridors of a madman's mind
ratingratingratingratingrating
Share On Facebook 2
4:36 PM - 30/03/2014
By Damsel Martin
http://www.weekendnotes.com/macbeth-playhouse-qpac/ When British director Michael Attenborough took on the challenge of translating a play set in 11th Century Scotland to the modern-day subtropical climes of Queensland, it turned out not to be such a stretch after all. As if lured by some supernatural force for atmospheric effect, storms rolled through Brisbane on the opening night of Macbeth at QPAC's Playhouse, forcing theatre-goers to brandish umbrellas and battle the elements as a prelude to this much-anticipated production. And it was certainly worth the steamed-up glasses and soggy feet. A joint production by the Queensland Theatre Company and the Grin & Tonic Theatre Troupe, Macbeth breathed contemporary life into Shakespeare's darkest tragedy. The play opens with the three writhing witches (Ellen Bailey, Lauren Jackson and Courtney Stewart) who prophesise Macbeth's ascent to the throne. Seductive and repulsive in equal measure, the witches' revelations propel Macbeth (Jason Klarwein) and his scheming wife (Veronica Neave) along the bloody path that sees this hyper-ambitious man first slay the current king Duncan and then anyone else who stands in his way. As the action unfolds, audience members are exposed to extreme and bloody violence but that's not the reason I broke out in goosebumps several times over more than two hours of action. Rather, as Attenborough explains, Macbeth 'shines a torch into the deepest recesses of the human psyche'. Just by sitting in this darkened theatre, we become unwitting accomplices to Macbeth's descent into ever-darker states of mind. The horror in the play is thus not contained in the swordfights, but rather the emergence of evil: 'O! full of scorpions is my mind, dear wife!' the lead character cries. Macbeth is leavened with humour, too, which largely arises from Macbeth's increasingly bizarre behaviour as he begins to see the ghosts of those he's killed. I enjoyed witnessing the palpable chemistry between lead actors Klarwein and Neave - for Macbeth is a love story too. 'Theirs is one of the happiest marriages in Shakespeare,' says Attenborough. 'The agony of the play comes in watching them move apart.' Macbeth was visually and aurally delectable, with pulsing sound effects, a deep backdrop of giant gnarled trees and lighting that evoked a sense of thick, steamy air. The actors dressed in simple, sparse clothing, presenting as unshaven, long-haired and wild. The only colour appears after the first murder, when Lady Macbeth dons a scarlet gown, her gathering madness evident even then. Such choices were made, says Attenborough, 'because people living on the edge of survival in this climate (Queensland) would be sticky, hot and wearing very little.' Do you need to be familiar with the story of Macbeth to appreciate the play? It helps, but isn't strictly necessary. Attenborough and his team of energetic actors have created an accessible production which is fairly self-contained. 'As a director, you have to assume a virgin view of (the story),' he says. In acknowledgement that some Elizabethan turns of phrase can be tough for modern audiences to comprehend, he admits that 'if the lines don't serve their purpose, I have no sentimentality about changing them ... I think Shakespeare would approve. If there are references in there that (contemporary audiences) have no hope of getting, he'd be saying, 'Cut it out, cut it out'.' The current season of Macbeth runs until 13 April 2014.
Macbeth
Macbeth
ratingratingratingratingrating
Share On Facebook 0
8:38 AM - 30/03/2014
By Di Joyner
great production, great mood and great acting, very enjoyable
Macbeth
MacBeth
ratingratingratingratingrating
Share On Facebook 0
8:21 AM - 30/03/2014
By Christine Coleman
Fantastic
Rigoletto
Fantastico!!
ratingratingratingratingrating
Share On Facebook 0
10:08 AM - 26/03/2014
By Jess
This performance of "Rigoletto" by Opera Queensland was my first real opera experience (at the ripe age of 30!) - and I could not have asked for a more entertaining night! The acting by the main characters is superb, and they have the amazing voices to match. This was an energetic show, with every singer throwing themselves into their parts with gusto but also believability. I laughed along, I felt sympathy for Rigoletto, I had shivers and goosebumps several times during each act! Even though it is quite a tragic storyline, I was grinning like an idiot for almost two hours straight, I was so happily encapsulated by this show! The Orchestra must also be commended - the music is beautiful, at times solemn and others cheerful. The musicians didn't miss a beat, and I thoroughly enjoyed the music as much as the singing and acting. A thorougly enjoyable experience, I am so glad I went. Highly recommend to everyone!
Macbeth
Macbeth - Legendary Performance
ratingratingratingratingrating
Share On Facebook 1
8:26 AM - 26/03/2014
By Hayden Dutton
I have seen two previous versions of Shakespeare's greatest tragedy and out of them all none of them have ever compared to this most outstanding version of the play. Immediately as soon as you enter the theatre the haze and mist and the sprawling forest set in front of you sets the stage of the Scottish Highlands that this is set in. Out of the blue thunder and lightning explode in the theatre and the play immediately begins. The Witches were magnificent, their costumes which were dark and ragged already made them significantly better than the other two versions I have seen. Their performance was a mixture of Greek and Physical Theatre as they contorted and moved around in the rhythm of the poetic language which they spoke. The lighting was beautiful, when the forest turned to day orange lighting from the back of the stage illuminated the set with the colour of the sunrise and with the moon the beauteous white lighting on the backdrop of the forest really took you in as though you were actually there. The set itself was a spectacle with slits underneath and cracks in the set to pull up tables for the banquet scene at the end of act 1 or simply for the sprawling mist to come out as the witches crawl from underneath the slits in the wood. Macbeth was played brilliantly and as too was Lady Macbeth in a stunning performance as her evil knew no bounds. The costumes were a mixture of old and modern day era. Silks, robes mixed with army pants and singlets with ye olde weapons made for an interesting formula. This is of course Shakespeare's most violent play and the amount of blood throughout made it so. The battle scenes were fantastic and made the heart pound and the relentless pace of the play was wonderful too. There is much to love about this version of Macbeth however the only criticism that could be made was the omission of two scenes of the play which were probably ommitted to shorten the second act of the play to 50 minutes. Still it was a great night and you would be crazy not to see it, it is a spectacular play and the best version of Macbeth I have ever seen.
Rigoletto
Brilliant
ratingratingratingratingrating
Share On Facebook 0
12:05 AM - 26/03/2014
By Nad
Wonderful performance, best I've seen at qpac so far. Everyone of the singers was outstanding, particularly Gilda and Rigoletto. Could see it over and over again!
Macbeth
Macbeth
ratingratingratingratingrating
Share On Facebook 2
5:36 PM - 25/03/2014
By Helen
A powerful and sensational performance last night. Macbeth you were and had the power to play the role superbly. McDuff your emotion at the loss of your chickens bought tears to my eyes. Sisters you were the most innovative and exciting, the whole cast well done. I have seen many Macbeth productions and this was for me spellbinding, excellent background scenery. Tonight believe in yourselves to the very end.
Rigoletto
What a cracker!
ratingratingratingratingrating
Share On Facebook 0
11:26 AM - 21/03/2014
By Jennifer
This is a terrific production of Rigoletto. There's a lot required of opera singers these days - not only are they expected to be great singers and look the part, they have to act as well! And sometimes they have to do all of these things in strange positions. This cast is well up to the task. Elena Xanthoudakis is a delightful and believable Gilda - she made us laugh and cry. Jud Arthur is seriously scary as Sparafucile. The set was fantastic and Lindy Hume has demonstrated why she is such a highly regarded director of opera. Congratulations Opera Queensland.
The Mountaintop
ratingratingratingratingrating
Share On Facebook 0
11:48 AM - 14/03/2014
By Massimo Ficca
We enjoyed this play, the only criticism is we didn’t think it was necessary trying to imitate the American Blacks English. Imagine if the play was in another language, say Italian, how would you have done that?
Brian McKnight
Brian McKnight
ratingratingratingratingrating
Share On Facebook 0
9:04 PM - 11/03/2014
By Chesley
Absolutely amazing!!
Neil Finn - The Dizzy Heights Tour
Great venue!
ratingratingratingratingrating
Share On Facebook 0
8:37 AM - 11/03/2014
By Steven
Awesome venue, great location and everything right where you need it. It was an enjoyable night!
The Mountaintop
Inspirational
ratingratingratingratingrating
Share On Facebook 0
8:05 PM - 10/03/2014
By Liezel
Teaches you that Martin Luther King was just an ordinary man who moved the world to change, a ordinary man who got people to stand up against injustice. a brilliant performance from both Candy Bowers and Pacharo Mzembe.
The Mountaintop
A definite 'YES'
ratingratingratingratingrating
Share On Facebook 0
5:33 PM - 10/03/2014
By Elizabeth Jameson
A funny, significant, thoughtful, crisp one Act play. What a rare treat. Definitely add this to your list.
The Mountaintop
Loved it!
ratingratingratingratingrating
Share On Facebook 2
4:46 PM - 10/03/2014
By Maree from Kenmore
A great show. Moving, telling and funny. An amazing level of detail and care - Candy Bowers and Pacharo Mzembe are a force to be reckoned with. Don't miss it!
The Mountaintop
Not to be missed.
ratingratingratingratingrating
Share On Facebook 0
4:44 PM - 10/03/2014
By Gemima Watt
One of the most outstanding pieces of theatre I have ever seen. Smart writing with a grand and vital message for all of us, outstanding performances, intiricate direction and the production values are sublime. DO NOT MISS THIS SHOW.
The Mountaintop
A must-see
ratingratingratingratingrating
Share On Facebook 0
4:37 PM - 10/03/2014
By Samantha French
This show is one of QTC's best. There is a palpable sense in the air that this might be something more important than just a night out at the theatre. The baton passes on - we all sense that, if inclined, we can make a change. The cast of this production are two larger-than-life characters, and delightful human beings off the stage. Their insight into what matters and what we are so quick to forget is a healthy reminder that all is not right with the world still. Yet this isn't a 'preach it' kind of show. It's humourous, uplifting and lets all of us 'have a dream'. Please get along and see this. The seasaon comes to a close on Sunday - and it would be sad to be one of the people of Brisbane who say " I wish I had seen that show..."
Neil Finn - The Dizzy Heights Tour
Performance
ratingratingratingratingrating
Share On Facebook 0
2:48 PM - 10/03/2014
By Phil Remaili
Great Show by a great entertainer
Neil Finn - The Dizzy Heights Tour
Neil Finn Dizzy Heights
ratingratingratingratingrating
Share On Facebook 0
4:18 PM - 9/03/2014
By Lesley Ordell
I really enjoyed the show, Neil Finn was brilliant as always. One of the best shows I have been to.
Neil Finn - The Dizzy Heights Tour
Consummate Performer
ratingratingratingratingrating
Share On Facebook 0
2:51 PM - 8/03/2014
By Leisa
Legendary singer-songwriter who keeps evolving and challenging his fans - love it! Great night out, just wish there was more room to dance!
Neil Finn - The Dizzy Heights Tour
Just an average Neil Finn show...superb
ratingratingratingratingrating
Share On Facebook 0
10:21 AM - 8/03/2014
By Mike Collins
As usual Mr Finn delivers a couple of hours of wonderful music and amusing repartee. In terms of the venue, I was very impressed with the acoustics. A 5 star evening.
Brian McKnight
outstanding Knight!
ratingratingratingratingrating
Share On Facebook 0
12:26 PM - 3/03/2014
By Steve
He is the consummate professional. God gifted talent and we were lucky to have tickets. His voice is amazing! How he can maintain it throughout the years, is unbelievable!
Looking Through a Glass Onion
Looking through a Glass Onion
ratingratingratingratingrating
Share On Facebook 0
12:04 PM - 3/03/2014
By George Pasinski
Amazing show! John waters trod expertly through John Lennon's Beatle years and his solo career and to also let us in on the unique and wonderful relationship that JL had with Yoko. The heart beat at the end of the performance was skilful and the tension leading to the point of his death was done in such a respectful and personal manner. On such a simple stage to have the lights mirror the performance was truly engaging plus the venue was just superb as you felt like you were part of the performance. Wonderful show great venue 5 out of 5!
Imperial Suite
Imperial Suite
ratingratingratingratingrating
Share On Facebook 0
8:10 AM - 3/03/2014
By David Brassington
I thoroughly enjoyed this performance and was captivated from the opening bar.
Brian McKnight
Brian McKnight
ratingratingratingratingrating
Share On Facebook 0
7:58 AM - 3/03/2014
By Ricky Burton
Awesom Voice. Knows how to work a Crowd. Great Shiw
Looking Through a Glass Onion
Looking Through a Glass Onion
ratingratingratingratingrating
Share On Facebook 0
4:20 PM - 2/03/2014
By Felicity
John Waters and the pianist were very entertaining. The play was intimate and informative. It bought back a lot of memories of growing up in those times. I noticed most of the audience were baby boomers like us reliving their youth.
Looking Through a Glass Onion
Looking Through a Glass Onion
ratingratingratingratingrating
Share On Facebook 0
8:09 AM - 2/03/2014
By Suellen Yavuzer
My husband & I were wowed by the whole story of John Lennons life through his music. Very up close & personal. Kudos to John Waters & Stewart D'Arrietta, they are amazingly talented folk. Thank you, we loved it!
Manon
Manon
ratingratingratingratingrating
Share On Facebook 0
7:03 AM - 2/03/2014
By lesley Power
Outstanding performance particularly by prima ballerina
Looking Through a Glass Onion
Looking Through a Glass Onion
ratingratingratingratingrating
Share On Facebook 0
8:13 PM - 1/03/2014
By Nicole Goodall
Well done Qpac.This was my first visit and I took my father for his Birthday.We both thoughly enjoyed ourselves.Looking forward to ur next visit.
Imperial Suite
Imperial Suire
ratingratingratingratingrating
Share On Facebook 0
10:22 AM - 1/03/2014
By Sandra McLennan
Wonderful first experience at the ballet.
Looking Through a Glass Onion
Looking Through a Glass Onion
ratingratingratingratingrating
Share On Facebook 2
7:37 AM - 1/03/2014
By Cheryl
Loved the show, John and Stewart you did a marvellous job. We wanted more. Everyone just kept clapping and not really wanting to go.
Manon
Manon
ratingratingratingratingrating
Share On Facebook 0
11:27 PM - 23/02/2014
By C. Sellars
A thoroughly enjoyable few hours being entertained by a lavishly dressed cast moving you through a realm of emotions of the lows and highs, tears, joys and laughter that touches the deep core of each one of us to feel our humanness.
Manon
Manon
ratingratingratingratingrating
Share On Facebook 0
10:38 PM - 23/02/2014
By Alexander Collette
Outstanding!!!!
Manon
Stunning Costumes
ratingratingratingratingrating
Share On Facebook 0
11:41 AM - 23/02/2014
By Stacey T
The costumes and setting were stunning. Main dancer (Manon) was very talented. The drunken scene was quite funny :)
Rocky Horror Show
C Grade show
ratingratingratingratingrating
Share On Facebook 0
9:27 PM - 21/02/2014
By aussie
I was there to watch Rocky Horror expecting to see a great performance but I was bitterly disappointed, Craig McLaughlin was pathetic in looks and sound. The professor in the wheelchair had an Australian accent instead of a German one. I really thought the whole thing was very amateur. I am a massive fan of Rocky Horror and I think this shoe destroyed it. Brad and Janet were very good in the show
Rocky Horror Show
Rocky Horror Show
ratingratingratingratingrating
Share On Facebook 2
5:02 PM - 19/02/2014
By Wendy Kidner
Fantastic show, great cast and costumes, would have loved to seen it again!
Rocky Horror Show
The Rocky Horror Show
ratingratingratingratingrating
Share On Facebook 0
5:24 PM - 18/02/2014
By Margaret Snee
Great Show by everyone. Music was wonderful. Craig Mclaclan stole the show though.
At Last – The Etta James Story
Etta James Story
ratingratingratingratingrating
Share On Facebook 0
8:46 AM - 17/02/2014
By Angela
Wonderful performance. Faultless!
The Hollies
Down Memory lane
ratingratingratingratingrating
Share On Facebook 2
4:51 PM - 16/02/2014
By Renate
it was a fantastic concert, took me back 40 years, when I saw The Hollies in Germany. They still have "it"; just loved it
At Last – The Etta James Story
At Last - The Etta James Story
ratingratingratingratingrating
Share On Facebook 0
11:42 AM - 16/02/2014
By Andrew Philips
The Etta James story was an awesome event, picking Vika Bull to do the singing she is an inspiration. The band was excellent, one of the best performances I've been to.
At Last – The Etta James Story
Etta James
ratingratingratingratingrating
Share On Facebook 0
8:12 AM - 16/02/2014
By Bill Hazel
This show was brilliant apart from one aspect. The volume level was too high for Vicka's brilliant voice. It was difficult to understand the words when she sang the louder songs but the ballads were outstanding. The musicians were incredible
Rocky Horror Show
RHPS Review
ratingratingratingratingrating
Share On Facebook 0
4:52 PM - 15/02/2014
By Tracy Allen
World class performance. Brilliant entertainment. Craig was fantastic, Tim Curry would be proud. Drawback: American accent for Dr Scott; character type cast for Magenta not accurate.
At Last – The Etta James Story
Fantastic Show
ratingratingratingratingrating
Share On Facebook 0
12:41 PM - 15/02/2014
By MMorrison
Vika has an AMAZING voice. The show was entertaining but the voice was the clincher. Powerful performance!
At Last – The Etta James Story
At Last, The Etta James Story.
ratingratingratingratingrating
Share On Facebook 0
11:57 AM - 15/02/2014
By Y Thompson
Last night my Husband and I celebrated Valentine's Day by seeing At Last, The Etta James story here at QPAC. We had a wonderful night in the the front row experiencing Vika Bull and her band at their best. The performance by all was exciting and interesting as they took us on an amazing ride through Etta's life and her music and Vika's vocals....AMAZING! Such passion and love. We enjoyed every second as "At Last" holds a special place with my Husband and myself as it was our song for our first dance on our wedding day. Fantastic night with a brilliant show!
Rocky Horror Show
must see
ratingratingratingratingrating
Share On Facebook 0
11:27 AM - 15/02/2014
By robyn grant
highly recommended with many surprises and Craig M makes Frankenferter his own
At Last – The Etta James Story
SUPERB Night Out
ratingratingratingratingrating
Share On Facebook 0
7:09 AM - 15/02/2014
By Sacha Drake
Great entertainers fill us with joy and transport us out of the daily grind into the extraordinary. Vikka Bull's sheer raw talent, and the tight band take you into the world of Motown soul and remind us that true talent always triumphant. A great night out!
Rocky Horror Show
rocky horror show
ratingratingratingratingrating
Share On Facebook 0
9:46 PM - 14/02/2014
By debbie wyatte
cast and the show were well presented, as well as entertaining.
Rocky Horror Show
Rocky Horror Show
ratingratingratingratingrating
Share On Facebook 0
10:49 AM - 14/02/2014
By Debbie Rickertt
The show was great. Craig was so funny with his portrail of Frank. Well done to all the cast.
The Hollies
HOLLIES GREAT
ratingratingratingratingrating
Share On Facebook 2
8:02 PM - 13/02/2014
By Gary Ridgway
2 WORDS SAY IT ALL - ABSOLUTELY FANTASTIC -
Rocky Horror Show
WOW!
ratingratingratingratingrating
Share On Facebook 0
5:09 PM - 13/02/2014
By Helen
Rocky Horror was better than the movie...Loved Craig McLachlan in the lead role...absolutely brilliant...definitely underestimated his talents!!!...it was a delight to watch him "tease" the audience...FANTASTIC and well done to the entire cast.
The Hollies
The Hollies
ratingratingratingratingrating
Share On Facebook 2
12:37 PM - 13/02/2014
By Michael & Joan Fulham
Great Show! Great Memories of the songs/music that is now becoming part of "THE GOLDEN OLDIES" very enjoyable evening. Michael's favourite group ever!
The Hollies
The Hollies
ratingratingratingratingrating
Share On Facebook 2
7:11 PM - 12/02/2014
By Owen mayhew
Superb show
The Hollies
Brisbane Show
ratingratingratingratingrating
Share On Facebook 5
3:48 PM - 12/02/2014
By SB
Fantastic!! Really enjoyed the show, my sister and I had been last year as well and loved that the audience seemed more lively and enjoying the show this time round, front row seats made it a great experience, hope The Hollies return to Brisbane soon.
Rocky Horror Show
Rocky Horror Show
ratingratingratingratingrating
Share On Facebook 0
1:31 PM - 12/02/2014
By Bev Visona
Both of us thoroughly enjoyed the show, I had never seen before but would go again in a flash. Craig brought his own style to it.
The Hollies
Hollies Concert
ratingratingratingratingrating
Share On Facebook 2
12:47 PM - 12/02/2014
By Roslyn Donnelly
Lovely to hear the enduring favourites sung so well by talented singers and musicians. The Hollies played the whole program without the need for any support act. I loved it!
The Hollies
The Hollies
ratingratingratingratingrating
Share On Facebook 4
10:59 AM - 12/02/2014
By Jude
Fantastic Concert. Got goose bumps when they sang 'Too Young To Be Married'
Rocky Horror Show
Rocky Horror
ratingratingratingratingrating
Share On Facebook 0
9:11 AM - 12/02/2014
By Stephen Wright
Amazing. they were absolutely fantastic AAA+
The Hollies
The Hollies Brisbane Concert
ratingratingratingratingrating
Share On Facebook 0
8:17 AM - 12/02/2014
By Lex Trotter
Very disappointing. Expected lots of old hits but got mainly other rubbish - and that's not just my opinion!! The audience loved it when they played a couple of consecutive hits during the first half but they immediately reverted to the rubbish to promote their new album. They also need to talk to their sound man. Even though they are very accomplished musicians, their great voices were often drowned out by the guitars, keyboard and boring drummer. Won't be going to another of their shows. P.S. And keep that bogan roadie off the stage
Rocky Horror Show
Girls Day Out at Rocky Horror Show
ratingratingratingratingrating
Share On Facebook 0
4:17 PM - 11/02/2014
By Sallie Toohill
First time I had taken my three daughters to the theatre together, was a fantastic afternoon out. Couldn't have picked a better show for us all! Craig McLaughlin was brilliant as was the rest of the cast!
Rocky Horror Show
The Rocky Horror Show
ratingratingratingratingrating
Share On Facebook 0
9:07 AM - 11/02/2014
By Bernadette Matthews
Thoroughly entertaining. Excellent performance by all, and a most wonderful experience. The cast & crew did a tremendous job - incredible talent. Thank you!
Rocky Horror Show
Rocky Horror
ratingratingratingratingrating
Share On Facebook 1
11:11 PM - 10/02/2014
By Leanne
Very entertaining and funny
Rocky Horror Show
Rocky Horror Picture Show
ratingratingratingratingrating
Share On Facebook 0
8:03 PM - 10/02/2014
By Gemma Jones
The show was brilliant!! Craig McLachlan was the best Frankenfurter I have ever seen in 26 years of seeing the show. He made the role his own and I don't think anyone could ever outdo him!! "Brad's" singing was also devine!! A must see performance!!!
Rocky Horror Show
Rocky Horror Show
ratingratingratingratingrating
Share On Facebook 0
7:30 PM - 10/02/2014
By Debra Riedy
great show
Rocky Horror Show
Rocky Horror Picture Show
ratingratingratingratingrating
Share On Facebook 0
6:30 PM - 10/02/2014
By Jacki
Brilliant!! Cast was fabulous as was the show. Would see it again...
Rocky Horror Show
Rorror horror Show
ratingratingratingratingrating
Share On Facebook 0
3:50 PM - 10/02/2014
By Danielle Davis
Amazing....I knew all the music but had never seen before . Shame it was the last night, would have come back again.Craig Mclaughlan stole the show.Could have watched him all night!
Rocky Horror Show
Rocky Horror
ratingratingratingratingrating
Share On Facebook 0
3:25 PM - 10/02/2014
By Linda Loder
Totally awesome show all round! Craig McLaughlin was so fantastic! Loved it!!
Rocky Horror Show
Oh, Rocky...
ratingratingratingratingrating
Share On Facebook 0
3:11 PM - 10/02/2014
By Judy
Great bedroom scenes, very funny. This show is always entertaining. Loved it...again!
Rocky Horror Show
Rocky Horror Show
ratingratingratingratingrating
Share On Facebook 0
3:08 PM - 10/02/2014
By Peter Goodman
Thoroughly enjoyed, Craig McLachlan was fantastic. I have seen every Rocky Horror stage show that has been created. This was by far the best.
Rocky Horror Show
Rocky Horror
ratingratingratingratingrating
Share On Facebook 0
2:35 PM - 10/02/2014
By Dale Gill
Fantastic Show Worth every penny
Rocky Horror Show
Fantastic!!
ratingratingratingratingrating
Share On Facebook 0
2:31 PM - 10/02/2014
By Margie
What a fantastic show!! Absolutely wonderful..... if the Brisbane season wasn't over we would have gone back to see it again!! Loved every minute of it !
Rocky Horror Show
Rocky Horror Show
ratingratingratingratingrating
Share On Facebook 0
12:52 PM - 10/02/2014
By Kett Family
Was awesome the whole family loved it!!
Rocky Horror Show
Rocky Horror - Stood the test of time..
ratingratingratingratingrating
Share On Facebook 0
12:34 PM - 10/02/2014
By Carol Klippelt
This was my first visit at The Lyric theatre QPAC, I saw the Rocky Horror show which was just amazing, it stood the test of time, and it lost none of its appeal.. the cast did an amazing job, especially Craig Mc Lachlan he was fantastic as Frank n Furter,he would really play up to the audience, and he made the role his own, the music, and the singing were brilliant, and if you grew up with Rocky Horror, like I did, or even if you didn't, and your thinking of going, you will not be disappointed. Your in for the time of your life..
Rocky Horror Show
Rocky Horror Show
ratingratingratingratingrating
Share On Facebook 0
11:36 AM - 10/02/2014
By Jody
The show was fantastic! Very funny add libs and Craig McLachlan is awesome!
Rocky Horror Show
Rocky Horror
ratingratingratingratingrating
Share On Facebook 0
10:36 AM - 10/02/2014
By Andrew
brilliant, great cast
Rocky Horror Show
Rocky Horror
ratingratingratingratingrating
Share On Facebook 0
9:57 AM - 10/02/2014
By Mark Allen
Great Night, Great Show, but the Band killed the Vocals, it was so hard to hear everyone singing, over the band, down a notch or two and it would have been great!
Rocky Horror Show
Rocky Horror
ratingratingratingratingrating
Share On Facebook 2
9:05 AM - 10/02/2014
By John
Great show - one of the best
Rocky Horror Show
Outstanding show
ratingratingratingratingrating
Share On Facebook 0
7:40 AM - 10/02/2014
By Dale
Fantastic cast, loved everything about it. Just brilliant!! How good is Craig McLachlan. He mad us shiver with anticipation!!!!
Rocky Horror Show
Rocky Horror: AMAZING
ratingratingratingratingrating
Share On Facebook 0
6:23 PM - 9/02/2014
By Megan
Best show! Would see it again! MUST SEE! Craig was a barrel of laughs! XD
Rocky Horror Show
Rocky horror show 10out of 10
ratingratingratingratingrating
Share On Facebook 0
5:02 PM - 9/02/2014
By Erin
Best show I have seen, thank you to all of the performers.
Rocky Horror Show
Rocky Horror Show
ratingratingratingratingrating
Share On Facebook 0
4:32 PM - 9/02/2014
By Kathryn Hagan
Absolutely fantastic.
Rocky Horror Show
Great afternoon at the Lyric
ratingratingratingratingrating
Share On Facebook 0
2:26 PM - 9/02/2014
By Ros
The Rocky Horror show was great fun and took me back 40 years when I first saw it at Glebe. The booking service through QPAC was excellent. Fantastic venue at Southbank,
Rocky Horror Show
Rocky Horror Show
ratingratingratingratingrating
Share On Facebook 0
12:43 PM - 9/02/2014
By Elizabeth Moore
Great entertainment. This was a fantastic show with a great cast. Go and see it you wont be disappointed.
Queensland Government

© 2014 Queensland Performing Arts Centre All rights reserved