Queensland Performing Arts Centre

QPAC Event Reviews

Event Review Score Genre
Write a Review
Disney's The Lion King
Goosebumps
ratingratingratingratingrating
Share On Facebook 0
11:34 AM - 20/10/2014
By Jane Nott
That would have to be the BEST stage performance I have seen! The cast and costumes were stunning. The vocal performance of Rafiki simply gave me goosebumps...the infectious smiles of the characters as they walked past the aisles towards the stage - absolutely brilliant. Worth every cent!
Disney's The Lion King
Breathtaking
ratingratingratingratingrating
Share On Facebook 0
11:06 PM - 16/10/2014
By Donna Lewis
Most amazing production. everything perfect, incredible costumes sets and performances. Memory of a lifetime
Wuthering Heights
Fabulous
ratingratingratingratingrating
Share On Facebook 0
11:04 PM - 16/10/2014
By Donna Lewis
Another GREAT show from Shake n Stir..
Wuthering Heights
Loved it
ratingratingratingratingrating
Share On Facebook 0
9:29 PM - 15/10/2014
By Courtney
Saw it on the Sunday at 3:00pm the first week it came out. First show i've ever seen live was 1984 and i was obsessed. Not to mention they got me into reading, read the book 1984 and loved it! (thanks shake and stir!) They were advertising wuthering heights and my mum read that years back so we were keen to see it. Wow. I thought 1984 was good. This production was amazing. From the set to sound to lighting! it was brilliant! all actors were amazing, loved Ross! Melanie Zanetti was perfect part for Catherine. I've read a few negative comments toward this production. I guess we all have different taste, although this is shake and stir adaption. It's not going to be spot on with the book. Also, seeing people be disappointed in the jokes saddens me. This show brought me happiness and sadness and thats what i love. I can admit, Gerry Connolly could have been better but my mum loved him! Shake and stir, thank you so much for the amazing adaption and i will see you for dracula 2015!
Wuthering Heights
Another outstanding production from Shake and Stir
ratingratingratingratingrating
Share On Facebook 0
11:36 AM - 15/10/2014
By Mark Davies
Caught this show last night (Tuesday) - WOW! Loved the use of AV and the subtle updating of the text. I studied this book in highschool and it bored me to tears - watching last night with about 100 high school students and this was certainly not the case. The rapturous applause and standing ovation at the end were rightly deserved - brilliant efforts by all.
Bill Bailey - Limboland
Bill Bailey
ratingratingratingratingrating
Share On Facebook 0
1:09 PM - 14/10/2014
By Mark
The perfect cure for depression, how could you not be happy aftwer seeing his fantastic show.
Wuthering Heights
Emily Bronte's Classic? Not the novel I know and love
ratingratingratingratingrating
Share On Facebook 0
6:10 PM - 10/10/2014
By Jennifer Robinson
I so want to give this a 5 star review - and I will for lighting, effects, broodiness, capturing the darkness of the story and for the poignant and often explosive emotion and perfect delivery by the two leads - Melanie Zanetti in the dual roles of Catherine and Cathy and Ross Balbuziente as Heathcliff. I’ve seen Melanie in both Pygmalion and Romeo and Juliet and today she lived up to her usual fine performance. The other players, except for one, did a wonderful job, too – no fluffing of lines or miscues. All of these elements and actors were outstanding and I would love to applaud them with a standing ovation. But sadly, that's where my applause stops. If not for those aspects, I would only be able to give it a 1 star review. Why on earth Gerry Connolly was cast as a FEMALE in the biggest role of all - narrator and the nanny/maid Nelly - I cannot understand at all. The casting crew had a huge talented female pool to choose from but instead they chose a man - albeit a well-known actor - but unfortunately he kept forgetting his lines, and more importantly mixing up everyone's names, as well as his spots and because he kept forgetting characters' name he would slow down or even pause for a few seconds before uttering any of them to make sure he had the right one. I can say the one good thing he brought to the stage was his piano playing. The language too was a big letdown as it was nothing like the book or even the era – often modern day very strong swearing and 21st century phrasing in a lot of places and even a bit of comedy thrown in throughout – one as a spoof on the fact of a man playing a woman which really pulled the novel’s beautiful content down. All in all, I can only review it as a very big disappointment for the language which should have been heartfelt. Some of the monologues were fantastic and very well delivered but trying to make the nanny/narrator into a comedic role spoilt the entire play. I'm sure Emily Bronte would be disappointed to see her novel relegated to wanting to please the masses rather than staying true to her ideal. There were several school groups in when I was in the audience and they seemed to be the only ones laughing at the comedic twists – the rest of us who obviously knew the novel well sat stony-faced. The effects were amazing though - lighting, 'real' rain falling on the stage - and large droplets even splashing on those in the front row who were quite surprised to find themselves part of the props - and huge fans blowing on the audience so you really felt you were in the middle of a storm on the windswept moors. The lighting was brilliant too – setting the mood perfectly. I could only give high praise to those behind the scenes and the two leads and other minor roles. Some of the costumes were more modern, while others of the period. It was quite a mish-mash for someone who loves the novel and expected to be taken into 19th century England rather than the imagination of a 21st century script writer. I’ve never been in a play/musical/show with such a small smattering of applause both at the interval and at the end. It was obvious the audience wasn’t impressed. In future, when putting on one of the classics, please keep the language and content true to the era, unless you are actually trying to bring it into this day and age – and if you do, please forewarn us so the audience is prepared to see something quite different from what they’re expecting.
Wuthering Heights
Fantastic
ratingratingratingratingrating
Share On Facebook 2
12:45 PM - 9/10/2014
By Sam P
A stunning looking production performed with passion and great skill by the talented cast of 6. Not an easy night at the theatre, but well worth trying to find a ticket to see this classic reimagined! It surprises me that some reviews mention the show is funny - with the exception of a couple of well places lines, it is certainly not funny. Quite the opposite - take your tissues - you'll need them at the end of act one! Well done to all involved.
The Dire Straits Experience
Simply Stunning
ratingratingratingratingrating
Share On Facebook 0
11:11 PM - 8/10/2014
By Simon Waite
This is as close as you could get to the real thing. The band was really tight and were a credit to the music of the real maestro. I left the concert with ears ringing (in a good way), looking forward to the next time this group make it back to QPAC!
Black Diggers
Brilliant
ratingratingratingratingrating
Share On Facebook 0
10:02 PM - 8/10/2014
By Michael Taylor
Just saw the live simulcast from Brisbane, with a big audience at Burdekin Theatre Ayr North Queensland tonight. We felt like we were right there, the picture was so crisp and clear, the sound was awesome. The performance itself was stunning, and so we too applauded loud and long at the end. This was an incredibly moving performance, done with passion and great skill. Hope it comes out on DVD: I would certainly buy it. Congratulations to the cast and all who worked so hard to bring this brilliant show together.
Black Diggers
Interesting story and well told
ratingratingratingratingrating
Share On Facebook 0
10:09 AM - 8/10/2014
By Jennifer
Black Diggers is a fascinating piece of theatre. Told in episodic form, characters come and go and sometimes return in a clever piece of storytelling. While some parts are a little heavy handed, others are very moving and/or funny and the ensemble cast and inventive staging held my interest throughout. David Page is in fine voice and Luke Carroll took my breath away with his ghostly portrayal of a soldier dying so far from his homeland. Well worth seeing.
Wuthering Heights
disappointed
ratingratingratingratingrating
Share On Facebook 2
2:20 PM - 7/10/2014
By donna
I wonder if i was watching the same play when I read the comments above. Though some of the actors were really fantastic, I found that the swearing in it was unnecessary why people thought the swearing was funny was beyond me. I costume change in between the acts would have been nice as well.
Wuthering Heights
Sick...
ratingratingratingratingrating
Share On Facebook 0
1:22 PM - 7/10/2014
By Anthony Grasso
I went along to this show not really knowing what to expect. I had seen the posters and the banner on QPAC - the picture of a man in a dress (who I later found out was Gerry Connolly, as in, the QUEEN from Fast Forward) and two attractive younger people who I assumed were playing two lovers and was impressed by the dark, quirky nature of the imagery. When I took my seat in the theatre and started listening to the drone of the wind, I began to feel pretty uncomforatble and hoped I hadn't made a big mistake - ESPECIALLY when I found out it was over two hours long. But from the first moment that the lights went to black until the last moments of the second act (which literally made my mouth gape open in awe) I sat totally glued to the edge of my seat as the SERIOUSLY messed up story unfolded on stage. All the cast were brilliant - even though Gerry seemed to at times be reaching for a line or two (or maybe this was a choice as he was playing a dottery old housemaid) the other cast members never faultered. I loved the guy with the beard. And the lights. And the projection. And the sound. And the effects. It blew me away. I would never have believed that a play could make me feel all these things. I was warned before I went that the story was really depressing, but I loved that there were funny moments in it and then suddenly turned dark. Don't think - get a ticket (although I just tried to buy two more for my Mother and Father and couldn't find two together on any night). Awesome.
Black Diggers
Essential viewing
ratingratingratingratingrating
Share On Facebook 0
10:59 AM - 7/10/2014
By Pauline Peel
Congratulations to QTC, The Brisbane Festival, QPAC and other partners for putting on this important but largely unknown story about Indigenous soldiers in World War 1 - able to enlist but unwelcome on their return to their own country. It is beautifully told, well performed with terrific design.
Wuthering Heights
Just finished the book - and loved the play!
ratingratingratingratingrating
Share On Facebook 0
6:02 PM - 6/10/2014
By Jane
I really enjoyed this show. My friends and I went along on Saturday night and thoroughly enjoyed it. We had just read the book for our Book Club (I had also studied it in high-school). The adaptation was perfect, it made me really feel for, and understand the characters. When reading the book I had mixed feelings about Heathcliff - he divided our Book Club!! But on stage - Ross Balbuziante was just brilliant. He captured the brooding mystery of Heathcliff so well. The whole company definitely deserved the standing ovation they received at the end (us included!).
Wuthering Heights
LOVED IT
ratingratingratingratingrating
Share On Facebook 0
9:23 PM - 5/10/2014
By Tim
Congratulations to everyone involved - it was breathtaking. I want to see it again!
Monty Python’s SPAMALOT
Spamalot
ratingratingratingratingrating
Share On Facebook 0
9:21 PM - 5/10/2014
By Lesley
Brilliant!! All the cast were wonderful but Frank stole the show for me. The local humor and improvisation injected throughout just made it so much better. My jaws were aching from laughter. Thanks for a wonderful show.
Wuthering Heights
Wow
ratingratingratingratingrating
Share On Facebook 0
11:56 AM - 5/10/2014
By Melinda
Saw this production last night and I am still thinking about how fantastic it was. Every actor and every element (lights, sound, costumes, visuals) blended beautifully to create a magic evening at the theatre. Highly recommend.
Wuthering Heights
Incredible. Beautiful. Speechless.
ratingratingratingratingrating
Share On Facebook 0
12:44 AM - 5/10/2014
By Lisa
We just saw the Saturday evening performance and we are still speechless! Big, dynamic, moving theatre! The full standing ovation from the stunned audience was well deserved. Congratulations to the actors and the creators. Bring on Dracula!
Monty Python’s SPAMALOT
Fantastic!!
ratingratingratingratingrating
Share On Facebook 0
7:25 AM - 3/10/2014
By Michael
I've seen productions of Spamalot before and this one puts them to shame. So much energy and enjoyment on stage you could not help but have fun. Jon English and Simon Galaher were great, Frank Woidley hilarious, and Julie Anthony - wow! holy wow! just so good. The supporting cast were amazing and kept the "Monty Python"ness of the show delivered perfectly! hilarious! I particularly loved the Knight of Ni, Black Night, and the swamp castle scenes... of and Tim the Enchanter Haaa!! So much to love about this show! go see it!
Wuthering Heights
Inspired me to read the book again
ratingratingratingratingrating
Share On Facebook 0
11:18 PM - 2/10/2014
By Stephanie
Based on shake & stir’s previous accolades, I came to Wuthering Heights with high expectations and the show was indeed very special. The costume design was a stand out – edgy, yet true to the story and characters. The set was stark, pared back, and perfect for the storyline and emotions portrayed. The lighting, audio and projection increased the intensity of the story, was hugely engaging and set the mood for the moors. All ingredients for perfect theatre. The quality of the acting was mixed. While all actors delivered with passion, the timings on some occasions didn’t seem completely correct. Zanetti was a standout as her portrayal of both Catherine’s was very absorbing and believable. Gerry Connolly’s Nelle was also endearing, at times comedic and relatable, it was a shame that the delivery of some of the script – notably the longer monologues – was a little askew. Nonetheless, it was a highly stylized and unique production that has inspired me to pick-up the book again. I would see this again, but perhaps later in the season (once the creases were ironed out).
Wuthering Heights
withering heights
ratingratingratingratingrating
Share On Facebook 0
7:15 AM - 2/10/2014
By Linda Grace
I saw this last night and I know the production was not meant to be a comedy but my friend and I roared with laughter all the way home. It was the most deplorable theatre I have seen in years, like a dreary soap opera on steroids. Was it dark and broody? Yes, was it likeable? No. Even the cast did not come out for a bow at the end in response to the lukewarm applause. Not one of the characters drew any empathy/sympathy/dislike or let's face it care. I didn't care about any of them as they treaded the boards (very loudly, oh for rubber souled shoes) in a pantomime over acted style of brooding drama. Gerry Conelly's wig was a wonder to behold as it became more and more askew as the night went on. I am speechless that they thought this was a professional production. Mind you the lighting and sound effects were fabulous. I really felt the dark intensity of Emily Bronte's moors. The acting, well maybe turn it into an adult interactive comedy pantomime, and you might have a winner there.
Black Diggers
Outstanding
ratingratingratingratingrating
Share On Facebook 0
7:53 PM - 27/09/2014
By Amanda
An important story told with heart, dignity, soul and spirit. The ensemble cast were individually amazing and mesmerising to watch. Standing ovation!
Le Noir – The Dark Side of Cirque
Outstanding.
ratingratingratingratingrating
Share On Facebook 2
11:41 PM - 24/09/2014
By Barb Schmidt
Loved this show. It was better than Cirque Du Soleil and that is the truth. It is a small company of performers which makes the show more intimate, but in no way lacks the pizazz of Cirque. The costumes are sexy and so are the performers, the acts fantastic and the music great. Do yourself a favour and see this show, you will not regret it.
Le Noir – The Dark Side of Cirque
Outstanding Performances & Costuming
ratingratingratingratingrating
Share On Facebook 4
2:53 PM - 8/09/2014
By Mel
Circuses these days are no longer the cliched big-top with poorly treated animals. Now we have amazing performers with incredible skills, and Le Noir is no exception. Spectacular physical feats from performers with and without props, demonstrating strength, dexterity, flexibility, and humour. The costuming was wonderful, with the colour themes progressing through the show with white, black and red. There were some 'gasp' moments too, especially during the finale on the double-wheeled Wheel of Death, where two performers ran on the inside AND outside of the wheels. A wonderful combination of dance, acrobatics and humour makes this a must see. Oh, but for adults only! The only downside was that, from our side row balcony seats, there were a couple of times when we could not see what was happening as our view was partially restricted.
American Ballet Theatre – Three Masterpieces
ratingratingratingratingrating
Share On Facebook 0
2:47 PM - 8/09/2014
By Mel
This show was made up of three performances, each quite different from the other. The first was very bare, with only a solo violin for music, and the performers in flesh-coloured costumes. The dancing was somewhat convoluted and hard to follow. Throughout the three shows, the dancers seemed to be often off with the synchronised dancing (which another reviewer notes of the ABT's Swan Lake show). The second performance was also basic, this time with a piano on stage, but was more enjoyable to watch than the first. The third performance was very different. It had a set and a storyline. The music was great; a full orchestra, performing jazz rather than classical. There were only 6 dancers in this performance. The music and the dancing were great, but the 'storyline' was quite appalling. The performance consisted of three men (naval officers on leave) harassing a lone woman on the street, including groping her and taking her handbag. A second woman was later harassed by one of the men. The two women were consistently trying to get away from the men, and this was presented as supposedly funny. It was shocking to see harassment dealt with in such a cavalier fashion, and presented as something comical. It was a relief to see that at least in the end, the women managed to get away from the men, but this didn't necessarily demonstrate that the message was 'sexual harassment is not ok'. It was sexist (presenting men as nothing more than aggressive fighters who harass women; & an acceptance of sexual harassment of women) and did not need to be. It could have been presented with the same music and quality dancing in a manner that showed men on shore leave romancing rather than harassing women. The music was upbeat and echoed this 'fun' and 'comedic' attitude of the performance. It is shocking that an international ballet company would consider this an acceptable theme to present in a performance, especially when the dancers' performances were excellent.
American Ballet Theatre – Swan Lake
Disappointed, but for Odette
ratingratingratingratingrating
Share On Facebook 0
8:56 PM - 7/09/2014
By Angela
This was my first time to the Ballet and I've been wanting to see Swan Lake for many years. I was disappointed that most of the performers seemed out of time and this was confirmed when I chatted to the ladies beside us during the interval, who mentioned they had seen Swan Lake many times. The only saving grace was Odette's performance which was mind blowing! After paying a premium rate to get two of the last seats available, I definitely expected more. It's also disappointing that we couldn't take a photo of the cast after the show had completed.
The Last Confession
ratingratingratingratingrating
Share On Facebook 0
10:00 PM - 24/08/2014
By Jayne
Enjoyed the play didn't know quite what to expect but thoroughly enjoyed it, to see such a great actor was a treat I'll not forget to soon my friends found the first half a bit slow but the second half made up for it. Wonderful and through provoking
Rolling Thunder Vietnam
FANTASTIC SHOW!!!
ratingratingratingratingrating
Share On Facebook 0
7:27 PM - 23/08/2014
By Rob Robertson
If you are a Vietnam Veteran, Baby Boomer and love Rock and Roll of the 60's, or if you just want to see a great entertaining show do not miss this one. The Cast and Band are excellent. Please make a DVD of the Show. Thank you from a Vet.
The Last Confession
The Last Confession
ratingratingratingratingrating
Share On Facebook 0
8:57 AM - 23/08/2014
By Hilary
Mesmerising. Great set, slick scene changes and wonderful acting. It was one of the best plays we have ever seen. Thank you to all involved for a wonderful afternoon that we'll remember for a long time.
The Last Confession
Brilliant David Suchet
ratingratingratingratingrating
Share On Facebook 0
5:57 AM - 22/08/2014
By Sue Baker
My father and I are big Agatha Christie/Hercule Poirot fans, was very impressed with the entire cast and performances in this play. David Suchet was brilliant, my admiration for his talent has certainly greatly increased.....bonus of the day was the father/daughter bonding at this very amazing play. David Suchet - you rock!
The Last Confession
The Last Confession
ratingratingratingratingrating
Share On Facebook 0
7:20 PM - 21/08/2014
By Missy T
David Suchet showed his skill as an actor who, although maybe perceived as the definitive "Poirot", cannot be type-cast. He was well supported by the full cast. What did happen to the gentle Pope, John Paul? We'll never know.
The Last Confession
The Last Confession
ratingratingratingratingrating
Share On Facebook 2
3:35 PM - 21/08/2014
By Julienne
It was well directed with some great performances. The politics of The Vatican was similar to normal office politics. Let down a little by the script. It is Roger Crane the playwright's first play and I think it shows. The second half develops nicely and there is a little more depth in the characters but disappointed in the script.
The Last Confession
The Last Confession
ratingratingratingratingrating
Share On Facebook 0
11:27 AM - 21/08/2014
By Tony Nesci
It was great to see the absolute absence of any religious mysticism. The reality of behind-the-scenes intrigue...part and parcel of The Vatican...was portrayed well. I feel it lacked some depth regarding the questionable demise of John Paul...but I attribute that to expecting more "Poirot sleuthing"...from a character that just wasn't in this play. Still, it certainly was David's play... I give it four stars...
Le Noir – The Dark Side of Cirque
Amazing! Can I have it on dvd to watch it over again
ratingratingratingratingrating
Share On Facebook 2
9:34 PM - 17/08/2014
By Jessie Emerson
Fantastic mix of incredible acts, breathtaking stunts and a very ckeeky fool. Le Noir giving us a circus with a dark side, a gothic persuasion and erotic themes, not one for the little ones but definitely worth every cent you pay to see it. All I want to know now is, is it on dvd so I can relieve the spectacular spectical again and again
Akmal
Funny but quick
ratingratingratingratingrating
Share On Facebook 0
6:35 PM - 17/08/2014
By Dale Norris
Akmal has always been funny but last night (16 August) the show was incredibly short, Pete Willy (tragic name) opened for 15 minutes and akmal was on for an hour rathe then the advertised 1 hour and 20 minutes ... bit of a shame but funny ... has he sold his house?
QLD Pops – Broadway Spectacular - West End to Broadway
Poingant Moving World Class
ratingratingratingratingrating
Share On Facebook 4
8:11 PM - 16/08/2014
By Theresa Cumming
I am a regular theatre goer and lover of the arts but this concert trumped most that I have seen in a long time. My guests and I were truly wrapped and moved by this world class performance. The highlights were the pure and magical voices of Silvie Paladino and Kane Alexander. They really gave an ethereal performance that was passionate and enchanting. Not to be missed with the magic choir, dancers and wonderful music. We were tempted to get dinner and come back for the night performance. Something special (standing performance even the matinée) congratulations to all involved.
Rolling Thunder Vietnam
rolling thunder vietnam
ratingratingratingratingrating
Share On Facebook 0
1:44 PM - 15/08/2014
By bill
Exccelent ii gave an OVERVIEW of vietnam that then enabled you to REMEMBER YOUR 1 YEAR TERM about ALL the issues that you beautifully raised (Mate imjured, Mates dead, Dear Jonhs, Letter from home, life style. OP outside the wire? and as i did two tours (opened Nui Dat with the 173rd May 66 and last man to leave Nui Dat Oct 71. What the showe did was to reduce ALL those years (and happening (even when I was not there) into hundreds of powerfull memeories. So for that reason it was great. Sadly I ONLY remeber the sad and non of the good? I was a regular soldier and MOST feal for the NASHO who expereince AL of what I did but on RETURNING to his country home town was called a Baby Killer And YES it WAS much worse for the yanks?
Rolling Thunder Vietnam
Absolutely Fabulous
ratingratingratingratingrating
Share On Facebook 0
7:41 AM - 15/08/2014
By Karen Absalom
I grew up in the Vietnam era and the protests. I also saw the other side with family members in the forces. The show took me back. It was the best show I have seen in a while. Chong Lim and the band were their normal brilliant entity but the stand out were the young stars who gave everything into the performance. Well done
Rolling Thunder Vietnam
Best QPAC show so far
ratingratingratingratingrating
Share On Facebook 2
6:31 PM - 13/08/2014
By David
My wife's opinion that this show was the best QPAC show she has attended and i must agree. I grew up in the Veitnam war era and missed possible consription by purely a change of govermnment. The show was a mix of young talented singers with well known and proven muso's. Guitar work was magnificent. If you love watching gifted talent singing clasic songs depicting a time when Austalians and Americans questioned decisions made by our elected representatives, this a show for you.
Take Me Home – The Music & Life of John Denver
Brilliant
ratingratingratingratingrating
Share On Facebook 0
12:51 PM - 13/08/2014
By Marichen
Fabulous . Please come back to Brisbane
Kate Miller-Heidke
Kate Miller-Heidke - Brisbane
ratingratingratingratingrating
Share On Facebook 0
6:12 AM - 13/08/2014
By John Swan
I had looked forward to this night for so long and it was as perfect as I knew it would be. Kate's support, Ryan Keen, was a great opener and such a high quality performer. Kate and her band performed the high quality concert I have got used to when attending her performances .. I look forward to her next concert. My 39 year old daughter came with me and saw her for the first time and has not stopped talking about her both as a musician and performer.
1984 by George Orwell
Quite Spectacular
ratingratingratingratingrating
Share On Facebook 0
2:41 PM - 12/08/2014
By Susan
A good performance overall but relied quite heavily of past research to fully grasp understanding.
Le Noir – The Dark Side of Cirque
WOW WOW WOW
ratingratingratingratingrating
Share On Facebook 4
7:21 PM - 9/08/2014
By Michelle Cartlidge
What talented young ladies and gentlemen. The audience was captivated from start to finish. The costumes breathtaking, the acts enthralling, including audience members was certainly a plus and the MC's comedy act was hilarious. The gravity defying acts were just mind blowing. Everyone has to see this show!!!
75 Years on Buddy Holly in Concert
Excellent !
ratingratingratingratingrating
Share On Facebook 0
3:08 PM - 4/08/2014
By Daniele
Great music, played GREAT- especially 'Jo' the saxophonist.
Queensland Ballet - Flourish
Great Maturity
ratingratingratingratingrating
Share On Facebook 0
12:42 PM - 3/08/2014
By Zoe
This review is not about comparing Queensland Ballet to other great ballet ensembles which have graced the stage of Qpac but about commending QB on its amazing growth and new found maturity. The diversity and talent displayed at last nights performance of Flourish was magnificent and even though some dancers had moments that made me hold my breath for fear of stumbling other times it was the beauty of the movement that made me gasp. Bravo and Brava!
Queensland Ballet - Flourish
Flourish
ratingratingratingratingrating
Share On Facebook 0
5:19 AM - 2/08/2014
By Jason
Sensational, if your only going to see one ballet this year make this the one!
1984 by George Orwell
a must see!
ratingratingratingratingrating
Share On Facebook 0
11:53 AM - 21/07/2014
By Michael
I loved this show. It was so well put together and everything just worked seamlessly. I loved the use of the screens - and as an avid Orwell fan I was so happy with the adaptation. Go and see if you can get a ticket.
Expressions Dance Company – The Red Shoes
Beautifully Human
ratingratingratingratingrating
Share On Facebook 0
11:36 AM - 21/07/2014
By Jonathan
What a stunningly beautiful performance. I went with a friend to this show, unaware of what The Red Shoes is about. I came away with a new appreciation for dance and the ability to tell a story so resonantly without words. Everything worked together to draw me in to this story. The music was a feature without dragging my focus away. The dancing amazing, strong and graceful, full of expression and emotion. All the tech, set, sound and lighting, breathed as the story unfolded, weaved, built and stripped back. Such creative and beautifully human story telling.
1984 by George Orwell
just good
ratingratingratingratingrating
Share On Facebook 0
5:48 PM - 18/07/2014
By lewis
was a good play with a great use of multimedia although the screens overplayed the actors a bit much. the main character winston blurred his words and was very un relatable.
1984 by George Orwell
DOUBLE PLUS GOOD
ratingratingratingratingrating
Share On Facebook 2
2:06 PM - 18/07/2014
By Tara Cook
This was an amazing piece of theatre. I saw it in 2012 and loved it again this time around. Wasn't David Whitney just spectacular, along with the entire cast (and crew I imagine!) Thank you Shake and Stir for making theatre so relevant and accessible for all.
1984 by George Orwell
1984
ratingratingratingratingrating
Share On Facebook 0
1:13 PM - 18/07/2014
By George Martin
Brilliant "Truth" A must see.
1984 by George Orwell
Brilliant Theatre - world class
ratingratingratingratingrating
Share On Facebook 0
12:12 AM - 18/07/2014
By Chris
Absolutely brilliant piece of theatre. Powerful and moving work. Highly recommend you go and see this. Bryan Proberts is honest, truthful and understatedly powerful in his role as Winston. Brilliant.
The White Album Concert Tour
White album bought to life
ratingratingratingratingrating
Share On Facebook 0
7:58 PM - 17/07/2014
By Jeff Owen
Incredible show. Four Australian front men all starring, Chris Cheney brilliant on While my guitar, Phil Jameson funny and soulful, Josh Pike did the soft songs well, Tim Rogers gets to play the clown. The band superb. Given the Beatles themselves never would have performed these songs all credit to Rex and his arranging. As one of Tim's asides if you like this we might come back and do something else, maybe Abbey road?
Anthony Warlow and Faith Prince
Anthony Warlow
ratingratingratingratingrating
Share On Facebook 0
9:25 PM - 9/07/2014
By Elsie mutton
As usual AW was brilliant but I did not enjoy this concert as much as his last. Faiths voice did not connect and I did not get the usual tingle down the spine.
Queensland Ballet - MacMillan's Romeo & Juliet
Li's Dancers
ratingratingratingratingrating
Share On Facebook 2
1:04 PM - 3/07/2014
By Lyn
Brilliant Performance. Move over Bolshoi ! The Dancers, Orchestra, Costumes, Choreography & Lighting were so magnificent & exquisitely attuned to transport one into the period of this Ballet. Steve McRae was a Master Romeo with Natasha Kusch as Juliet a perfect match - both as light as feathers with beautiful grace & skill. The Sword Fights were unbelievable with gripping scenes. Most outstanding was the obvious team effort & focus with every dancer acting as well as dancing their part. all with such fluidity. Qld Ballet is undoubtedly the cream of Australian ballet & this performance sets an enviable position for the most acclaimed Ballet Companies world wide.
Hello Korea!
Excellent
ratingratingratingratingrating
Share On Facebook 0
7:56 AM - 3/07/2014
By Lara
I though this was a wonderful interactive interesting amusing and very creative art work to enjoy. My 4 year old son loved it too. And the creative art works they were able to create as part of the Out of the Box Festival was truly wonderful. I'm going to share this as many people as I can as it's a must see!
My Baby Just Cares For Me - Rachael Beck and David Hobson
David Hobson and Rachael Beck
ratingratingratingratingrating
Share On Facebook 0
8:31 AM - 13/06/2014
By Wendy Phillipson
What a great nights entertainment. The chemistry between the two was magic. Choice of songs was interesting and entertaining. Didn't want it to end.
The TEN Tenors on Broadway
Ten Tenors On Broadway - Lyric Theayre 7 June 2014
ratingratingratingratingrating
Share On Facebook 6
4:11 PM - 10/06/2014
By David
As usual the Ten Tenors performed brilliantly. The performance of the Broadway hits was an outstanding success and a great evening of entertainment. However there was one aspect of the show that was disappointing, and that was the fact that there was no backing orchestra for such a talented group of artists, only a drummer, pianist and a laptop computer. I don't know if this is the case for all performances, but if it is, audiences are being let down.
Cribbie - The Suburb That  Disappeared
cribbie
ratingratingratingratingrating
Share On Facebook 0
7:18 PM - 8/06/2014
By Tony Jones
I remember growing up at cribbie, I'm 47 and I still remember it so vividly like it was yesterday, this play Is amazing there are a few stories in there about my granddad and family. I was in tears of laughter and sadness with the part with my grandma underneath the rose Bush I was there the day we scattered her ash's. It was very well done and can't wait to see it again..
UQ Titan
Brillant
ratingratingratingratingrating
Share On Facebook 1
1:39 PM - 4/06/2014
By Julie Byrnes
Sensational concert. Sorry for those that missed it.
The King & I
The King and I
ratingratingratingratingrating
Share On Facebook 1
2:03 PM - 2/06/2014
By Margaret Frame
A magical experience. Took my daughter who lives in New York and she rated it better than many she has seen there.
The King & I
Something wonderful!
ratingratingratingratingrating
Share On Facebook 0
5:48 PM - 1/06/2014
By Natalie P
What a great night at the theatre. This production just epitomises everything a good musical should be. Fantastic singing, convincing acting, sumptuous sets and songs you can't get out of your head. The orchestra deserves a mention. They were superb. Teddy Tahu Rhodes was a damn sexy King and Lisa Mc Cune was clearly born to play the role of Anna. Her voice was pure magic, every note a triumph. Such a beautiful production. You'll leave whistling a happy tune.
The King & I
The King and I
ratingratingratingratingrating
Share On Facebook 0
3:23 PM - 27/05/2014
By Warren Huby
Excellent production and great cast however the sound projection on the night we attended was average. We were in row I and it could be difficult to hear and at some points, understand the actors.
Maestro Series 4: Poet of the Guitar
False advertising at it's worst
ratingratingratingratingrating
Share On Facebook 0
11:15 PM - 24/05/2014
By Rastus Germumple
Promoted as Poet Of The Guitar one could rightly expect Karin Schaupp to perform for more than half an hour out of the two hours plus of the whole show. But that's all she appeared in. Playing beautifully in the Concerto de Aranjuez and Recuerdos del Alahambras was it. The rest was mainly boring, more obscure pieces from the other composers and a very capable orchestra wasted on lesser pieces and Jumping Jack Flash the conducter. Aprt from Karin a waste of time and money and QPAC should be ashamed for such blatant false advertising. A refund would be appreciated.
The King & I
Great show
ratingratingratingratingrating
Share On Facebook 2
5:38 PM - 24/05/2014
By Jon Hui
As a family this was the first time we'd gone to a show at QPAC. Not disappointed and now we have the bug. We will attend more shows to be sure.
DORIS: Doris Day - So Much More Than the Girl Next Door
seamless, inspired performance, and personality.
ratingratingratingratingrating
Share On Facebook 0
6:26 PM - 22/05/2014
By fran rabbitts
What a voice, and connection with the audience, Melinda Schneider, has it all, charisma, dancing, she's a storyteller, that took the audience with her, on the remarkable journey of Doris Day.
Russell Howard - Wonderbox
Funny as balls
ratingratingratingratingrating
Share On Facebook 0
1:43 PM - 22/05/2014
By Thomas
This was one of his best acts, any one know his supporting act name?
DORIS: Doris Day - So Much More Than the Girl Next Door
Doris
ratingratingratingratingrating
Share On Facebook 0
9:35 AM - 22/05/2014
By Lajla Nystad
Fantastic performance! It kept us captivated from start till finish! Thanks Melinda!
The King & I
The King and I
ratingratingratingratingrating
Share On Facebook 3
8:59 AM - 19/05/2014
By Joan Whitham
I thought this could be a good show, however I was amazed at how good this show really was, costumes and performances. We truly loved this show
QLD Pops – 30th Anniversary Concert – The POPS Greatest Hits
Qld Pops Orchestra
ratingratingratingratingrating
Share On Facebook 0
8:12 AM - 19/05/2014
By Joan Whitham
The first time we have ever attended a Qld Pops Orchestra Concert but it will not be our last. This was a really good night, loved the music, really well done. Great show
An Evening with Petula Clark
A Night With Petula Clark
ratingratingratingratingrating
Share On Facebook 0
8:09 AM - 19/05/2014
By Joan Whitham
What a good night this proved to be, really glad we went along. Petula is a good entertainer and her voice is still good
QLD Pops – 30th Anniversary Concert – The POPS Greatest Hits
30th Anniversary Concert Matinee
ratingratingratingratingrating
Share On Facebook 2
9:16 AM - 18/05/2014
By Pamela Rayner
What a wonderful concert the POPs 30th Anniversary Concert was. Many thanks to Conductor Patrick Pickett and the wonderful POPs Orchestra. And the icing on the cake was Mirusia Louwerse and Gregory Moore. Definitely a 5 star rating! Congratulations and a big thank you.
QLD Pops – 30th Anniversary Concert – The POPS Greatest Hits
The Qld Pops are the " Greatest "
ratingratingratingratingrating
Share On Facebook 2
8:19 PM - 17/05/2014
By Patricia
Absolutely brilliant. The whole concert was outstanding. Wonderful program. Such talented singers and musicians. The performance by Mirusia was breathtaking, unforgettable. I feel honoured to have heard her sing. Still have goose bumps.
The King & I
The King and I...live.
ratingratingratingratingrating
Share On Facebook 0
7:39 PM - 17/05/2014
By Deb Davidson
My daughter and I saw the show today. We were transported into another world, another time and another place. As a child I loved the movie and now to see it come alive before me. What a special time! Thank you for this wonderful memory.
The King & I
Kin g and I
ratingratingratingratingrating
Share On Facebook 0
12:37 PM - 15/05/2014
By Jill Mclaughlin
Wonderful show like the little children and thought Young Riley Brooker as Louis was excellent. He will be seen in the later years on Broadway, I am sure of that, such talent at a young age.
The King & I
King and I
ratingratingratingratingrating
Share On Facebook 0
6:26 PM - 13/05/2014
By Ellen Cutugno
Today I went to the 1.30pm show, not knowing what to expect? Well I was suprised how the show took me back to a holiday in the country, Wow! fantastic show, so glad I went today. Don't miss it! WELL DONE!!!
Admission: One Shilling
Admission one Shilling
ratingratingratingratingrating
Share On Facebook 0
10:00 AM - 13/05/2014
By Pauline Seath
I was greatly moved by the presentation of this story.Patricia Routledge was the perfect choice for this role as not only has a beautiful speaking voice but a natural ability to intone the required depth of emotion this story reveals. Piers lane was outstanding playing the chosen pieces with such passion and sensitivity his style thrilling and embracing my soul When I first saw this advertised I just knew I had to see it The lighting and stage setting was simple but profound in its enhancement of the story I learned a lot about the feelings of the British people during the war and how a woman's passion for music uplifted them Brilliantly !!! Congratulations to the producers and stage crew I will never forget how this wonderful production made me feel! MELBOURNE PEOPLE DON"T MISS IT!!
The King & I
A world away
ratingratingratingratingrating
Share On Facebook 0
6:17 PM - 6/05/2014
By Paula Ingerson
Lisa McCune. What a world away from the Tv series of Blue Heelers and what a voice! Wow! And Teddy was a brilliant King. The King just has to have that voice and Teddy has it. Costumes had to be seen to be believed. To cast and crew and everyone involved, thank you.
The King & I
The best show
ratingratingratingratingrating
Share On Facebook 1
7:10 AM - 1/05/2014
By Jennifer Gleeson
Worth every cent we paid for the tickets - wonderful music and acting - Shu-Cheen Yu as No.1 wife was superb - made my skin tingle when she sang, Teddy and Lisa were perfect and the children were gorgeous. Fantastic memories
The King & I
Very very good
ratingratingratingratingrating
Share On Facebook 2
10:46 AM - 28/04/2014
By Tony
Wow, what a show & probably the best musical I have ever seen. was entertaining, funny & a joy to watch. Sets were briilant & cast excellent.
Queensland Ballet - Coppélia
A Night of Joyous Enchantment
ratingratingratingratingrating
Share On Facebook 0
7:22 AM - 27/04/2014
By Jennifer Robinson
What a delightful evening spent under the spell of Queensland Ballet's beautifully executed and enchanting "Coppelia'. As a patron who normally favours musical theatre on my regular visits to QPAC, and after having witnessed only two other ballet productions before, I was pleasantly surprised and thoroughly entertained by the calibre of the dancers and the witty storyline, The costumes and setting were beautiful - well suited to the era and location - and the manner in which the story was told - both in an overlaid film sequence and the skillful dance/acting - made it easy to understand the tale unfolding without the benefit of dialogue! (I told you I'm used to musical theatre!!) The music performed by a very talented orchestra was a wonderful accompaniment and made all the better by a lovely friend's daughter, Marielle, who was on the French Horn. And by pure coincidence, my next novel 'Broken Pieces' (written using my pen name Jennifer Larmar) actually contains a few chapters where my heroine is a cellist in the orchestra pit at QPAC! My earlier novels, Silken Images and Fractured Symphony already contain portions of QPAC's show history in fiction form! As you can see, music is in my blood. My visit was a last minute invitation to fill in for someone who couldn't attend so I wasn't at all sure what to expect. Thank you to everyone involved for a lovely night of entertainment, especially the exceptional dance troupe. Bravo!
The King & I
Excellent
ratingratingratingratingrating
Share On Facebook 6
5:09 PM - 23/04/2014
By Nadine and Alison
My daughter and I saw the matinee today and it was fantastic. Costumes, sets incredible. The singing and acting wonderful. Beyond expectations.
The King & I
The King and I
ratingratingratingratingrating
Share On Facebook 1
10:32 AM - 23/04/2014
By Valerie Vaughan
Absolutely fabulous .Loved the fabulous dance scene. Want to go again
The King & I
A 'must see' production
ratingratingratingratingrating
Share On Facebook 1
10:01 AM - 23/04/2014
By Margaret & John Fancourt
In a word, "magnificent". Every aspect was absolutely fabulous; evoked emotions never before encountered in a stage production.
The King & I
Not to be missed
ratingratingratingratingrating
Share On Facebook 2
6:59 PM - 22/04/2014
By Pauline Gaule
Not enough glowing words to describe this show. If opening night is anything to go by it is going to be a glorious run. So good I have booked for two more times
The King & I
Great show poor seating
ratingratingratingratingrating
Share On Facebook 0
12:39 PM - 20/04/2014
By Sharni Hughes
The show was brilliant. The seats within the theatre where terrible. Six of us attended and all had the same issue. Sore tail bones and uncomfortable during the performance . Seat numbers K21 - K26
The King & I
Disappointed
ratingratingratingratingrating
Share On Facebook 0
7:26 PM - 19/04/2014
By Ann Campbell
Let Thursday night we saw the King & I production at the Lyric. The costumes and scenery were sensational. I was however really disappointed with the acoustics. It was difficult to be fully immersed in the story as it was so hard to hear the dialogue from the main characters. I had been so looking forward to this show however I walked away feeling disappointed.
The King & I
Performance 17/04
ratingratingratingratingrating
Share On Facebook 0
9:14 AM - 18/04/2014
By Ann
The overall production & costumes were fantastic but we found it very difficult to understand the dialogue between the characters. It was hard to hear & the lines were spoken very fast in the accent making it difficult to understand.This hampered our ability to truly immerse ourselves with the characters and follow the storyline.
The King & I
Wonderful show, sound not so great
ratingratingratingratingrating
Share On Facebook 0
4:48 PM - 16/04/2014
By Karen Moore-Evans
Unfortunaly the sound system did not do the show justice. A wonderful show, beautiful costumes and scenery. The children were enchanting. The keDing lady was lovely and the leading man a triumph. It was such a shame that the sound system seemed lacking, particularly during dialogue. I have seen several shows here and never had a concern about the sound, however it was obvious to me throughout the performance. If the sound had been as it was on previous visits I would have given 5 stars.
Paco Pena Flamencura
Disappointed
ratingratingratingratingrating
Share On Facebook 5
11:39 AM - 13/04/2014
By Kerry
Performance would have been okay if you were sitting on the stage next to them but with no introductions or explanations to the audience of the music and who the performers were and combined with positioning on the stage the audience felt like they were not important. Paco Pena was not visible from the audience half the time facing inwards towards other entertainers. Shame because they only engaged with the audience at the end and we got a feel for who they were and their personality. No listing of music played in the programme so all round disappointing.
Paco Pena Flamencura
Flamenco in Brisbane
ratingratingratingratingrating
Share On Facebook 0
12:12 AM - 13/04/2014
By R Murias
I am still tingling. Castanets. Twirling, pulsating, stomping dance. Hanting vocals. Silhouettes against tangerine backdrops. All bathed in the mesmeric Paco Pena strings. World class entertainment in Brisbane.
Macbeth
Witchy and wonderful
ratingratingratingratingrating
Share On Facebook 0
11:22 AM - 11/04/2014
By Elise
If you want to see malevolent and mischievious witches dancing (or should I say slithering) in the dark don't miss MacBeth. If you want to see ripped men's bodies and great delivery of the faultless lines of the Bard don't miss MacBeth. “Fair is foul, and foul is fair, hover through fog and filthy air.”
Macbeth
Come roam the darkened corridors of a madman's mind
ratingratingratingratingrating
Share On Facebook 2
4:36 PM - 30/03/2014
By Damsel Martin
http://www.weekendnotes.com/macbeth-playhouse-qpac/ When British director Michael Attenborough took on the challenge of translating a play set in 11th Century Scotland to the modern-day subtropical climes of Queensland, it turned out not to be such a stretch after all. As if lured by some supernatural force for atmospheric effect, storms rolled through Brisbane on the opening night of Macbeth at QPAC's Playhouse, forcing theatre-goers to brandish umbrellas and battle the elements as a prelude to this much-anticipated production. And it was certainly worth the steamed-up glasses and soggy feet. A joint production by the Queensland Theatre Company and the Grin & Tonic Theatre Troupe, Macbeth breathed contemporary life into Shakespeare's darkest tragedy. The play opens with the three writhing witches (Ellen Bailey, Lauren Jackson and Courtney Stewart) who prophesise Macbeth's ascent to the throne. Seductive and repulsive in equal measure, the witches' revelations propel Macbeth (Jason Klarwein) and his scheming wife (Veronica Neave) along the bloody path that sees this hyper-ambitious man first slay the current king Duncan and then anyone else who stands in his way. As the action unfolds, audience members are exposed to extreme and bloody violence but that's not the reason I broke out in goosebumps several times over more than two hours of action. Rather, as Attenborough explains, Macbeth 'shines a torch into the deepest recesses of the human psyche'. Just by sitting in this darkened theatre, we become unwitting accomplices to Macbeth's descent into ever-darker states of mind. The horror in the play is thus not contained in the swordfights, but rather the emergence of evil: 'O! full of scorpions is my mind, dear wife!' the lead character cries. Macbeth is leavened with humour, too, which largely arises from Macbeth's increasingly bizarre behaviour as he begins to see the ghosts of those he's killed. I enjoyed witnessing the palpable chemistry between lead actors Klarwein and Neave - for Macbeth is a love story too. 'Theirs is one of the happiest marriages in Shakespeare,' says Attenborough. 'The agony of the play comes in watching them move apart.' Macbeth was visually and aurally delectable, with pulsing sound effects, a deep backdrop of giant gnarled trees and lighting that evoked a sense of thick, steamy air. The actors dressed in simple, sparse clothing, presenting as unshaven, long-haired and wild. The only colour appears after the first murder, when Lady Macbeth dons a scarlet gown, her gathering madness evident even then. Such choices were made, says Attenborough, 'because people living on the edge of survival in this climate (Queensland) would be sticky, hot and wearing very little.' Do you need to be familiar with the story of Macbeth to appreciate the play? It helps, but isn't strictly necessary. Attenborough and his team of energetic actors have created an accessible production which is fairly self-contained. 'As a director, you have to assume a virgin view of (the story),' he says. In acknowledgement that some Elizabethan turns of phrase can be tough for modern audiences to comprehend, he admits that 'if the lines don't serve their purpose, I have no sentimentality about changing them ... I think Shakespeare would approve. If there are references in there that (contemporary audiences) have no hope of getting, he'd be saying, 'Cut it out, cut it out'.' The current season of Macbeth runs until 13 April 2014.
Macbeth
Macbeth
ratingratingratingratingrating
Share On Facebook 0
8:38 AM - 30/03/2014
By Di Joyner
great production, great mood and great acting, very enjoyable
Macbeth
MacBeth
ratingratingratingratingrating
Share On Facebook 0
8:21 AM - 30/03/2014
By Christine Coleman
Fantastic
Rigoletto
Fantastico!!
ratingratingratingratingrating
Share On Facebook 0
10:08 AM - 26/03/2014
By Jess
This performance of "Rigoletto" by Opera Queensland was my first real opera experience (at the ripe age of 30!) - and I could not have asked for a more entertaining night! The acting by the main characters is superb, and they have the amazing voices to match. This was an energetic show, with every singer throwing themselves into their parts with gusto but also believability. I laughed along, I felt sympathy for Rigoletto, I had shivers and goosebumps several times during each act! Even though it is quite a tragic storyline, I was grinning like an idiot for almost two hours straight, I was so happily encapsulated by this show! The Orchestra must also be commended - the music is beautiful, at times solemn and others cheerful. The musicians didn't miss a beat, and I thoroughly enjoyed the music as much as the singing and acting. A thorougly enjoyable experience, I am so glad I went. Highly recommend to everyone!
Macbeth
Macbeth - Legendary Performance
ratingratingratingratingrating
Share On Facebook 1
8:26 AM - 26/03/2014
By Hayden Dutton
I have seen two previous versions of Shakespeare's greatest tragedy and out of them all none of them have ever compared to this most outstanding version of the play. Immediately as soon as you enter the theatre the haze and mist and the sprawling forest set in front of you sets the stage of the Scottish Highlands that this is set in. Out of the blue thunder and lightning explode in the theatre and the play immediately begins. The Witches were magnificent, their costumes which were dark and ragged already made them significantly better than the other two versions I have seen. Their performance was a mixture of Greek and Physical Theatre as they contorted and moved around in the rhythm of the poetic language which they spoke. The lighting was beautiful, when the forest turned to day orange lighting from the back of the stage illuminated the set with the colour of the sunrise and with the moon the beauteous white lighting on the backdrop of the forest really took you in as though you were actually there. The set itself was a spectacle with slits underneath and cracks in the set to pull up tables for the banquet scene at the end of act 1 or simply for the sprawling mist to come out as the witches crawl from underneath the slits in the wood. Macbeth was played brilliantly and as too was Lady Macbeth in a stunning performance as her evil knew no bounds. The costumes were a mixture of old and modern day era. Silks, robes mixed with army pants and singlets with ye olde weapons made for an interesting formula. This is of course Shakespeare's most violent play and the amount of blood throughout made it so. The battle scenes were fantastic and made the heart pound and the relentless pace of the play was wonderful too. There is much to love about this version of Macbeth however the only criticism that could be made was the omission of two scenes of the play which were probably ommitted to shorten the second act of the play to 50 minutes. Still it was a great night and you would be crazy not to see it, it is a spectacular play and the best version of Macbeth I have ever seen.
Rigoletto
Brilliant
ratingratingratingratingrating
Share On Facebook 0
12:05 AM - 26/03/2014
By Nad
Wonderful performance, best I've seen at qpac so far. Everyone of the singers was outstanding, particularly Gilda and Rigoletto. Could see it over and over again!
Macbeth
Macbeth
ratingratingratingratingrating
Share On Facebook 2
5:36 PM - 25/03/2014
By Helen
A powerful and sensational performance last night. Macbeth you were and had the power to play the role superbly. McDuff your emotion at the loss of your chickens bought tears to my eyes. Sisters you were the most innovative and exciting, the whole cast well done. I have seen many Macbeth productions and this was for me spellbinding, excellent background scenery. Tonight believe in yourselves to the very end.
Rigoletto
What a cracker!
ratingratingratingratingrating
Share On Facebook 0
11:26 AM - 21/03/2014
By Jennifer
This is a terrific production of Rigoletto. There's a lot required of opera singers these days - not only are they expected to be great singers and look the part, they have to act as well! And sometimes they have to do all of these things in strange positions. This cast is well up to the task. Elena Xanthoudakis is a delightful and believable Gilda - she made us laugh and cry. Jud Arthur is seriously scary as Sparafucile. The set was fantastic and Lindy Hume has demonstrated why she is such a highly regarded director of opera. Congratulations Opera Queensland.
The Mountaintop
ratingratingratingratingrating
Share On Facebook 0
11:48 AM - 14/03/2014
By Massimo Ficca
We enjoyed this play, the only criticism is we didn’t think it was necessary trying to imitate the American Blacks English. Imagine if the play was in another language, say Italian, how would you have done that?
Brian McKnight
Brian McKnight
ratingratingratingratingrating
Share On Facebook 0
9:04 PM - 11/03/2014
By Chesley
Absolutely amazing!!
Neil Finn - The Dizzy Heights Tour
Great venue!
ratingratingratingratingrating
Share On Facebook 0
8:37 AM - 11/03/2014
By Steven
Awesome venue, great location and everything right where you need it. It was an enjoyable night!
The Mountaintop
Inspirational
ratingratingratingratingrating
Share On Facebook 0
8:05 PM - 10/03/2014
By Liezel
Teaches you that Martin Luther King was just an ordinary man who moved the world to change, a ordinary man who got people to stand up against injustice. a brilliant performance from both Candy Bowers and Pacharo Mzembe.
The Mountaintop
A definite 'YES'
ratingratingratingratingrating
Share On Facebook 0
5:33 PM - 10/03/2014
By Elizabeth Jameson
A funny, significant, thoughtful, crisp one Act play. What a rare treat. Definitely add this to your list.
The Mountaintop
Loved it!
ratingratingratingratingrating
Share On Facebook 2
4:46 PM - 10/03/2014
By Maree from Kenmore
A great show. Moving, telling and funny. An amazing level of detail and care - Candy Bowers and Pacharo Mzembe are a force to be reckoned with. Don't miss it!
The Mountaintop
Not to be missed.
ratingratingratingratingrating
Share On Facebook 0
4:44 PM - 10/03/2014
By Gemima Watt
One of the most outstanding pieces of theatre I have ever seen. Smart writing with a grand and vital message for all of us, outstanding performances, intiricate direction and the production values are sublime. DO NOT MISS THIS SHOW.
The Mountaintop
A must-see
ratingratingratingratingrating
Share On Facebook 0
4:37 PM - 10/03/2014
By Samantha French
This show is one of QTC's best. There is a palpable sense in the air that this might be something more important than just a night out at the theatre. The baton passes on - we all sense that, if inclined, we can make a change. The cast of this production are two larger-than-life characters, and delightful human beings off the stage. Their insight into what matters and what we are so quick to forget is a healthy reminder that all is not right with the world still. Yet this isn't a 'preach it' kind of show. It's humourous, uplifting and lets all of us 'have a dream'. Please get along and see this. The seasaon comes to a close on Sunday - and it would be sad to be one of the people of Brisbane who say " I wish I had seen that show..."
Neil Finn - The Dizzy Heights Tour
Performance
ratingratingratingratingrating
Share On Facebook 0
2:48 PM - 10/03/2014
By Phil Remaili
Great Show by a great entertainer
Neil Finn - The Dizzy Heights Tour
Neil Finn Dizzy Heights
ratingratingratingratingrating
Share On Facebook 0
4:18 PM - 9/03/2014
By Lesley Ordell
I really enjoyed the show, Neil Finn was brilliant as always. One of the best shows I have been to.
Neil Finn - The Dizzy Heights Tour
Consummate Performer
ratingratingratingratingrating
Share On Facebook 0
2:51 PM - 8/03/2014
By Leisa
Legendary singer-songwriter who keeps evolving and challenging his fans - love it! Great night out, just wish there was more room to dance!
Neil Finn - The Dizzy Heights Tour
Just an average Neil Finn show...superb
ratingratingratingratingrating
Share On Facebook 0
10:21 AM - 8/03/2014
By Mike Collins
As usual Mr Finn delivers a couple of hours of wonderful music and amusing repartee. In terms of the venue, I was very impressed with the acoustics. A 5 star evening.
Brian McKnight
outstanding Knight!
ratingratingratingratingrating
Share On Facebook 0
12:26 PM - 3/03/2014
By Steve
He is the consummate professional. God gifted talent and we were lucky to have tickets. His voice is amazing! How he can maintain it throughout the years, is unbelievable!
Looking Through a Glass Onion
Looking through a Glass Onion
ratingratingratingratingrating
Share On Facebook 0
12:04 PM - 3/03/2014
By George Pasinski
Amazing show! John waters trod expertly through John Lennon's Beatle years and his solo career and to also let us in on the unique and wonderful relationship that JL had with Yoko. The heart beat at the end of the performance was skilful and the tension leading to the point of his death was done in such a respectful and personal manner. On such a simple stage to have the lights mirror the performance was truly engaging plus the venue was just superb as you felt like you were part of the performance. Wonderful show great venue 5 out of 5!
Imperial Suite
Imperial Suite
ratingratingratingratingrating
Share On Facebook 0
8:10 AM - 3/03/2014
By David Brassington
I thoroughly enjoyed this performance and was captivated from the opening bar.
Brian McKnight
Brian McKnight
ratingratingratingratingrating
Share On Facebook 0
7:58 AM - 3/03/2014
By Ricky Burton
Awesom Voice. Knows how to work a Crowd. Great Shiw
Looking Through a Glass Onion
Looking Through a Glass Onion
ratingratingratingratingrating
Share On Facebook 0
4:20 PM - 2/03/2014
By Felicity
John Waters and the pianist were very entertaining. The play was intimate and informative. It bought back a lot of memories of growing up in those times. I noticed most of the audience were baby boomers like us reliving their youth.
Looking Through a Glass Onion
Looking Through a Glass Onion
ratingratingratingratingrating
Share On Facebook 0
8:09 AM - 2/03/2014
By Suellen Yavuzer
My husband & I were wowed by the whole story of John Lennons life through his music. Very up close & personal. Kudos to John Waters & Stewart D'Arrietta, they are amazingly talented folk. Thank you, we loved it!
Manon
Manon
ratingratingratingratingrating
Share On Facebook 0
7:03 AM - 2/03/2014
By lesley Power
Outstanding performance particularly by prima ballerina
Looking Through a Glass Onion
Looking Through a Glass Onion
ratingratingratingratingrating
Share On Facebook 0
8:13 PM - 1/03/2014
By Nicole Goodall
Well done Qpac.This was my first visit and I took my father for his Birthday.We both thoughly enjoyed ourselves.Looking forward to ur next visit.
Imperial Suite
Imperial Suire
ratingratingratingratingrating
Share On Facebook 0
10:22 AM - 1/03/2014
By Sandra McLennan
Wonderful first experience at the ballet.
Looking Through a Glass Onion
Looking Through a Glass Onion
ratingratingratingratingrating
Share On Facebook 2
7:37 AM - 1/03/2014
By Cheryl
Loved the show, John and Stewart you did a marvellous job. We wanted more. Everyone just kept clapping and not really wanting to go.
Manon
Manon
ratingratingratingratingrating
Share On Facebook 0
11:27 PM - 23/02/2014
By C. Sellars
A thoroughly enjoyable few hours being entertained by a lavishly dressed cast moving you through a realm of emotions of the lows and highs, tears, joys and laughter that touches the deep core of each one of us to feel our humanness.
Manon
Manon
ratingratingratingratingrating
Share On Facebook 0
10:38 PM - 23/02/2014
By Alexander Collette
Outstanding!!!!
Manon
Stunning Costumes
ratingratingratingratingrating
Share On Facebook 0
11:41 AM - 23/02/2014
By Stacey T
The costumes and setting were stunning. Main dancer (Manon) was very talented. The drunken scene was quite funny :)
Rocky Horror Show
C Grade show
ratingratingratingratingrating
Share On Facebook 0
9:27 PM - 21/02/2014
By aussie
I was there to watch Rocky Horror expecting to see a great performance but I was bitterly disappointed, Craig McLaughlin was pathetic in looks and sound. The professor in the wheelchair had an Australian accent instead of a German one. I really thought the whole thing was very amateur. I am a massive fan of Rocky Horror and I think this shoe destroyed it. Brad and Janet were very good in the show
Rocky Horror Show
Rocky Horror Show
ratingratingratingratingrating
Share On Facebook 2
5:02 PM - 19/02/2014
By Wendy Kidner
Fantastic show, great cast and costumes, would have loved to seen it again!
Rocky Horror Show
The Rocky Horror Show
ratingratingratingratingrating
Share On Facebook 0
5:24 PM - 18/02/2014
By Margaret Snee
Great Show by everyone. Music was wonderful. Craig Mclaclan stole the show though.
At Last – The Etta James Story
Etta James Story
ratingratingratingratingrating
Share On Facebook 0
8:46 AM - 17/02/2014
By Angela
Wonderful performance. Faultless!
The Hollies
Down Memory lane
ratingratingratingratingrating
Share On Facebook 2
4:51 PM - 16/02/2014
By Renate
it was a fantastic concert, took me back 40 years, when I saw The Hollies in Germany. They still have "it"; just loved it
At Last – The Etta James Story
At Last - The Etta James Story
ratingratingratingratingrating
Share On Facebook 0
11:42 AM - 16/02/2014
By Andrew Philips
The Etta James story was an awesome event, picking Vika Bull to do the singing she is an inspiration. The band was excellent, one of the best performances I've been to.
At Last – The Etta James Story
Etta James
ratingratingratingratingrating
Share On Facebook 0
8:12 AM - 16/02/2014
By Bill Hazel
This show was brilliant apart from one aspect. The volume level was too high for Vicka's brilliant voice. It was difficult to understand the words when she sang the louder songs but the ballads were outstanding. The musicians were incredible
Rocky Horror Show
RHPS Review
ratingratingratingratingrating
Share On Facebook 0
4:52 PM - 15/02/2014
By Tracy Allen
World class performance. Brilliant entertainment. Craig was fantastic, Tim Curry would be proud. Drawback: American accent for Dr Scott; character type cast for Magenta not accurate.
At Last – The Etta James Story
Fantastic Show
ratingratingratingratingrating
Share On Facebook 0
12:41 PM - 15/02/2014
By MMorrison
Vika has an AMAZING voice. The show was entertaining but the voice was the clincher. Powerful performance!
At Last – The Etta James Story
At Last, The Etta James Story.
ratingratingratingratingrating
Share On Facebook 0
11:57 AM - 15/02/2014
By Y Thompson
Last night my Husband and I celebrated Valentine's Day by seeing At Last, The Etta James story here at QPAC. We had a wonderful night in the the front row experiencing Vika Bull and her band at their best. The performance by all was exciting and interesting as they took us on an amazing ride through Etta's life and her music and Vika's vocals....AMAZING! Such passion and love. We enjoyed every second as "At Last" holds a special place with my Husband and myself as it was our song for our first dance on our wedding day. Fantastic night with a brilliant show!
Rocky Horror Show
must see
ratingratingratingratingrating
Share On Facebook 0
11:27 AM - 15/02/2014
By robyn grant
highly recommended with many surprises and Craig M makes Frankenferter his own
At Last – The Etta James Story
SUPERB Night Out
ratingratingratingratingrating
Share On Facebook 0
7:09 AM - 15/02/2014
By Sacha Drake
Great entertainers fill us with joy and transport us out of the daily grind into the extraordinary. Vikka Bull's sheer raw talent, and the tight band take you into the world of Motown soul and remind us that true talent always triumphant. A great night out!
Rocky Horror Show
rocky horror show
ratingratingratingratingrating
Share On Facebook 0
9:46 PM - 14/02/2014
By debbie wyatte
cast and the show were well presented, as well as entertaining.
Rocky Horror Show
Rocky Horror Show
ratingratingratingratingrating
Share On Facebook 0
10:49 AM - 14/02/2014
By Debbie Rickertt
The show was great. Craig was so funny with his portrail of Frank. Well done to all the cast.
The Hollies
HOLLIES GREAT
ratingratingratingratingrating
Share On Facebook 2
8:02 PM - 13/02/2014
By Gary Ridgway
2 WORDS SAY IT ALL - ABSOLUTELY FANTASTIC -
Rocky Horror Show
WOW!
ratingratingratingratingrating
Share On Facebook 0
5:09 PM - 13/02/2014
By Helen
Rocky Horror was better than the movie...Loved Craig McLachlan in the lead role...absolutely brilliant...definitely underestimated his talents!!!...it was a delight to watch him "tease" the audience...FANTASTIC and well done to the entire cast.
The Hollies
The Hollies
ratingratingratingratingrating
Share On Facebook 2
12:37 PM - 13/02/2014
By Michael & Joan Fulham
Great Show! Great Memories of the songs/music that is now becoming part of "THE GOLDEN OLDIES" very enjoyable evening. Michael's favourite group ever!
The Hollies
The Hollies
ratingratingratingratingrating
Share On Facebook 2
7:11 PM - 12/02/2014
By Owen mayhew
Superb show
The Hollies
Brisbane Show
ratingratingratingratingrating
Share On Facebook 5
3:48 PM - 12/02/2014
By SB
Fantastic!! Really enjoyed the show, my sister and I had been last year as well and loved that the audience seemed more lively and enjoying the show this time round, front row seats made it a great experience, hope The Hollies return to Brisbane soon.