Queensland Performing Arts Centre
The connection between artist and audience is what makes the Kawai Piano Series a special experience.
Event image

Archived Event

This is a past event. Tickets are not available for this event.
User Reviews

The connection between artist and audience is what makes the Kawai Piano Series a special experience.

Presented in the acoustically superb Concert Hall, this recital showcases the brilliance and mastery of this year's winner of the Sydney International Piano Competition Avan Yu fresh from success there in July. Befitting the occasion, the recital will be held in the Queensland Performing Arts Centre Concert Hall in reverse mode, which allows an intimate encounter with music-making at the highest level.

The Kawai Piano Series offers audiences the chance to be part of a thrilling range of musical encounters showcasing pianos and piano playing at the highest level. Experience some of history's most seminal works for piano performed by a mix of international recognised musicians and exciting young talent.

"In the world of piano performance, Avan Yu is at present one of the most outstanding young promises." - Eduardo G. Salueña, La Nueva España Gijón

See Avan Yu's full concert program.

At 24 years of age, Canadian pianist Avan Yu has performed in recital and as soloist with orchestras on four continents, consistently captivating audiences with his extraordinary musicianship. He has already performed in venues such as Carnegie Hall, the Philharmonie in Berlin, the Nacional Auditorio de Musica in Madrid, the National Arts Centre in Ottawa, and the Salle Cortot in Paris. In 2012, he will make his debut at the Concertgebouw in Amsterdam.

Avan has won prizes at national and international competitions. He was awarded the Silver Medal and the People's Choice Award at the 16th Paloma O'Shea Santander International Piano Competition in 2008. In Canada, he first came to national attention by winning first prize at the Canadian Chopin Competition at the age of seventeen, and was the only pianist to win First Prize in both the Junior and Senior Divisions of the Missouri Southern International Piano Competition.

Avan has enjoyed a long-term relationship with the Vancouver Symphony. He first performed with the orchestra at the age of fourteen. After numerous reengagements, he was invited to be the featured soloist on the orchestra's first national tour of Canada in thirty years with appearances at the Roy Thomson Hall in Toronto, Place des Arts in Montreal, Ottawa's National Arts Centre and Grand Théâtre de Québec. He was their guest artist to open the 2010/11 season with Music Director Bramwell Tovey conducting. He has also performed with orchestras such as the Dresden Philharmonic (under Rafael Fruehbeck de Burgos), the National Arts Centre Orchestra (under Pinchas Zukerman), the Slovak Radio Symphony, the Real Filharmonica de Galicia, the Neue Lausitzer Philharmonie, the Xiamen Philharmonic in China, the Morroco Philharmonic Orchestra, the Victoria Symphony, the Windsor Symphony, the Ottawa Symphony and the Symphony Nova Scotia.
In the fall of 2009, Avan performed as soloist with the National Arts Centre Orchestra in Ottawa under the baton of Pinchas Zukerman, followed by an encore performance with Yo-Yo Ma. Avan then introduced the Prime Minister who made a surprise appearance onstage at the annual fundraising gala.

His performances have been broadcast on many radio and television networks including WQXR New York, CBC in Canada, China Central Television and Radio, Radiotelevisión Española und Radio Nacional de España, as well as Bayerischer Rundfunk, NDR Kultur Hamburg and the Südwestrundfunk in Germany.

Born in Hong Kong and raised in Vancouver, Avan's principal teachers have been Kut Kau Sum, Ralph Markham and Kenneth Broadway, and Klaus Hellwig at Berlin University of the Arts. 

Read more about Avan Yu on Facebook


Frédéric Chopin   

Barcarolle in F-sharp major, Op.60

Robert Schumann  
Fantasie Op.17
Durchaus fantastisch und leidenschaftlich vorzutragen
Mäβig. Durchaus energisch
Langsam getragen. Durchweg leise zu halten

Claude Debussy    
Etudes Premier Livre
Etude No.1 "pour les cinq doigts" d'après Monsieur Czerny
Etude No.2 "pour les tierces"
Etude No.3 "pour les quartes"
Etude No.4 "pour les sixtes"
Etude No.5 "pour les octaves"
Etude No.6 "pour les huit doigts"

Franz Liszt       
Hungarian Rhapsody No.12

No reviews have been submitted yet. You can submit one in the form below.

Submit a Review

Review Title:
Review Rating :
(Click to select your rating)
(email will not be displayed)
Submit Review Event Review Guidelines

Presented By QPAC in association with Queensland Conservatorium Griffith University
Ticket Prices Show Details Hide Details
$16.50 - $26.50*
*a $5.95 fee applies per transaction
Price Details Show Details Hide Details
Group Discounts Show Details Hide Details
Show Times Show Details Hide Details
Duration Show Details Hide Details

Queensland Government

© 2015 Queensland Performing Arts Centre All rights reserved